the UN Anti-Blasphemy Resolution

8 04 2009

I am worried about this. I don’t think it will get through but if it does I will have to emigrate to a non-UN country.

I mean What is it about allmighty Gods not being able to look after their own religions? And especially Islam? Because they mentioned that all the time in the news, ”Blasphemy against religion, especially Islam”.
Pakistan put this resolution up representing a number of Islamic countries.
Yeah, right, Pakistan, where women get shot for being women, where women are stoned after suffering rape, where the law allows a girl to be condemned to Gangrape!!!! to punish her family because her brother (11 years old!!!) was seen walking with a girl from a higher tribe!!!! Yet this backward, evil and despicable country without even government control over parts of it’s own territory considers itself competent to put forward a motion for a ”holier-than-thou” Anti-blasphemy resolution????

And what would that entail? It would entail a return to the dark-ages. The time when evil roamed the lands and people got tortured and burned to death by suspicion or accusation alone. Of course this is exactely where many islamic countries still are right now, so they probably don’t understand what the ”Wicked West” is jibbing at when musing over this ridiculous and evil proposal. At least I hope That’s what the politicians of the ”wicked West” are doing right now.

Because what it means is that nobody can say anything, have any comment, any critique on anything, because, anything at all can be construed to be a critique of religion. And what is it with islam that is sóóóó insecure and scared that the slightest hint of critisism could start the death-throws of this ultimate all-encompassing religion????

Why don’t muslims have enough trust in Allah to trust him to look after himself? I mean we all know that God, if really pissed, can deal with subversives him/her-self. He, (or She), doesn’t need some arrogant delusional ground-personell-scholar to take care of things for Him (or Her)!!!!

hand-of-god

So here’s what I’m going to do: in the next few weeks I plan to be rude and insulting about every religion I can think of, from Paganism to Atheism, and at the end I will be either:

  • Struck by lightning
  • Shot by a fundamentalist Christian/Pagan/buddhist/hindu/Muslim/Jewish/Atheist-sniper
  • Arrested for Religious blasphemy
  • happily at home eating chocolate

Meanwhile I am very, very busy for the rest of the week, learning for my exam, preparing for my Easter-weekend with the Tarq, and I won’t have internet, so I am very sorry, and I will suffer greatly, but I won’t have time for my blog or comments on those of my dear blog-buddies!
Hope to see you soon! ❤

I’m leaving you with Marcus Brigstocke (again) and a lot of blasphemy.
While we still can.

Actions

Information

56 responses

8 04 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I’m very interested in seeing these insults!

8 04 2009
sabiwabi

Run if you like my dear, the UN will find youuuuuu………bawahahaha!

I believe that God is in charge of it all and can take quite good care of everything Himself…oops, sorry Aafke, HERself. Actually should we just say “Itself”? I believe in a gender neutral Creator.

Muslims need to look at how the Prophet handled insults to his religion and then re-evalute their mindsets. Seriously.

8 04 2009
Rhysz

The proposed resolution is a heinous abortion of any kind of free thought. If this gets through I will reagrd the UN as a force for moronic stupidity instead of seeing it as a force for good. It’s freaking religion not a human, Hence no human rights, done and done. Which fucking delusional nut decided to open his personal line to the devine deity and decided that he/she couldn’t stand op for him/her-self?

I’m Involved in fighting this revolting hi-jacking of the UN in my Uni. Usually, I’m not much of an activist but this ludicrous attempt to throw us back into the dark ages has raised my ire.

People, of all creeds and religions, orientations, and sexes please join us in resisting, brothers and sisters we need your help to stop this thinly veiled attempt to isolate madness from common sense. Please remember, this proposition has nothing to do with freedom of religion, it is no more than a ban on dissent (an intellectual death penalty on free thought even) , maybe even the biggest threat on freedom ever seen in history.

I’ll quote Sting:
“What might save us, me, and you
Is that the russians love their children too”
(I’m really sorry if I sound melodramatic, but I really care about this)

Regards,
Rhysz

(Clouddy, please feel free to remove this post if I’m being to inflamatory)

8 04 2009
Aafke

Dennis, insult is a big word of course; just pointing out some flaws in logic or any form of independant thinking is seen by fundamentalists as ”insulting” allready, so I won’t have to do a lot of hard thinking.

Sabiwabi, as an artist I am all over the internet, so no big deal finding me 😉
I agree that we can’t assign a sex to God, I think that’s very primitive thinking.

Rhysz, thank you for your comment, you can hardly be more insulting as I plan to be in the next few weeks.

8 04 2009
jonolan

LOL – Here was my response to this piece of filth.

I figure that, if that doesn’t get the point across and they actually try to actively effect my actions, I’ll fall back on the old standby of shoving pork chops in their mouths and then putting a bullet through their heads.

The freaking Islamist dogs may try to silence humans with laws and resolutions, but right-thinking people will silence them with “blood & iron” unto the last adherent and the last scions of their misborn lines.

😉

8 04 2009
sirius

Without freedom of speech there is no freedom–
I am so tired of religious idiots.
I doubt you will get shot by a Buddhist–but be careful of the others.
And anyone who has read “The Gospel According to Jesus Christ” by Jose Saramago will wonder how he managed to not to get struck by lightening or worse and he is still alive at a ripe old age–
One of my favorite old bumperstickers is still “Dog is my co-pilot”, I don’t know why but it really upsets fundamentalist Christians.

8 04 2009
coolred38

It all falls back to the old….”our religion is the only one, peaceful one, accepted one…and we will kill you if you say otherwise”…but God loves you.

puhleeze…religion is the downfall of humanity…especially women

8 04 2009
Rhysz

@ Sirius: over here people like the Ichtus bumbersticker, I’m not sure if Aafke or I came up with it but she made a great bumbersticker………. Although I think this one might be even better:

@ Cloudy:
Does that mean I can finally release all my insanity on this site? Quite frankly, I’m roaring to go…………

Regards,
Rhysz

8 04 2009
susanne430

I heard about this resolution several days ago and I agree that it is quite disturbing. Thank you for posting about it here. The video was interesting. I’d not seen it before.

I agree that the Almighty can look after Himself. He doesn’t need the UN’s help in holding down the defamers and blasphemers. This is why I’ve never understood people who kill or persecute those who no longer choose to follow the religion in which they were born. Let God be the judge and stop murdering and hurting people simply because you don’t like their decisions!

8 04 2009
Chiara

I have resisted commenting on this topic because of the bloviating, histrionic protagonists Dobbs (always righteously alarmist about something some idiot is doing instead of following his advice) and Hitchens (a good brain headed hard to the Right and pickling in alcohol by his own admission), not to mention the usual US belief that they should control the UN.

If the Resolution were it to go through, it would be dangerous, but as I understand these types of resolutions are regularly proposed and defeated. I certainly hope so.

Otherwise, look out world, the UN will be no match for the combined efforts of Aafke, Clouddragon, and Rhysz! :mr green: 😀

8 04 2009
Chiara

:mrgreen: Ah, that’s better 😀

8 04 2009
sirius

Rhysz–I love that! dh comes from a family of scientists who worship at the alter of Darwin–(joking–but not joking!) He will love this. Thank you.
In my mind God is pictured as my favorite dog (German Shepherd or Alsatian (sp?) depending on the political climate) who happened to be female and was noble, brave, compassionate, loving, forgiving and all-knowing–at least it seemed like she knew everything that really mattered which is love, forgive, be kind and enjoy the moment!

8 04 2009
jonolan

Chiara,

You make light of it, but if such a resolution were to pass and have any force of actual law, it would be necessary for the sake of mankind to remove Islam and its adherents from the world political and societal stage.

That’s a bloodbath that I’m perfectly willing to take part in due to its necessity – predicated on the circumstance stated above – but not one I look forward to or feel comfortable joking about.

8 04 2009
sirius

jonalan: I was thinking you were perhaps making a feeble attempt at irony–however if you are serious you are an extremely sick person.

8 04 2009
jonolan

Yes, sirius; I’m the sort of “sick” individual who will actually fight to defend people’s freedoms. Once there were more of us, which is why the swastika does fly over Europe today – or the hammer & sickle.

8 04 2009
sirius

Who are you Rush Limbaugh ? You sound just exactly like Stalin and Hitler-I stand by my statement– you are sick. And I sincerely doubt if you’re brave–you just get online and make weinie threats. My Dad fought in WWll and Korea and he would think you are an idiot.

8 04 2009
sirius

To all the good people on this blog–I apologize for the tone of my last two responses. I’m usually a more mellow person but I have been a psychiatric nurse and I should have known better than to be hooked in.

8 04 2009
Aafke

Jonolan, sigh, I have been so busy, I haven’t checked out your blog lately..

Nice bit of mocking language…. Are you a closetted bigot??? :mrgreen:

Sirius, don’t underestimate the buddhists, you can turn every religion into a gospel for murder. It was the Japanese Zen-buddhist who recruted and brainwashed and trained the Kamikaze pilots.

Great car-sticker, i cannot image why christians would be upset by it??? :mrgreen:

Coolred, yes, and I will come back to that!

Rhysz! Cool!!!!! Rotfl! The Darwin fish!
Yeah, on this topic you can fire ahead!

Susanne, yeah isn’t it weird how people can put aside major rules like: ”thou shalt not kill”’in order to quench their thirst for bllod, and yet give it a religious coating????

Chiara, I’m not a fan of Dobbs, but it did illustrate the topic.

Sirius, what a nice image!!! 😀

8 04 2009
jonolan

Sirius,

I served, fought and bled on three continents as a member of the US military. Am I brave? Not really; I just do what needs to be done when it does so.

Aafke,

Thank you. Which post though? I assume RTFM, Tilf Al-Fitnah but I could be wrong. But how can you be “bigoted” when your derision is based on the actions of a party and what that says about them?

8 04 2009
Aafke

Hooo what a lot of comments! I poosted my last comment which I wrote an hour ago and it’s outdated now.
let me read up first

8 04 2009
Aafke

Jonolan yeah that’s the post I meant. You use strong words here which I don’t mind: I think the subject calls for that, but they do make you seem more extreme as I think you are.
Sirius, I don’t think Jonolan means to be a Nazi or something, but that is the effect if resolutions like this one are made to be law.
Religions don’t need to be protected, human rights yes, but relkigions should have no rights.
And certainly not Ismal. As anybodey knows who reads my blog regularly, there are many intelligent muslims with a sense of humour as well who take my worst jokes with a smile, but i am sick of the rather large, and certainly very loud group of muslims who have toes many miles long and to whom it is impossible not to offend every other minute.
The fact that this resolution is advanced by a group of muslim countries speaks for itself.

If we go back in time, in a time when in Europe the Christian Church was the absolute power, and free thinking was outlawed, there were unimaginable evils done. No religions should be allowed absolute power, it results in misuse of power and torture and death especially for women. Look at what’s happening right now in Pakistan and Saudi Arabia, countries which denominate themselves as based on Islamic principles: anybody can be arrested and dissapear at any time. No free thought is alloowed, no science, no enquiry. And women are to all intents and purposes slaves, and are tortured, raped, executed or murdered at the merest whim of men.
Anyway, In the weeks to come I will go through it all.

8 04 2009
sirius

Three continents–hahahahaha sorry I was slow–now I know you’re joking!
Hilarious! apologies all the way around for my sorry sense of humor.

8 04 2009
sirius

Aafke, Jonalon said “remove Islam and its adherents from the political and societal stage”???? He advocates (jokingly?) genocide as a response?
What about reason as a response–and law? Then let us remove Christians, Buddhists, Hindus and atheists from the “political and societal stage”
Personally, I don’t find “bloodbaths” funny. Bloodbaths beget bloodbaths and that was certainly the Bush-Cheney response–let’s hope reason, diplomacy, and law will always be the first response–

8 04 2009
Chiara

Jonolan–I didn’t make light of the topic, I only revealed my problems with Dobbs and Hitchens, and enjoyed a joke “with” (hopefully) Aafke and Rhysz. 😀 I found it comforting to learn that such resolutions are common and don’t pass, and thought to share that.

Aafke–an excellent choice to crystallize the topic! Dobbs for all his bloviating (and I know your intellect and wit are far superior to his 🙂 ) is occasionally on point, and gets to the core of issues he takes up. 🙂

Sirius–the world is a folie a deux? trois? quatre?… :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Otherwise, agreed.

9 04 2009
Haleem

any credibility of this resolution is gone because it’s Pakistan that sponsored it. I mean, look at their President. It’s zardari!

9 04 2009
INAL

Aafke what was that “Star Trek” old series episode where all the aliens were missing mouths and could only speak by telepathy?

Plastic surgeons get ready your revenue cycle is about to take on new meaning!

Yep, Almighty God is a big entity- and he most certainly doesn’t need us…We will be replaced I say- sooner rather than later…who are we to get off on telling people you can’t have a mind and a mouth piece to go with it!?!?

O yeah,l Muslims…Christians…you name ’em they’ll all say the say thing… we don’t live in a world of many religions…we only have one religion- Mankind!

9 04 2009
jonolan

Sirius,

To be more specific: Central & South America, Africa, and Asia Minor.

As for genocide, I can see from my words where you’d draw that conclusion. Sorry. It was somewhat overstated due to brevity.

If such laws were passed at the insistence of the OIC, then it would be necessary for the sake of mankind’s freedom to remove the OIC and the regimes that support it. It would also likely at that point be necessary to remove most of the Muslim nations’ governments and strip their peoples of enough power and wealth so that they’d no longer be a concern to people at the level of international politics and law.

So – genocide? No. A return to the European Colonial days? Probably – or something near to it. In other words, “removed from the political and societal stage.”

You see, some lines must not be crossed and those that try to do so must be stopped and stopped in any manner that ensures a long time before recidivism.

Of course this is all predicated on this abomination of a UN resolution being passed and being enforced through laws. At that point “reason as a response–and law” would have already failed – in fact it would have been suborned – and so force, which should be the last resort, would be needed to correct the problem.

9 04 2009
INAL

aafke- pass the chocolates please… 🙂

9 04 2009
sirius

Being a CIA assassin doesn’t count.

9 04 2009
mariam

Aafke – I am enjoying your blog!!!
Thanks for the invite. Why don’t you interview SaudiBedu and we can all get confused.

10 04 2009
Tanya

The worst thing about this proposal is that it actually makes Dubya’s attitude towards the U.N. look reasonable…and that’s the last thing I would ever like to say!!!!

10 04 2009
radha

Hi Aafke,

Marcus brigstocke is soooo funny. Especially the Beardy man part when you get to be reborn as a worm 🙂 🙂 god i laughed so hard.. can’t get that picture out of my mind and am laughing like a loony all by myself

11 04 2009
jonolan

Tanya,

Which part of President Bush’s – the proper reference for the man in question – attitude towards the U.N. are you speaking of? His refusal to subjugate the US to its villainous mandates or his hypocritical – in the light of the 1st part of this sentence – desire to use it to further American goals?

11 04 2009
Abu Sinan

Jonolan! Run!!!!!! That is a back helicopter hovering over your place and dont forget to put the aluminium foil on your head…………they’re reading your thoughts again!

12 04 2009
Chiara

Abu Sinan– 😀 😀 😀 A great comment! 😀 😀 😀

12 04 2009
Tony

The Wicked West weminded me of Elmer Fudd’s famous kwote, “Shhh, Be vewy qwiet, I’m hunting wabbits”
P.S. I have a post that you may find outrageous & somewhat controversial http://oldfartblog.wordpress.com/2009/04/13/confession-time/

14 04 2009
Tony

I have done the bedroom meme/meemy/meem/mem/memmy
http://oldfartblog.wordpress.com/2009/04/14/bedroom-meme/

15 04 2009
Mel

I’ve never heard of Brigstocke before! (no, thanks for asking but I’m not living in a cave!) I’m gonna have to look up more of his stuff after watching that video! Thanks Aafke!

If this passes, I guess we’ll have to kiss the Flying Spaghetti Monster goodbye 😦

22 04 2009
Aafke

Hot stuff people, Pity I was away. Never mind, after I finished reporting on my easter weekend I will continue religion bashing and we can all continue :mrgreen:

28 04 2009
brokenmystic

Wow, I am really outraged at your comments about Pakistan. You’re stereotyping and generalizing about an entire country that you clearly have a very limited knowledge of. I am from Pakistan, I was born there, I have family members there, and it’s a shame that you have to let the media brainwash you into thinking that the entire country is a horrible place.

Have you ever been to Pakistan? Do you know anything about Pakistani culture? Do you know the history? The mystics? The poets? The philosophers? The musicians?

I think you ought to be aware of how hurtful your generalizations are. What’s happening in Pakistan right now is heartbreaking and it’s a shame that so many people miss out on how beautiful the country really is. The majority of Pakistanis are AGAINST the Taliban and extremism.

Visit my blog and read my post on “Searching for My Paksitani Identity.” Also read my thoughts on this particular U.N. Resolution.

28 04 2009
Aafke

I am sorry you are upset. I know from other friends there is much about Pakistan which is beautiful and has culture, but as long as large parts of its territories are ruled by misogynist evil men who terrorise, rape, beat and kill women, breaking the tenets set by the Quran on a daily basis, I do not think that the leaders of that country have the right to start putting up admonishing fingers to the rest of the world about something as untenable as a law against ”religious blasphemy”.

Moreover, I am convinced that this ”anti-blasphemy- resolution” is nothing but a badly veiled attempt to curtail the right to free speach which is so galling to those in power in countries where free speech is non-existant, and where those who try it can be punished and even killed.
I am convinced that if this resolution were to come through, all Danish Cartoonists, and that includes me myself, would be attacked by religious weirdos who are not solid enough in their belief to trust that the might of their all-powerful God to look after His or Her own affairs will settle these small affairs.
Not to mention that it is quite possible that God actually might not have any problems with free speech, danish cartoons, or blasphemy.

Actually I consider it entirely possible that God doesn’t give a damn about blasphemy, but is, on the contrary, seriously upset at the torture and abuse and slavery women are subjected to in many parts of the world.

Unfortunately apparently not to such a degree that He/She will strike the bastards down with a well-aimed thunderbolt…

I haven’t been blogging much lately and haven’t been on your blog much. I will try to read your posts at the soonest opportunity.

28 04 2009
brokenmystic

@ Aafke,

You have a such a limited understanding of Pakistan and speak about it as if everything happens in a vacuum. If you have Pakistani friends, then how come you don’t know that the majority of Pakistanis are anti-Taliban and anti-extremism? How come you don’t know that 70% of the Pakistanis perceive the U.S. as a threat to peace? Before the war in Afghanistan and Iraq, NO ONE CARED about Pakistan — they didn’t even know where it was on the map — but now that it’s in the spotlight, people have to nerve to start insulting it? You don’t bother questioning WHY things are getting worse in Pakistan.

Someone needs to call you out here. To understand why the Taliban are moving into Pakistan, one needs to understand the history. After 9/11, Bush gave Pakistan an ultimatum. He said, “you’re either with us or against us.” Cooperation with the U.S. government was *forced* on the Pakistanis. Musharraf sent the Pakistani military into the North-Western Frontier Provinces to fight the Taliban, but what usually happens when you fight violence with violence? It creates more violence. The Taliban and other Taliban sympathizers developed an anti-Pakistani sentiment because they perceive the Pakistani government as complicit with the United States. As Afghanistan was being bombed and occupied by U.S. forces, the Taliban were also facing trouble from the Pakistanis. Pakistan has lost *more* civilians and *more* soldiers than any other foreign contingent fighting in the North-Western Frontier Provinces — to understand that fact is HUGE.

As for the U.N. Resolution, you know it wouldn’t pass. There is no way. But what people seem to overlook is that it creates opportunities for global dialogue. The resolution itself is flawed and it’s true, many governments can abuse it. At the same time, let’s ask why this resolution was created in the first place. Rather than resorting to Islamophobic rhetoric like Lou Dobbs and Christopher Hitchens and think that Muslims are trying to “implement Sharia Law,” we should be seeing it as an opportunity to engage in peaceful, respectful, and productive dialogue. Is anyone talking about how Muslims in the West get discriminated against? Read my Pakistani Identity post and you’ll hear how I’ve been discriminated against in the U.S.

It’s easy for you to hurl generalizations around about Pakistan. It’s easy for you to say your “freedom of expression” will be threatened. You don’t seem to be aware of your privileges, Aafke. People of color in the West have a lot more to worry about than you do. You represent the MAJORITY. My children will have to answer for crimes that they didn’t even commit. They will be expected to explain events that happened way before they were even born. Are these things you worry about? My children will be judged because of their religious background and skin color.

I study in the field of Islamophobia in the United States. I study it because I live here in the United States. America is my home. This is where my life is, this is where I will raise my family. I see it as my responsibility to educate and make it a better society so that my children are not stigmatized. We need more understanding, more dialogue, and more inter-faith/inter-cultural programs, especially in our schools. If you want the statistics on the hate crimes and discriminatory acts against Muslims in the United States, I’d more than happy to share them with you. And Muslims are not only the ones who are victimized, South Asian non-Muslims and even Israeli Jews have been on the receiving end of hate crimes, discrimination, and murder.

I don’t understand why you have to bring God into it. Is God causing people to hate one another or is it the people? Not to say we shouldn’t do anything, but God has a way of dealing with these people on His own terms. It’s called having Faith. At the same time, we have to act, but we also have to keep ourselves in check instead of making silly generalizations that only push other people away. If you and I, for example, are working to grant women rights in the Muslim world and you start insulting Islam, *you* are pushing me away. You send a clear message to Pakistanis and Muslims when you stereotype, i.e. you don’t want their help. And seriously, if you aren’t going to respect our religion and way of life, then we don’t want your help. As an Iranian Muslim feminist once said to me, “if a man rapes me, I don’t want his help.” Does it make sense to receive help from someone who keeps insulting you?

It’s about having multicultural awareness. You talk about the problems in the Muslim world, but don’t seem to recognize that women are enslaved, abused, and objectified in the United States too. Which mental disorder has the highest mortality rate in the United States, Aafke? Eating disorders. And who suffers the most from eating disorders. Women. Why? Read up on it.

I will say these things, but not make insulting remarks about Americans or their respective religions. I will not blame ALL AMERICANS and generalize about the entire country just like you are generalizing about Pakistan.

29 04 2009
brokenmystic

Wow, thanks for calling me a radical. Do you always make accusations against people that you’ve never met before?

And I thought you would know me better after being a frequent reader on my blog, Aafke, but apparently not.

Whatever. I’m done here. Be happy that you kicked a stupid Muslim off your site.

29 04 2009
Aafke

Sorry about that broken Mystic, I wish you all the best in life.

Q, Modesty is not one of your character traits I see….

29 04 2009
jonolan

Aafke,

Don’t waste energy worrying about people like brokenmystic. Most of their ranting is due to their own guilt over running away from the nightmare that is Pakistan. That tends to cause them to spew a lo of vitriol.

29 04 2009
Rhysz

Okay, so much to work with, so little time: (I only have time for one paragraph)
“As for the U.N. Resolution, you know it wouldn’t pass. There is no way. But what people seem to overlook is that it creates opportunities for global dialogue.
The resolution itself is flawed and it’s true, many governments can abuse it. At the same time, let’s ask why this resolution was created in the first place. Rather than resorting to Islamophobic rhetoric like Lou Dobbs and Christopher Hitchens and think that Muslims are trying to “implement Sharia Law,” we should be seeing it as an opportunity to engage in peaceful, respectful, and productive dialogue. Is anyone talking about how Muslims in the West get discriminated against? Read my Pakistani Identity post and you’ll hear how I’ve been discriminated against in the U.S.”

It doesn’t even matter if that vile piece of trash passes or not. You’re talking about ratification, or vetoing, which are both entirely different issues. In case of many European countries international law (including resolutions) are automatically incorporated into national law.
This resolution is not only flawed: it’s a transparent attempt to exclude islam from ANY kind of criticism, and with a nice side-order of ‘let’s wipe Israel of the map’.
Sure, it was created to “open a dialogue”, the main sponsors of this nonsense are bright beacons of tolerance, more on that later.

Any resolution which basically states that all non-muslims are actively harassing muslims is a form of conspiracy paranoia and persecution complex to the extreme. It’s quite clear you haven’t done the least of effort to research what this piece of crap actually entails.
The reason why we shouldn’t even consider discussing this piece of shit is because it has no balance whatsoever (Does it name any other relgion or non-religion? NO, it does not!) Giving credence to this cheap farce is the worst thing we could do; it deserves neither respect nor attention. I won’t say this is an attempt to impose sharia law, but it is a blatant attack on our most basic freedoms: the freedom of thought and the freedom of expression.
Even you have to admit that this isn’t about islamophobia (a poor term in any sense) but about Islamo-fascismphobia. This isn’t about dialogue, read the actual resolution (and Ahmedinejad’s ‘speech’ for that matter), and tell me how is this peaceful, respectful and productive……. It’s aggressive (we’ll tell you what to do), single-minded (let’s only mention islam…..and screw all the people who think or believe differently) and BLATANTLY unproductive.

You mention that muslims are discriminated against, I think that is the only truth you touched on in that paragraph. How about how the CIC discriminates those who do not follow Islam? Let’s start: women, gays, Christians, jews, Zoroastrians, hindhus, budhists, atheists, apostates etc. etc. etc….
You have thrown your lot in with these people? If you really wanted the “opportunity to engage in peaceful, respectful, and productive dialogue” you should be the first to know what an affront this resolution is to human dignity. Your arguments, while well intentioned, are completely out of sync with reality, and human decency.
You end with a nice little ‘ad hominem/ad misericordiam’ all rolled into a nice ‘Begging the question’. My compliments, fallacies of that stature are rare but still completely useless in any constructive dialogue. I hope you’re still reading here, but I consider, at least this paragraph of your argument completely PWNED!
Regards,
Rhysz

29 04 2009
Rhysz

P.S.

*COUGH* Swat Valley *COUGH*

30 04 2009
coolred38

Aafke…your comment keeps descending…maybe its a metaphor for something else (not saying…lol)….

8 06 2009
SaudiBedu

Mariam get a life

9 06 2009
Aafke

SaudiBedu, I know you blurk on my blog, and normally I welcome new commentators, but I am very dissappointed that when you finally do decide to comment, you you choose to make it a derogative comment, on another visitor to my blog.
I would think, knowing your convictions, that you can make a more constructive comment. It may be critical, and differing from my opinion, but that would make an interesting addition to the dialogue.

I do not want to see these useless, unproductive and mindless negative comments, but would welcome your input if you wish to put forward a different point of view and are willing to engage in intelligent debate.

9 06 2009
vcool502

I’m advising Mariam to get a life because she don’t have one……cheers

9 06 2009
vcool502

it is the coincidence that led me to your blog and to this subject , so I am not roaming on your blog searching for a particular subject or anything. Add on that, Mariam is a devoted Muslim and she had a devoted gay sister as well so I think she shouldn’t had sassed me.

9 06 2009
Aafke

SaudiBedu, vcool502 you are really too pathetic, I can’t even descend to the corresponding level to respond to your comments, you are not welcome here. I will put any further comments by you into spam.

10 06 2009
Aafke

Yes and yes. I could’t be bothered yesterday to point out he’s seriously lacking a life himself, it’s a good one, stalking one person because she hasthe guts to speak out and is not afraid to honour her sister. And yes, to the girly, shishi avatar of himself!
(or might be his boyfriend, we all know most Arab guys have their first sexual experiences with men due to the extreme segregation)

11 06 2009
jonolan

Aafke,

Two things in a half-hearted defense of SaudiBedu:

1 – Mariam struck first as it were with her initial comment
2 – SaudiBedu probably wasn’t stalking her; I often end up on the blogs with the same group of people from other blogs due to a commonality of interests. That includes people with opposing views.

…And one thing in a half-hearted attack on SaudiBedu:

Which is he? A poor Saudi, not following the Wahabist teachings of Saudi, or a poor Bedu who does follow Wahabist teachings of the non-Bedu Saudi tribes? Fasiq or cultural apostate?

Leave a Reply

