Wild Knitting

16 02 2011

Literal translation of the Dutch ”Wild Breien” is some brilliant new deviancy little I taught me about today…


It is a form of street art, non-invasive and non-destructive graffiti. It’s also name ”knit-graffitti” or ”yarn bombing”. It was invented in 2005, in Houston Texas and has spread all over the world.

The lovely Amsterdam Zoo, Artis, has been completely transformed by a huge Wild knitting effort. Maybe I will manage to go there tomorrow!

I am now determined to learn how to knit!

Actions

Information

8 responses

17 02 2011
mezba

the colours of the bus remind me of something out of Pakistan!

22 02 2011
Solomon2

I don’t like the statue, but the rest of them are great! The bus is very imaginative, but the tree is my favorite.

22 02 2011
Aafke-Art

Mezba, me too, although I only know them from photos.

Solomon2 The tree is my favorite too. But I think the statue is funny because they gave the pompous bloke a knitting bag to hold 😈

24 02 2011
Solomon2

Oh, is that what it is? I thought it was a purse!

5 03 2011
Lynn

Wild is the right word for it! I wonder how they do it. I’m with Solomon2 in that I also didn’t care for the statue one so much. I think perhaps because it seemed like it is defacing someone else’s artwork, yaknowhadimean?

7 03 2011
Aafke-Art

But it’s only knitting, it’s just a wrapped shawl and a handbag.
besides, that is not really art, that’s a generic statue of some pompous old dude…
👿

26 04 2011
wildstorm

Oh I like this. I have not seen anything like it though even in Dallas. I love calligraffiti too.

26 04 2011
Aafke-Art

I like it so much i am seriously planning to learn knitting!

Leave a Reply

