My horse trailer

2 07 2010

Is finished!

I spend 10(!) days sanding the whole darn thing!!!!

After I put the white base coat on I decided I liked it so much that I exchanged my creme paint for bright white.

All painted white, and the window removed. It was set in rubber which had almost completely desintegrated.

Doesn’t it look good?

I painted the inside as well, makes it much brighter and hopefully nicer for the Tarq.

I had to buy new rubber to fit in a new window at a boat shop, and you need a special tool to fit in a plastic thingy in the rubber. That was a ridiculously expensive tool, and after looking it up on the internet I decided I could easily make it myself.

And it worked fine! I also cut out a new window from a piece of lexan. The old one was too scratched and damaged.

The finished trailer on it’s first mission!

Actions

Information

11 responses

2 07 2010
susanne430

How beautiful! Your hard work paid off … love it!

2 07 2010
Aafke-Art

Waw! You’re fast!
😀 I love it too! I am happy whenever I look at it! 😀

2 07 2010
intlxpatr

Aafke! It is ELEGANT! (I don’t know why I am so surprised!) You are amazingly resourceful and inventive, and your carrier looks new and expensive! Brava!

3 07 2010
American Bedu

wow! there should be an award for the most artistic and creative horse trailer. I love how it has your unique personal touch.

3 07 2010
Achelois

This makes me wish I was your horse 🙂

4 07 2010
Daisy

Wow, I didn’t know all this could be done by oneself! I could never have done all this. The creeper design looks beautiful.

4 07 2010
Lofter

As always, my dear friend, you’ve done an outstanding job! Much more pleasing than the industrial horse trailers I see being dragged all over Texas… I mean, there’s only so much you can do with brushed aluminum, right?
How did the Tarq like it? Some of the horses I’ve known shy away from really bright enclosed spaces, but I’m betting that he knew you did it just for him and took to it like a king to a throne!
Very well done! :->

5 07 2010
Mezba

it’s very pretty!

8 07 2010
Lat

It’s amazing! White is definitely the colour and your painting looks great!
Is this another trailer or the same one you did the other time?

8 07 2010
Lynn

I think that must be the most beautiful horse trailer I have ever seen!

8 07 2010
Aafke-Art

Intlxpatr, I love it! I am happy every time I look at it 🙂

Bedu, I think this is much better and more fun as when I would have brought a new one !

Achelois, I think the Tarq likes the trailer better now the walls have been renewed, he is making far less fuss getting into it!

Daisy, it’s just paint! the real job was putting in the new walls. And the new window was quite difficult too!

Lofter, I painted the inside too because that makes it less of a dark hole to get into, much less scary. It is an old trailer, and the little window is really too small. Now I have learned how to do it I am thinking of adding two more.
For a panoramic view!

Lat, it’s the same trailer; I always planned to paint it, but the weather had to get warmer first.

Lynn, thank you 🙂 and I agree! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

