Roadtrip, the Hoover Dam

18 09 2009

DSCN1580

A small airplane museum, with a constellation parked in front of it!

DSCN1585

The landscape remained arid after the Grand Canyon.

DSCN1586

As we left the Grand canyon far later then we had anticipated, Q told me we would probably not be in time to see the Hoover Dam.
Damned! I really wanted to see that!
So after a harrowing journey, seeing the sun dip, the twilight going…

DSCN1588

We arrived at the Hoover Dam!!!!!

DSCN1594

It was actually very fairy-ish in the weaning twighlight!

DSCN1597

Lake Mead

DSCN1602

While the Hoover Dam does have a fairylike quality, it is a powerplant.

DSCN1606

You never see this on the photos, or movies, but when you see the whole thing in real you notice it’s surrounded by industrial buildings, machines, wires and of course, electrical cables.

DSCN1607

It was now really dark and so on to our next destination: Las Vegas!

Actions

Information

6 responses

19 09 2009
Lynn

LAS VEGAS!!!??? Getting married? LOL You’re gonna LOVE Vegas!

You are making me so jealous taking my dream vacation while I sit here, having lived here all my life and never seeing the Grand Canyon or California yet! I have to wait a year but dang it, I’m going!

20 09 2009
Haleem

ah, you will love Vegas. make sure to get some cheap Coach bags when you are ther!

Ah Hoover Dam, it’s been a while since we were there – changed quite a lot!

20 09 2009
susanne430

Enjoying the tour! Thanks so much for sharing about your trip. I wonder how long you will be in the States. Take care.

22 09 2009
Lofter

I have to join Lynn on the ‘jealousy train’… although I’ve still got 15 months to my retirement, which I hope will bring with it some long awaited freedom! Glad you’re having such a good time… you deserve it.
I would warn, however, about Las Vegas… I got married the last time I was there! Definitely was NOT a good thing! LOL!

23 09 2009
Aafke

Lynn, eh, no, didn’t ghet married in Vegas
this time….. 😉

Haleem, I didn’t get a cheap coach bag, perhaps I should, I seem to be accumulating extra stuff which I have to get on the plane somehow….

susanne, not much longer… 😦

Lofter! Great to see you! 😀
I hope you will get retirement and be very happy once you do!
I did’t get married, I have a different plan than Vegas 😉
Hmmm you got married last time you were there? … what had you been drinking?

1 10 2009
Lofter

Whatever it was, I either drank too much, or not enough! LOL! Glad to see you’re having a much better time than I did!

Leave a Reply

