Roadtrip – Biblebelt

11 09 2009

DSCN1498

I’m in the middle of my roadtrip with the Q!
More posts soon! Expect lots of photo’s. I had problems getting online at the hotels we visited, but now I can write all I want 🙂
I am having a wonderful time, and seeing so many new, weird and fantastic things it seems I have been in America for a month at least!

DSCN1492

A lot of the photos are ”drive-by-shooting”, and Q’s car’s windows are tinted, it took me a few days to get the brilliant idea to lower the window when taking a photo, still, they are a bit shaky, but you will still have to look at them :mrgreen:

Actions

Information

17 responses

11 09 2009
radha

So when are you getting off the bible belt and visiting MIchigan? Spicy indian food and art galleries await you , as do the wonderful fall colors soon.

11 09 2009
Mezba

lol @ Satan Sucks. yup – it’s the Bible Belt alright!

11 09 2009
SusieOfArabia

That billboard is hysterical. Most of my photos are drive-by – now you know what I have to go through! Glad you’re having a great time with Q.

11 09 2009
Achelois

Satan sucks but your feet are so pretty! 🙂

Enjoy yourself with Q! My love to both of you. Miss me, please. I miss you.

12 09 2009
susanne430

Great to see another update. What part of the Bible Belt are you in? I hope you are having a blast! 🙂

13 09 2009
Lat

It’s good to see you enjoying yourself 🙂 I’m a little off here. What’s a biblebelt?

13 09 2009
susanne430

Lat, since Aafke is trekking across the country exploring things and taking lots of photos for (hopefully) future posts, I will show you this from Wikipedia about the Bible Belt. I’m very familiar with it since I live here. 🙂

“Bible Belt is an informal term for an area of the United States in which socially conservative evangelical Protestantism is a dominant part of the culture and Christian church attendance across the denominations is extremely high.

Much of the Bible Belt consists of the Southern United States.”

Hope that helps.

14 09 2009
Lat

Thank you!!! Susanne430!!! I appreciate this a lot with a hug! 😀 I’m one more word knowedgeable 🙂

14 09 2009
susanne430

Lat, you are very welcome! I’m glad I could help you. 🙂

14 09 2009
Aafke

Oh, yeah, I’m trekking and hopefully from tomorrow there will be a daily post about my adventures in America! I have now travvelled through five huge states! For the moment I am calling a studio-room in Los Angeles my home, and I have internet access, so I just need to get my photos toether and the fun will begin!

It’s so nice that you have been thinking about me!

Radha, Ooooops! Have been going the other way! I am just a toy in the hands of higher powers you know…. 😦

Mezba, :mrgreen:

Susie, it’s very difficult indeed! But at least I can show something!

Achelois! I’m thinking of you constantely!
Well, almost constantely…

Susanne, I’ve been all over!
And thank you for explaining the term ”bible belt”

Lat, having the time of my life right now!

14 09 2009
susanne430

Aafke, yay, glad to hear from you! I’m glad you are having such a wonderful journey presently. 🙂

14 09 2009
sabiwabi

LOL

Reminds me of our “roadtrip” honeymoon. We had to drive through the upper tip of Texas to get to New Mexico and I told my hubby not to take his foot off the gas from the moment we entered TX, until the moment we left.

He obeyed my command.

14 09 2009
Aafke

Susanne, 😀

Sabiwabi, A very auspicious beginning of married life… obedience from the start!

15 09 2009
sabiwabi

You betcha!

😉

16 09 2009
Aafke

😈

27 09 2009
Tony

I am guessing it’s a belt you strap around your waist with a special pocket like attachment that carries your Bible. Great sign, I saw one on a Church that was right next to a bank saying Jesus Saves. I assumed that was the bank he saves at

28 09 2009
Aafke

I saw this huge billboard yesterday: ”Jesus saves” would ahve been great to post next to satan sucks, but I was too late in whipping out my camera.

Leave a Reply

