Clouddragon in Houston

17 06 2009

After the Tutanchamun exhibition Q and I drove to Houston, night was falling and the full moon rose, it was a very nice drive.
Houston by night:

12

And at last I met Carol!!!!! Big smiles, big hugs, but because it was late it was also time to go to bed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆย  The next morning Carol went to the hospital to be with her relative, and Q and I went to a wallmart to get some groceries in. Something which really touched me while in America is the extreme friendliness and helpfullness I encountered almost everywhere in Texas. ๐Ÿ˜€

And of course it was also very nice to have my own personal driver and guide: Q!
While in America I have been to three supermarkets, two pharmacies, hospitals, (almost every day) and two museums….

While visiting Carol’s relation we had to wear yellow paper abayas and duckbill niqabs, blue plastic gloves, and disinfect for about half an hour before we could enter the room.

hospital

I did my best to help brighten the room up, I wanted to do a lot of different things, but in the end I didn’t have the time needed, anyway:

Arab horse

Carol and abdullah 3

Wish

Carol and abdullah 2

The day Carol got to do her tests we spend the whole day at a different hospital.
There is a weird obsession with airconditioning in America; although it was allready very hot and humid outside, and a slightly cooler atmosphere would defenitely have been appreciated, all internal spaces are very, very, very cold. Setting the airconditioning on ”Polarblast” isn’t really more comfortable folks!!!
I was forced into the habit of bringing coats everywhere I went. And even that wasn’t enough at times; I was still either sweltering outdoors, or freezing inide! It’s like being in the Netherlands only the other way around!
The other hospital was even colder! We were running around all day in that hospital. We had expected to have many waiting sessions, and there is wifi inside the hospitals ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
We had brought our laptops, but in the end only used them for 15 minutes as the running around process, and waiting while they can call you out any minute, didn’t really accommodate relaxed surfing….

Snatching a very quick lunch while warming up on the terrace of hospital 1. It was great to go outdoors and snatch some much needed warmth outside.ย  All those huge buildings: whole city-blocks of the city of Houston, are only hospitals!!!! And they keep on building as you can see.

carol

Carol and me warmed up and able to smile again later in the afternoon. We were actually AWOL: we were back from hospital 2 and should be reporting at hospital 1 but we were in a rebellious mood and decided we needed another warming up session and some private talk! We hardly had time, or opportunity, to have a real girly-chat while I was in Houston! I must mention that while we were running around on all the different floors of hospital 2, Q took over the duty of sitting with Carol’s relation, all dressed up in yellow abaya, duckbill and blue plastic gloves all day! Trust me, two hours and you think you are in hell wearing all that stuff!
Q is a hero!

Girlfriends warming up!

carol 1

nerdsd Want to see something really, really pathetically nerdy?
Here you are: Three nerds having a tea-break!

From Left to right: Q, Aafke, and Carol. Three nerds, sitting behind their computers and actually: really enjoying themselves!

We used to pop over and have a look at each others laptops, and we did actually talk as well!
Almost like normal people….

One night Q took me to The Houston Imax to watch the new Star Trek movie…
For another date….
I actually managed to stay awake for most of the time.

star_trek_movie

But that wasn’t all my fault: I was suffering from hypothermia, which makes you fall asleep before you freeze to death. Talk about ”Polarblast”: That theatre was sรณ cold that I was getting frostbite! I had to snuggle up close to Q to stay warm…..

Actions

Information

12 responses

18 06 2009
susanne430

“Talk about โ€Polarblastโ€: That theatre was sรณ cold that I was getting frostbite! I had to snuggle up close to Q to stay warmโ€ฆ..”

Aha!!!!!!!!!!! So you found out why we use the “Polarblast” setting in our buildings! Hehehehe. It’s really an attempt to get people together. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I see in reality you liked it! You just made us read all the way to the end to see that! You little sneak! ๐Ÿ˜€

I greatly enjoyed this post. I love the pictures and hearing your impressions of things. Great to see Carol and Q. Y’all look great sitting around the table surfing the net together.

Thanks for sharing this with us! Loved it!

18 06 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I don’t know why they turn the air up so high in theaters — it’s not like they sell you hot food!

18 06 2009
Aafke

Susanne, ๐Ÿ™‚ I had a really great time there! You can’t really class it as vacation, or a museum trip, (my usual style of holiday) but I had a great time with Carol and Q!
And Texas was very interesting.
And yes, the opnly way to survive indoors is to hug somebody close and keep each other warm!
And you should be happy with being informed, even if it รฌs the very last sentence… ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dennis, they would have had big business selling ”koek en zopie”, (like the Dutch stands at icerings or frozen rivers which sell hot peasoup and hot chocolate to skaters)

18 06 2009
coolred38

Lol on the polarblast. Whenever I go to visit my sis I spend the first few days huddled up on the couch under blankets trying to get use to her freezing house. I competely understand your complaints…theres cool and theres freakin frozen!!

Nice to put some faces to the names at last.

Hi Carol and Q!!!

Sounds like a good time was had by all.

18 06 2009
Achelois

Carol has the most beautifully heart-warming smile! Great to learn you had a (polar!) blast in the US ๐Ÿ˜€

19 06 2009
Abu Sinan

Your art is amazing! You should consider selling it, if you are of the mind.

I love the cold. I guess having been born in Germany and lived in North Dakota and Alaska I got a taste for it. I love it when it is in the 40s and 50s. Nothing better.

And I know what you mean about the hospital garb. We had to do that for a time with Manal’s mother when she was in the hospital and it sucked because we couldnt take the babies with us for her to see.

Manal and I are very happy to hear that everyone is good health and things have gone well!

19 06 2009
Aafke

Coolred, I agree, and most of all it’s the sudden drop of temperature, from 35 C, to 15 C.

Achelois, Carol has that smile because she has the most beautiful and heartwarming soul! ๐Ÿ™‚
ha ha ha, next time i’ll bring warmer clothes…..

Abu Sinan, I also love the cold. Weather that is. I object to the 20 degree drop or rise in temperature every two hours.

Ah yes, that hospital garb means suffering! I am very sorry you couldn’t take the babies for your mother in law to see. That must have been so sad for you and her.

Trust me, I’m trying very hard to sell my stuff! ๐Ÿ˜‰
I think I should emigrate to a more art-appreciating country….

20 06 2009
Aafke

Q, you are an evil, scheming and devious man! ๐Ÿ‘ฟ

20 06 2009
susanne430

Ahahahahahaha…..Q has a wicked sense of humor! Love that! ๐Ÿ˜€

20 06 2009
Aafke

hmmm, yeah… You need to watch your back with that one…

22 06 2009
Abu Sinan

Have you ever thought about listing your art online? Or have you already done so and I missed it?

30 08 2010
Saudi Arabia: How Friendships are Formed aka The Story of Aafke Brouwer « American Bedu

[…] banner art.ย  While my husband was a patient at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston she came and visited with me for several days! ย Although the circumstances were not idyllic, we finally met […]

Leave a Reply

