A Dutch Wedding

28 05 2009

With all the travelling I’ve been doing I am way behind reporting on my latest adventures. So the last weekend, before I left for Houston, was the absolutely lovely wedding of one of my best friends! I think this was the best wedding I have ever been to: everything was perfect, the venue, a very old and romantic estate, The family and friends all so happy and a lot of people (including me) had been doing different jobs to make this a very special day.
Even the weather, always so unreliable in the Netherlands, was perfect!

I had the best hat.
I had a great ballgown for the evening party, but no good photo of that one… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

1

My friend is part of the showteam ”Allegria” the other members are following the coach on their baroque horses. I front of the coach two Frisian horses.

7

17

The ceremony was very lovely too! (that’s often a bit boring…)

47

The wedding cake, made by the groom’s sister!

103

The cake was lovely! And red inside! Sรณรณรณรณรณรณรณ yummieeee!!!!

120

The buffet with, amongst many other goodies: herring… Yuk… For some reason the Dutch are very keen on herring… I talked about that before… At least these are filleted, and meant to be eaten in a civilised manner…

122

Like I said, I definitely had the best hat! ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

129

Those amongst the chosen who were invited to the wedding dinner, and the (great) party afterwards, rushed to our homes to change. Unfortunately the photo’s of the dinner and my lovely ball gown didn’t come out very well.

I hope ya’all liked this report of a Dutch wedding!

Actions

Information

19 responses

29 05 2009
Tony

Beautiful photos, the horses & carriage was a beautiful touch. The food looked awesome, I like herrings but haven’t had any for years, You have a great hat.

29 05 2009
susanne430

Wow! Love these pictures. I really wish I could have seen you in the gown. Can you just dress up for the fun of it one day and have some pics made? ๐Ÿ™‚

Your hat is really great!

The cake looks soooooooooooo pretty! Is it red velvet with cream cheese icing?

The location, the horses, the buggy, the TREES….wow, all of it’s grand, grand, grand!

I have this big smile on my face now. Thanks for sharing these great pictures!

By the way, did I tell you we met some people from the Netherlands while we were in Damascus earlier this year? They were so tall! We met many westerners, but the Dutch lady we met was the only one who – when finding out we were from the US — asked, “And they let you all in here?” Ha, ha…..we still laugh thinking of her shocked reply. ๐Ÿ™‚

29 05 2009
Tucker The Much-Better-Than-Dennis Vizsla

Now my wife wants to go to the Netherlands so that we can re-do our wedding as a Dutch wedding!

29 05 2009
Marahm

Lovely photos and lovely post! Have you tried fixing your gown picture with photo editing software? If you are not sure how to do it, I’d be happy to help. Just send me the photo and I’ll play with it.

I promise I won’t scramble it up like my Flickr images.

29 05 2009
sirius

Gorgeous–love the hat. My family was originally Scandinavian and very much into pickled herring. very acquired taste. It all looks like a scene from one of those beautiful Jane Austen movies BBC is always putting on (except of course for the herring!)

30 05 2009
Haleem

Beautiful photos… loved the horse and carriage – like a fairy tale!

Good to see you back!

30 05 2009
Lat

Wow! cool pics taken like in the olden times! Simple and elegant.Very nice ๐Ÿ˜€ I can’t say the same thing for weddings planned nowadays in underwater or bungee jumping! Just not my kind,I guess.

30 05 2009
Specs

BEAUTIFUL wedding! Wishing the couple the best and thanks for giving this insight into your place’s traditional ceremony! ๐Ÿ™‚

30 05 2009
Jacee

I love the photos on this website, the wedding and the one with horse and you snoozing—-it is so cute.
I found your link form another blog and I am happy to see this site. You are very creative.

31 05 2009
Achelois

Lovely photos. Beautiful cake, but you look best.

1 06 2009
Abu Sinan

Fish and the northern Europeans. I remember having breakfast at a hotel in Sweden the last time I was there and thinking about how much I loved German breakfast! I prefer a nice roll with cheese and meat any day over 15 different kind of fish at 7.00 am in the morning.

2 06 2009
Aafke

Tony, thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ If you start digging, I’ll take you to a fish shop when you arrive!

Susanne430! Yes!!! That was it!!! Red velvet cake! Waw! Do you have the recipe???
No, you didn’t tell me you met some Dutch people, we are mostly tall../ compared to most other countries. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tucker/Dennis, but we can’t guarantee the lovely weather !!!

Marahm, it was such a beautiful, happy day! The photo’s of the party are with flash and they just look horrible… no amount of photo-shopping can make those blogceptable… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Sirius, You arew right! It could have been straight out of Pride and Predudice! ๐Ÿ™‚ Are you a Jane Austen fan too? ๐Ÿ™‚

Haleem, yes, and if you were there you’d have felt like a fairytale as well. See what you and Mona are missing by not coming to the Netherlands???

Thank you, it’s good to be back ๐Ÿ™‚

Lat, I agree, and this is just the right size, and everybody was happy, what more can you wish? I wouldn’t want mine to be any more ”exciting”, I prefer romance and friendship and simplicity.

Jaycee, welcome to my blog, and I’m glad you enjoyed ๐Ÿ™‚

Achelois…. You always know how to make the best comment ๐Ÿ˜‰

Abu Sinan, I sooo agree with you! I also think ”German” breakfast is the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 06 2009
Specs

Heeey, you missed me out! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

2 06 2009
Aafke

Oooooh, Specs! Oooops! But now you have a comment all to yourself!
Thank you for the good wishes, and I’m glad you enjoyed! ๐Ÿ˜€
(how’s that?)

4 06 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

What a lovely way for a bride to make an entrance! Your hat would be quite suitable at the Kentucky Derby, ya know. Even the herring looked good, thanks to its presentation. Too bad it wasn’t shrimp. ๐Ÿ˜‰

4 06 2009
Aafke

Count me in for the next Kentucky Derby! ๐Ÿ˜‰
Or salmon… yummieeee…

4 06 2009
daggero

Aafke

Nice wedding , best wishes to The Bride and Groom , How much was the Dowry ???

I like herring on buttered toast and diced onion i , had them some time ago

5 06 2009
Aafke

Daggero, LOL! We don’t asvertise the amount! :mrgreen:
Well, if you liked herring you would have had a lot to eat at the buffet, but my real problem with ”the Dutch eating herring” is when they slide the raw fish down their throats…. brrrrr…..
https://clouddragon.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/the-dutch-eating-herrings/

13 07 2009
Corry

How lovely the herring.
Have not had it like that since 1952

Leave a Reply

