Roadtrip, The Grand Canyon

15 09 2009

After breakfast, off we went! To our next destination: the Grand Canyon!

Our drive has started! Up to the mountains!

DSCN1536

We drove through some very pretty forests

DSCN1538

Until we reached the plateau, where it was a very different world, arid, dry, and empty

DSCN1543

We arrived at the visitors centre of the Grand Canyon, the rangers were very friendly and helpfull, and they have great loos! I brought some sunscreen as I seemed to have forgotten my own. It was quite expensive, but it’s really nice. We decided to go up in the shuttle, later we regretted that as you can get up quite a bit in your car and get a red shuttle. As it is we had to swich shuttles three times which was a drag, especially as it was very busy.

DSCN1554

What can I say… It’s Grand!

DSCN1557

DSCN1560

DSCN1565

You can see a beautiful hotel on the top here, it’s the El Tovar. It’s a very beautiful hotel and very famous. We had lunch there πŸ™‚

DSCN1568

There are a few smaller buildings around the rim, two little shops, and the Kolb Studio. We visited an very good exhibition there of artworks inspired by the National Parks.

DSCN1562

DSCN1559It all took a very long time, much longer as we had planned! In the end we were so hot and tired we decided not to do the last stretch to what is supposed to be the very best spot, but enjoy the magnificent views, potter around, have a nice lunch and just have a good time. We do plan to come back another time, now we are better informed as what we are up against, have more time and are better equipped and do the Grand Canyon properly.

And do check out my art-blog for another funny sketch!

Actions

Information

9 responses

15 09 2009
sabiwabi

Haven’t made it to the Grand Canyon yet. Now I want to wait until the kids are just a little older so we can do it the right way and hit all the good trails, vistas, etc.

Are you planning on hitting up Death Valley on the way to Cali? I always wanted to go there.

16 09 2009
susanne430

Spectacular pictures and I’m so glad to see you and Q! You look precious together! πŸ˜€ I loved seeing the Grand Canyon and hearing about your day.

16 09 2009
Abu Sinan

I have been there many times. I lived in AZ for years. I love the outdoors in Az, especially Payson, Prescott and Williams.

17 09 2009
Lat

Awesome pics! So huge and fantastically beautiful. It looks so peaceful and domineering at the same time.
You both look ‘hot’ and pretty as well! πŸ˜€

Hi Mr Q!

17 09 2009
SusieOfArabia

I’m so glad you got to see the Grand Canyon. It’s really quite a romantic setting because it’s so beautiful. If you can, drive through Sedona too. It’s gorgeous and you will love it. I loved living in Prescott, but it has grown quite a bit since I lived there – still wonderful though. You look like you’re having a marvelous time – I’m so happy for you!

17 09 2009
Aafke

Sabiwabi, these posts are n retrospect: I am now in California since a week!
We drove through deathvalley, a prospect which scared me beforehand, but it was quite boring actually.

Susanne πŸ™‚

AbuSinan, my feet were aching to hit one of the trails, but we didn’t have much time and Q doesn’t like hiking. However, we plan to come back and do a trail too!
Az is very beautiful I agree.

Lat, right on both counts! πŸ˜‰

Susie, Yes, I’m having a great time. I’m now trying to make some watercolours based on what I saw on my roadtrip.

20 09 2009
Haleem

spectacular pictures. I went there long time back, we spent a couple of days there and went hiking down the river!

20 09 2009
Abu Sinan

Aafke,

Doesnt like hiking? I wasnt aware such a thing existed! Hiking in nature is one of the best things in life! Last time I was there we went down a side forest road and loved all of the elk we saw.

23 09 2009
Aafke

Haleem, yeah, that’s defenitely the way to do it; spend a few days and get around a bit. We had no idea what to expect.

Abu Sinan, yeah Q does not like camping or hiking…. However, we have this deal: I go to Vegas with him, he goes camping with me!

Leave a Reply

