Good manners and form: Cherrypick of the hadith

12 10 2009

This is my favorite hadith.

Imagine if it was everybodies favorite?
Imagine all muslims would actually use this one as an example?
Imagine all the cartoons we could make 😈

Narrated ‘Abdullah bin Mulaika:

Aisha said that the Jews came to the Prophet and said, “As-Samu ‘Alaikum” (death be on you). ‘Aisha said (to them), “(Death) be on you, and may Allah curse you and shower His wrath upon you!” The Prophet said, “Be calm, O ‘Aisha ! You should be kind and lenient, and beware of harshness and Fuhsh (i.e. bad words).” She said (to the Prophet), “Haven’t you heard what they (Jews) have said?” He said, “Haven’t you heard what I have said (to them)? I said the same to them, and my invocation against them will be accepted while theirs against me will be rejected (by Allah). ”

There’s a better way to tell it:
Mohammed and Aisha encountered some Jews and they greeted the prophet with a twist of the Salaam Aleikum, They said ”As Samu Alaikum” which means ”death be upon you” Aisha got all upset but the prophet smiled kindly, pretended not to have understood, and said: ”And the same to you”

Beautiful example of staying polite while still getting your advisaries really miffed!

DSCN2688

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 10 2009
coolred38

Im gonna go out on a limb here and assume that is the Prophet on the camel…the one with the serene smile on his face…in which case…be ready for some upset Muslims to get on here all outraged that you dared depict his face. Just a warning.

excellent point though…and cartoon. cute camels

13 10 2009
Aafke

No, no it isn’t, I drew an actor, acting out the story of the hadith, same goes for AΓ―scha.
Anyway, if people choose to out on a limb over this it only shows they are bad muslims and don’t look at the prophet as an example.
Nice catch 22
😈

13 10 2009
Achelois

I saw this and didn’t comment and then I was thinking about it and couldn’t stop myself from thinking, “what would have Jesus said?”

Jesus is incomparable in his views about enemies and the act of pardoning. And he wasn’t an idealistic lost man, you know. He knew what he was talking about.

According to Jesus, vengeance belongs only to God – “For we know him who said, “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” and again, “The Lord will judge his people.” So one is asked not to seek revenge – “On the contrary: “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”

13 10 2009
Personal Failure

I actually used this strategy on a coworker who was very nasty to me. (According to other coworkers, she picks a new person to hate every so often.) Every time she was nasty to me, I was friendly back. It took a while, but it worked. Now she’s civil, sometimes even polite to me.

14 10 2009
Lat

Some people can follow this example of the prophet.It’s not that they don’t know but don’t want to.It’s a shame,really.

The camels look awesome with their headdress! πŸ™‚
I like the quote about burning coals by Achelois πŸ™‚

14 10 2009
susanne430

Great post and drawing.

Loved Achelois’ words from Jesus.

“overcome evil with good” — what a way to live!

14 10 2009
Aafke

Achelois, Darvish had a beautiful story of Jesus last year, with the moral: ”One spends from the coin one has” That was very instructive to me. Sometimes I get upset by discussions on the internet, and I get really agressive. Those are the times I forget to spend from the coiin I have, Becasue my coin really is sweetness and light πŸ˜‰

The ”burning coals” has become a proverb in the Dutch language.

Personal Failure (why? I think you are by no means a failure) I have used the tactic too, it is effective, but very difficult and needs a lot of self control.
And self awareness, usually I am off before I realise what I’m doing. But I have had spectecular result with it! πŸ˜€
And everybody ends happy too!

Lat, It is sad, but the prophet has been a good example in amny things which few muslims seem to remember, or wish to emulate.

Susanne Yes, we keep being taught the right way, now if only we can manage to follow it!
I really need to keep this one more in mind. And posting it will help I hope.

Leave a Reply

