Easter weekend with Tarq day 1

20 04 2009

Al Tarq and I have been away for the weekend. It was really good to see my friends, I allready knew which of my friends were also coming, and there were many new people as well.
I must say that the Tarq was a bit horrible so I had less fun riding. I don’t know what his problem was. Yesterday he was lovely.Β  Anyway,Β  Putting all together I still had a good time, and I could see that, apart from our altercations during riding, Tarq enjoyed himself too.

Tarq also has old friends he is happy to meet again at these weekends!

aafke

Right on our first ride Friday afternoon my friend J found this lovely snake! It was allready dead, she stuffed it in one of her saddlebags for her skull-collection. Look how happy she is with her find! πŸ™‚

aafke-1

We had nice weather every day, andΒ  look how the first leaves are allready coming through! Most of the trees have woken up from their wintersleep now!

aafke-3

As we were almost leaving the forest we saw these roe-deer, they saw us, looked up, and decided to get on with dinner! When you are on horseback you see a lot more wildlife; you are far more part of nature.

aafke-7

Actions

Information

13 responses

21 04 2009
Tee

Glad you had a good time! Aafke, I’m seriously thinking of horse riding πŸ˜› I’m emailing you some time soon πŸ˜›
I LOVE HORSES! And nature! I’m into kayaking too, so this summer it’s either this or that but now I’m thinking maybe I could just splurge for once and do both! πŸ™‚

Hope you have a great day today!

21 04 2009
sabiwabi

Whew! I’m glad to see I’m not the only one who has a best friend who has a skull collection; I was starting to feel so weird and alone…..

I always figured we had some strange things in common Aafke, but never this…

πŸ™‚

21 04 2009
intlxpatr

OOhhhh! I love it! Photos! narrative! It sounds like you had a truly wonderful adventure weekend. πŸ™‚

21 04 2009
Aafke

Tee, when you can ride a horse you have moments when you think you are allready in heaven! Funny, just this Sunday on our weekly outing we were discussing how impossible it is to explain the bliss you feel when on such a ride to anybody who doesn’t ride…
So, yeah! go for it!!!!!

Sabiwabi, more than that: I also have a skull collection… πŸ˜€

intlxpatr, Don’t touch that dial! More tonight! πŸ˜€

21 04 2009
sabiwabi

I figured as much. What do you use them for? Decoration or candy dishes?

At least my friend has a really good excuse, she’s a native american who uses them for powwow outfit pieces (the smaller skulls). She also has been known to slice up various roadkill on the spot, right there on the side of the freeway.

Ahhh, one of the many reasons that I fell in love with her…..LOL.

21 04 2009
Aafke

Sabiwabi, I am an artist, I use them for study, and painting still lives! πŸ™‚

21 04 2009
sabiwabi

πŸ˜‰

I know, I was just teasing you.

Are you an O’Keefe fan? I love her paintings.

21 04 2009
susanne430

Love the photos. Welcome back. Glad you had such a great time with your friends. πŸ™‚

22 04 2009
Lat

Tarq and his comaradies look great and so does your friend! But really what did she do with the dead snake?! πŸ˜€ Is she an artist like you? If she is,that explains it! Artists such weird people!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

22 04 2009
Lat

Tarq and his comaradies look great and so does your friend! But really what did she do with the dead snake?! πŸ˜€ Is she an artist like you? If she is,that explains it! Artists are such weird people!!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

22 04 2009
Aafke

Sabiwabiu, I like O’Keefe very much!

Suzanne πŸ™‚ I’m having great times with my blogfriends too though….

Lat, J is a research veterinarian.
All my friends are a bit weird….. πŸ˜‰

25 04 2009
Haleem

Oh you guys are having fun. Meanwhile my Easter was stuck at home reading for my exams! 😦

Speaking of Easter, I know it’s a bit late now, here’s a Muslim take on it in Toronto.

http://www.thestar.com/article/616530

25 04 2009
Aafke

Hee Haleem, that’s a really interesting take! So did you and Mona have a nice day at the mosque as well on good Friday?
Thanks for adding the link!

Leave a Reply

