Religion, Ridicule and Parody

25 04 2009

The strange view many worshippers have on ”parody” is that it is blasphemous and it therefore would be punishable under the UN-Anti Blasphemy Resolution.

I can only imagine anybody to consider parody to be blasphemous if they are not really sure of in the first place their own faith, and in the second are not really convinced of the Omnipotence and all Powerful God they subscribe their prayers too.

If the atrocious UN-Anti Blasphemy Resolution would come through, invigorating televised discussions like these will not only not be aired, it wouldn’t even matter because the makers of these blasphemous movies would be stoned.
Or burned at the stake.
Or shot.

Or blown to bits.

Which in this case of blasphemous attack towards the Holy Monthy Python, and our messiah JC, would be wholly reasonable.

I am aware that I have readers from all parts of the world, and not everybody may be aware of the great Holy Monty Python Cult, for those not yet Pythonised, I am adding a few informative video’s.
I am not trying to convert anybody to the one true comic faith.
I don’t have to.
It is inevitable that the whole of humanity will eventually convert to Python.
Actually, we are all born as Pythonists, but misguided parents and false religions cause us to waiver from the One True Pythonic Path.

The Glorious ”Parrotsketch”

The Ministry of Silly Walks

Fawlty Towers, Basil (our Lord JC) and Manuel

Actions

Information

25 responses

25 04 2009
Hning

Oh you twisted, blasphemous heathen!!

How dare you insult and mock the Holy Monty and his revered Pythonism?!! May you eternal rot in HisHoliness’ hell, forever stuck in your horses’ piles of poo along with the rest of your smartmouthed, witty and sarcastic kind!!

Hail Monty!

25 04 2009
sabiwabi

OMG Aafke, something near and dear to my old jaded heart! LOL!

If I wasn’t a Muslim, I would be a Pythonist for sure. My husband has the audio collection from many Python shows and he plays them in the car. We make sure to watch “The Meaning of Life” at least once a year.

Funny story: when we were looking for a house he was lamenting the yard sizes and held out his hands in front of him and saying he was looking for a house with “huge tracts of LAND”, with a wink. LOL.

http://www.sacred-texts.com/neu/mphg/mphg.htm

25 04 2009
coolred38

Ive been an avid Pythonist since I was old enough to understand satire…all Hail Monty…Lord of Wit and Satire

25 04 2009
Aafke

Hning? you’re not talking to me I hope? I have been raised a true and pious Pythonist by my enlightened father!

Sabiwabi, Oh, come on, you can come out of the closet here! I’m sure you’re a bit of a Pythonist !
I see Coolred38 is too!
Thinking about it, it would surprise me if not at least 80% of my dear readers are not Pythonists! :mrgreen:
Thanks for the link!

Coolred38, I am so glad you are one of the flock… Or should one say, scaly breed? :mrgreen:

25 04 2009
Haleem

Oh Fawlty towers… was one of my fav shows when growing up – they used to show them a year late in Bdesh but you can’t replace British humour.

25 04 2009
Aafke

Haleem, I think we got to see them even later… never mind, as long as we got to see our Lord, John Cleese…..

25 04 2009
Achelois

I think we are all secretly Pythonists. At least, I hope so šŸ˜€

25 04 2009
Aafke

Yes šŸ˜€

25 04 2009
Abu Sinan

The BEST show that deals with religious issues is Father Ted. Nothing beats Father Jack’s hatred of nuns and his “arse, feck, shite”.

25 04 2009
Chiara

A better late than never Pythonist, converted by the Ministry of Silly Walks! šŸ˜€

25 04 2009
INAL

I couldn’t stop laughing- the Ministry of Silly Walks!-Oh those Brits sure know how to get you going!LOL Viva los Pythonistas!

25 04 2009
Aafke

Abu Sinan, who is ”father Ted”??? Do I read rude words? Fie! Abu!

Chiara, not worry if you have not been introduced to Python before, as long as you convert now! šŸ˜‰

INAL, šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€
but then Monthy Python are super-excellently-brilliant! šŸ˜€

26 04 2009
Chiara

Aafke- Previously exposed, converted by your missionary activity on behalf of the Ministry of Silly Walks! šŸ˜€

26 04 2009
Abu Sinan

Father Ted is a classic sit-com in Ireland that is popular all over the UK and Ireland. It is about three priests, all with major issues, living on a remote Irish Island.

It is classic and certainly more than a bit blasphemous at times.

26 04 2009
Abu Sinan

Aafke,

Here is a great selection of Father Jack clips from the first season, my favourite being “How did that Gobshite get on the televion?” and “nuns, nuns, reverse, reverse!”.

26 04 2009
coolred38

Could never figure out why Fawlty Towers had a very short run considering its quick sky rocket into cult status…John Cleese knows his stuff.

26 04 2009
Tony

Nooooobody expects the spanish inquisition!!!!
The Manuel’s rat episode was my all time favourite, thank you Aafke so much for posting it, loved seeing it again

26 04 2009
Tony

I never understand the whole get offended by religious parody thing. If you don’t like something, don’t watch it, easy….

26 04 2009
INAL

Tony so true..there are hundreds of channels on cable/satellite-just because I subscribe to the company does not mean I have to watch every show!

But there are those that protest too much over nothing really- but a good laugh- needed to keep one sane and human..why else the parody?

26 04 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Now I’m all pining for the fjords again …

27 04 2009
sirius

One of my favorite Christmas presents was bound copies of the dialogue of Holy Grail and Life of Brian my sons made for me with one of those stands meant to set a Bible on.

27 04 2009
Aafke

Abu Sinan, right! Yes I have seen Father Ted once or twice, but it was on when I had no time to watch tv, so I didn’t get to see many episodes, but I did see the one you left me! And thank you for that, thanks to You-tube I will be able to see all! šŸ˜‰

coolred, I think John Cleese didn’t want to go on with it. It’s a pity though….

Tony, No, I’m not expecting them either!!!! šŸ™‚
If you go to you-tube you can see the whole episode….

Sirius, what a brilliant present!

30 04 2009
Lat

ROTFL!! šŸ˜› šŸ˜› I didn’t know about monty python.This is my first.I enjoyed every clip of it. Thanks for sharing! šŸ˜€

30 04 2009
Aafke

Good…. so we can count you in as a fellow pythonist? šŸ˜€

30 04 2009
Lat

Sure you can! The name monty python is sooo weird! Well I guess that’s why it’s sooo funny šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

