Roadtrip, To California!

5 10 2009

Image006

We left Vegas, drove across Death Valley, which wasn’t as awsome an experience as I had thought. Except from the air being very, very dry, I was sitting in an airconditioned car enjoying the landscape…..

My battery died on me so the photo’s are from my camera.

So this is death valley… Other then it being very hot and very, very dry, that’s it. I had imagined something more scary.

Image004

Sometimes I wonder about the Americans. Sometimes I wonder very much…

Image009

Q told me some bozo had built a ”Water fairground” here… In the middle of the desert… Sometimes I wonder about the Americans…

Image016

Look at all that sand just blown onto the sides of the mountains!

Image014

We arrived late in the afternoon in Los Angeles, There we were going to stay for two weeks. Q had booked a large studio room with kitchen, but…
That is another storyΒ  πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

8 responses

6 10 2009
susanne430

What happened? Ohhhh, the suspense is killing me! πŸ˜‰

LOL @ your “sometimes I wonder about the Americans.” Ha, ha!

6 10 2009
Aerinndis

Sand gets blown onto the mountains in Saudi Arabia in the same manner!
LOL @ the zzyzx-drive!!!

6 10 2009
Achelois

I am “suspended” too πŸ™‚

6 10 2009
Mezba

yes, the drive across San Diego to Vegas reminded me of the middle east – very desolate and dry. Phoenix was even more so.

LA was to me a very dinghy city. Other than Hollywood (even that was dirty) and Disneyland and Universal Studios, nothing much to do there.

7 10 2009
wildstorm

I have been on that highway so many times. My dad and I have stopped along that route (Zzyxx) and hiked around in the desert. Glad I stopped by to see this!!

7 10 2009
sabiwabi

You actually have to get out of the car to appreciate it, Aafke. I would love to be out way out in the desert, total stillness, silence…ahhh. Love the desert!

7 10 2009
Aafke

Susanne, it’s in the next post! πŸ˜€

Aerinndis, I actually thougvht it a bit creepy. It’s sΓ³ enormous! Truly the force of nature at work!!!

Achelois, it’s on!

Mezba, pffff depressing!

Wildstorm! you have? That is so funny! Anything special on that road? Anything which explains the zzyxz???
Nice to see you again. πŸ™‚

sabiwabi, I wanted to get out of the car and ”experience” it! But the Q is not really your hiking/camping type… 😦
Hmmm I’m so happy to be back in the Netherlands again! It’s cold, grey skies, rain, and lots of green plants, trees, life!

8 10 2009
Lynn

I bet you wouldn’t think the name ‘Death Valley’ was so odd if you had to walk or ride on a donkey through it.

Leave a Reply

