The Stockyards

25 03 2010

The Q and I went for a bit of tourism: we went to the Fort Worth Stockyards and had a great time! It is very touristy, but not too slick. There are some amusing shops, and some gorgious but rundown buildings!

Of course the Stockyards are all about cows. This is the touristy bit.

Now this works for me! What a beautiful building! Unfortunately it’s just a shell. I wish I could have photographed it without the car!
Whished I could have made a better photo alltogeter actually…

A bit more tourism. This building, with lots of different small shops, reminded me so much of Camden Town in London! The corridors were wholly covered in these lovely murals.

A bloke collected money with his menagerie!
Successfully of course; they were too cute!

Then there were a lot of shops selling ”cowboy furniture” and bric-Γ -brac.

I loved the ”Cross eyed moose” But not all shops were open, so I haven’t seen all.

This shop was full of great crazy stuff! Stuffed animals, boots, cutlery, number plates, saddles, books, furniture, fish…

The list goes on. Anything you can imagine!

I was allowed to make as many photos as I wanted!

It was as good as a museum πŸ˜€

.

.

.

.

.

.

Look at all those boots! They are works of art and quite expensive, even if heavily worn.

There were a number of beautiful vintage saddles.

And lots of stuffed animals

Fish…. Lots of fish….

Beautiful vintage cinema, also empty and unused.

This is one of these things which makes me worried about the Americans…

I mean: house number 2408 1/2????

Anybody wants to try a Harry Potter here?

The Q treated me on a great dinner at the H3-ranch.

Just some reminders of what you are eating in Texas

This must have been the best steak I have ever eaten! It was a cold day and we sat near the roasting fire, πŸ˜‰Β  As always in Texas the staff were very nice as well!

As we came out we saw this cool dude on a longhorn! I had been telling Q I wanted to see real longhorns!

But it gets even better!

And better and better!

What do you think? Should I swap the Tarq for a Longhorn?

And one last brilliant view at some of the buildings

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 03 2010
susanne430

Yeehaw! I see they’ve made you into an honorary Texan! πŸ˜€ Great photos!! Loved these!

26 03 2010
Lat

No I don’t think you’ll swarp Tarq for anyone! Longhorns are fine but Tarq is magnificent,mA! I’m glad you had a great time there πŸ™‚

26 03 2010
Achelois

You look glowing, happy, beautiful, and gorgeous!

I’m so happy Q is taking care of you like you should be cared for and making you look glowingly happy in the process. So happy for you both. My love to you two!

28 03 2010
American Bedu

You look so natural astride that longhorn! Now Q just needs to make sure you have a good pair of authentic cowboy boots and a Western hat!!

28 03 2010
Aafke

Susanne, Hmmmm, I love the idea of being an honorary Texan! πŸ˜€

Lat, you are right; I won’t swap the Tarq!

Achelois, thank you! I am very happy! I will tell the Q πŸ˜€

Bedu, actually, we have been looking at cowboy boots and hats, but I didn’t see something I really wanted, besides, we have been to three museums, and I have been buying too many books already!

28 03 2010
INAL

Aafke, them boots bring back memories! The first time my husband laid eye on one, was the end of other footwear for a month. I almost asked if he would be wearing them at the hospital. “Don’t give me any ideas”, was his chuckling response.

But you do look glowing! Plaining on any horse-flesh purchases?

28 03 2010
Safiyyah

The shot of you on the longhorn is a classic! Perhaps you can draw something with longhorns?

22 04 2010
Specs

LOL@ you sitting on the long-horn…

I guess Tarq wouldn’t be too happy with your idea- I hope he can’t read your blog πŸ˜‰

The place looks awesome and so do you!

Leave a Reply

