Clouddragon in America

4 06 2009

Ok, so I have been to America, it wasn’t on holiday, I went to see a dear friend and hopefully be of some use to her.
Carol, for that is her name, is being a wonderful caretaker for a relation who is being treated at a hospital in Houston. I couldn’t get a good flight to Houston on such short notice, but a friend adviced me to try Dallas, and he would drive me over to Houston, it was only 4,5 hours drive…..
The promise of being able to go and visit the Tutanchamun exibition was what won me over to the idea! So, on to Dallas. I flew KLM, one of these is mine:

1

I arrived at Dallas, and was picked up by my friend Q. I noticed that Texans like very large cars… I mean, one knows that, but to be surrounded by them is a bit overwhelming…

19

Q took me to my hotel, and was going to take me to a restaurant. A date! For those who read American Bedu, you’ll know how evil/fitnah that is!!!!!! Unfortunately, I had been awake of about 36 hours by that time, and while perfectely situated for a romantic and flirtatious dinner, by the time it arrived, something weird happened: I literally fell asleep sitting up! I managed to wake up in intervals, shove some food in, but then fell alseep again…
After what seemed like an age, Q dragged me to the car and drove me back to my hotel. I staggered to my room fell on the bed, and passed out. Somehow I woke up in the morning, after I managed to keep awake, Q took me to the Dallas Museum (second date!!!!) where we had a lovely lunch, really absolutely lovely! It’s a beautiful elegant restaurant as well. This was my first encounter with American ”service”. It is really lovely, one feels ”cared for”, almost everybody I met in Dallas and Houston is sΓ³ nice and friendly and helpful!

Yummieeee! And totally healthy as well!

3

We roamed the museum, waiting for our time-slot for the tutanchamun exhibition, which has a lot of good stuff, I particular noticed this very elaborate horse-bit!Β  πŸ˜‰

4

We had a drink in the cafeteria, which has an enourmous glass wall, decorated with huge glass objects,

7

At last our time had come! We could enter the exhibition, we still had to que for (what seemed like) ages, but at last we were in!!!!!Β  It was so wonderful, finally seeing some lovely pieces from Tutanchamun’s tombe, and those of his immediate family was for me a dream come true!
Q, thank you so much for making that possible!

KingTutankhamun

After going through the exhibition we left Dallas, and drove towards Houston and Carol!

10

Actions

Information

31 responses

4 06 2009
American Bedu

Wow….I didn’t get to see all of these photos!!!

But your visit in Houston was waaaayyyyy too short!!

4 06 2009
American Bedu

woo hoo…and I got to be the first one to comment on this post too!!!!! Do I get a gold star for that?

4 06 2009
coolred38

Ah both of you are where I wish I was…Texas!!! My kids are not far from you…snatch them up and bring them back if you dont mind..miss them terribly.

I wanna meet someone from the blogs now…sigh!!

4 06 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

You are a very good friend to travel such a long distance. Yup, Texans drive their big cars fast on those freeways. πŸ™‚ And they’re among the friendliest in the US. How nice that you got to see King Tut’s stuff. Have a safe trip to Houston.

4 06 2009
susanne430

I enjoyed this so much. Thanks for sharing about your stop in Dallas and your dates (!!!) with Q. Sorry the big vehicles were intimidating. I guess I am used to them although I don’t like the big 18 wheelers on the interstate. I’m always thinking they might blow over on me or smoosh me.

I’m glad the Texans were nice for the most part. Did you notice the southern drawl or maybe they don’t have those in the big cities? Hmmm.

Anyway, glad you came and how lucky that you got to meet the famous Carol! πŸ˜€

Meeting online friends is fun. I’ve met 3 within my state and then, of course, met a bunch of my online friends when we visited Syria earlier this year.

Thanks for sharing this with us!

4 06 2009
Mezba

Wow, thos big vehicles are very intimidating! We don’t get that much big ones here in the city.

Is that King Tut exhibit in Dallas? Did you happen to visit the place where they shot the series Dallas? Totally worth it.

– Mezba

4 06 2009
Aafke

Bedu, here is your gold star!
And I am also sorry the visit wasn’t much longer… 😦

4 06 2009
Aafke

Coolred, I’d so love to meet you too! When I go back to texas you must go back too!

Rhonda, I loved those ridiculously huge cars, and yes, Texans are very, very friendly!!!!!
Can’t wait to get back!

Susanne, you are in Texas too????
Yep, I noticed many different American accents, including drawls! I loved it!

Mezba, yeah, that was king Tut! I loved seeing the exhibition so much!!! πŸ˜€
But I arrived late afternoon, collapsed in the evening, went to the museum next day, and then went on to Houston, no time to see anything else.
On this trip….

4 06 2009
susanne430

Aafke, no I’ve never even BEEN to Texas, but I live in the South along the Atlantic in North Carolina so I have plenty of experience with southern drawls. Some even dare to suggest that *I* have an accent. πŸ˜‰

Did you get to meet Lofter? I know he’s somewhere in Texas. ‘Course it’s a big big state and you can’t meet everyone on this trip. πŸ™‚

4 06 2009
Aafke

NO!!!!! I was so looking forward to meeting Lofter, but it couldn’t be managed!
One of the main reasons I have to get back!!!!!!!!

5 06 2009
American Bedu

hmmm….One of the main reasons….and please share with us what are the other reasons?! (naughty grin)

5 06 2009
Lynn

I thought that you might have been visiting Carol. How cool!
I’m glad that you enjoyed your visit to my country. Are you going to fill us in on the rest of your trip?

5 06 2009
Aafke

Carol, well… one of the other ones is that I want to see you again :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Lynn, yeah, it was great to be with Carol!!!!
And yeah, the Houston-bit is in the making! πŸ™‚
I loved Texas!

5 06 2009
Lynn

I can’t wait to read your Houston post. Did you happen to make a trip to Mexico?
THAT’S an experience! Actually I haven’t been there in over 30 years, holy crap where does the time go? So I guess I have no idea what it might be like today. LOL

Hurry up with that post now! LOL

5 06 2009
radha

Glad you had a good time ,
and aafke, not coming up to meet me in michigan 😦 I’m not on yor list of must meet.

5 06 2009
Lynn

You could of got 2 for one if you’d have come to Michigan ’cause that’s where I am too.

6 06 2009
Aafke

Lynn, I was in America for only 10 days! And I didn’t go just for fun!
I’m in Belgium at the moment, (for the Clouddragon Worldtour)

And the same goes for Radha, Michigan? Is that in Houston????
You are defenitely on my ”must meet” list!!!!!!!! And Lynn also!
So next time I’m in Texas, probably in August, incha’allah, you can all come to a big bloggersmeeting!!!!!
Waw, that would be awsome! πŸ˜€

7 06 2009
Tony

Looks like you had a great time in America

8 06 2009
susanne430

Q, thanks for letting us know how the real Aafke is. I’m not at all surprised by what you shared. πŸ™‚

8 06 2009
Lynn

No, Michigan is not in Houston. It is another state. The one with the Motor City πŸ™‚ It is sooo much nicer (and cooler) than Texas! LOL

Since Houston in August is not the most comfortable place to be with all the heat and humidity (although Carol and her family would probably feel right at home) I suggest that you come to Michigan and Carol can join for a wee break from Houston.

9 06 2009
Lat

Wow! Aafke! It’s reaaally great to know you had a good time in the US! And you even went for 2 ‘dates’ which you slept thru one! πŸ˜€ How doggy tired you must’ve been.Hope you’ll enjoy your stay in Belgium!

9 06 2009
SusieOfArabia

I’m so happy you had an exciting adventure in America! The Tut Exhibit alone is worth the trip! I’m not sure but I think the photo of the colored glass in the window might be by Dale Chihuly. He is a very famous glass blower and his works are all over the world. I’ve been to his museum/factory in Tacoma. Glad you had a good time and were there to support Carol.

9 06 2009
Aafke

Q, 😳

Tony, yep! πŸ™‚

Susanne 😳

Lynn, nice, I don’t like the heat, Great idea! Beware! We might be turning up on your doorstep one day!!!

Lat, yes that’s why I suddenly fell asleep standing on my feet! And stay tuned, we tried more dates…

Susie, Oooh, I loved the king Tut exhibition!
I was so excited to be going there that I forgot to look around, becasue they would have been sure to put up a plaque somewhere telling me who the glass artist was! πŸ™‚

9 06 2009
Lynn

Well, I’ll be here ready for you! We can have an All American (Midwestern) BBQ in the backyard. Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Potato Salad and some corn on the cob and watermellon. Bring your bathing suit for the swimming pool! Cool!

10 06 2009
Haleem

Next time, please do visit Toronto. We are not that far from America!

And Mona and I will take you out on a date too… and we promise you won’t fall asleep! hehe

11 06 2009
Lynn

Haleem, you can come to my place too. You can bring my brother with you. He lives in Toronto too.

11 06 2009
radha

yes Aafke, do come i’lladd some rich desserts and spicy indian food to her already fab menu and w shall entertain you in cool cool michigan ( well don’t try dec/jan/feb though please πŸ™‚

11 06 2009
Aafke

Lynn, hmmmm first you tell me it’s so nice and cold in Michigan, and now you tell me to bring my swimmingsuit??? πŸ˜€
I would really love to come πŸ™‚

Haleem, hum, but you and Mona were top come to the Netehrlands first! 😦
I’ll try not to fall asleep, but just to make sure wait a day until I have recuperated πŸ˜€

Radha, NOOOOOOO!!!!!!! I’m trying to loose weight! The goal is ”Olympian Goddess” by the end of the year!!!!!

11 06 2009
radha

Then you must come, I’ll rack up the spice level. supposed to burn more calories and i’m queen of low cal. I bake by substituting..applesause for eggs and butter and oat flour for white etc., etc., and i forget what all i add veggies/fruit and soy to πŸ™‚ so you must come and taste my baked goods.

12 06 2009
Lynn

Well, 80 degrees is cool compared to the 110 degrees with 95% humidity that is Houston in August.

12 06 2009
Aafke

Radha, ooooh, but not too spicy! Your substitutions sound really interesting!

Lynn, you are right 80 is bearable, while 95 + humidity isn’t 😦 I’m sorry for Carol having to deal with all that right now.

Leave a Reply

