Pigs, Pigs, PIGS!!!!!

6 04 2009

cute-pig11

Warning: This post is about pigs and contains photos of a porcine nature. Those suffering from Religiously induced Porcine Fobia could experience extreme suffering!

cute-pig3

Pig Trivia:

American president Harry Truman:
“No man should be allowed to be President who does not understand hogs.”

cute-pig

  • Scientists believe that pigs are one of the most intelligent animals ranking close behind apes and dolphins.
  • In Nordic Mythology, Gullinbursti (“Gold-Bristle” or “Gold-Mane”) was Freya’s golden boar, created by the dwarves Brokk and Sindri as part of a challenge. His shining fur is said to fill the sky, trees, and sea with light.
  • While the pig was sacred to Isis, the black boar  was associated with her brother and opponent, Seth.  This black boar aspect was considered responsible for the obscuration of the sun during an eclipse.  In one version, he gores Horus, the sun-god, putting out one of his eyes.
  • In Hinduism the god Vishnu took the form of a boar in order to save the Earth from a demon who had dragged it to the bottom of the sea.
  • In ancient Greece, a sow was an appropriate sacrifice to Demeter and had been her favorite animal since she had been the Great Goddess of archaic times. Initiates at the Eleusian began by sacrificing a pig. The later, roman goddess Ceres also had pigs offered to her.
  • In keeping with leviticus 11:7, the dietary laws of Judaism forbid, among other kinds of meat, the eating of pork in any form, considering the pig to be an unclean animal. From the strict reading to the relevant Torah passage, pork is as forbidden as the flesh of any other unclean animal, no more and no less; in practice, however, abhorrance of pork is far stronger and emotional in traditonal Jewish culture than that of other forbidden foods.
  • The eating of pork is also prohibited in Islam, among Seventh-day Adventists and some other Christian denominations. Islamic people can be very fobic about anything to do with pigs, even pictures of it.
  • In Haitan Voodoo, Ezili Dantor, the Iwa of Motherhood, is associated with the black Creole pig of  Haiti, her favorite animal sacrifice.
  • The Celtic Mother goddess Ceridwin, who was associated with the moon, was referred to as the Old White Sow.  The Celts were also among those who considered the flesh of swine the most suitable meal for the gods even after the Old Mythology was diminished into tales of the Otherworld.  It was also said that Manannan, god of the sea, had magic pigs which though eaten one day, returned the next to be eaten again.
  • Nut, the Egyptian goddess of the night, Mother of Stars, was sometimes depicted on amulets as a sow suckling her piglets
  • Adonis, a later Greek god whose origins lie in the Middle East, perished by the tusks of a wild boar.  His name, which derives from adohn or lord, likely refers to Tammuz, consort of the Great Goddess, Inanna or Ishtar.

cute-pig2

A Russian farmer who tried to take his pig to a top football game was barred after police decided it could ‘ incite a riot’ . Football fan Vladimir Kisilev from St Petersburg took his prize-winning pig to a show in Moscow and wanted to watch a national Premier League match afterwards. He took the pig along with him, as he had nowhere to leave it, but police banned the pig from the ground for the match between Spartak Moscow and St Petersburg Zenit.

Officers feared the pig could provoke a riot as Spartak Moscow fans are called ‘ Pigs’ by their St Petersburg Zenit rivals. Kisilev said, ‘I wanted to see the game, but had nowhere to leave the pig. I almost managed to get it into the ground in a big bag but it started grunting and the police noticed.’

cute-pig1

Roman historian Tacitus (1st century CE)  says about the Germans that: ”They worship the Mother of the Gods, and wear, as an emblem of this cult, the device of a wild boar, which stands them in stead of armor or human protection, and gives the worshiper a sense of security even among his enemies. They seldom use weapons of iron, but clubs very often.”

Show by Top Hogs

cute-pig4

There maybe two reasons the Jews, and the later believes based on Judaism, Christianity and Islam, have a ban on eating pork meat: According to the Man-eating natives of Papua New Guinea who eat both mammals; pigs and humans, human meat tastes very similar to pork. Actually human meat is called ”Long Pig” by the native cannibals.
Another interesting fact mentioned by the cannibals of Papua New Guinea is that the Japanese taste a lot better than Europeans… That will teach the Europeans for always thinking they are better than anybody else on the planet! However we go on about being so superior to everybody else… However our pink skin may make us look like the tasty pig, we Europeans do not make for the best tasting charcuterie.

papua-cannibal

Another reason for the most recent patriarchal religions to abhor the intelligent naked, human tasting pig is the fact that many Goddesses had pigs dedicated to them. And as all Goddesses had to be erased from human memory, so should their animal be declared ”unclean”.

Of course there still are people who worship the pig. The most eminent and best known of these is Lord Emsworth, whose unwavering devotion to the prize winning ”Empress of Blandings” has been so brilliantly described by P. G. Wodehouse.

IX001241

Actually, there are a lot of books out on pigs….

babe babe2 Gardener Pig

babe5 babe6 babe7 babe8

But in some countries even a drawing of the most endearing of fictional porcine characters: Piglet,

babe9

Is still só unclean and schocking, that poor piglet has to be blackened out, before the book is allowed in the shops.

babe10

Actions

Information

48 responses

6 04 2009
Chiara

Ay, que monos los cerditos! :mrgreen:

And who wouldn’t love Wilbur? 😦 Charlotte did, she even spun her web to save him! 😀

Funny and fun 🙂

6 04 2009
sirius

I’m not sure I understand pigs as well as Harry Truman–but after reading this I am sure I will be much more careful about referring to males as pigs–unless I am meaning to flatter them–because not only are pigs smart but they are also cute!

6 04 2009
Abu Sinan

I dont eat pig, I havent since I was in my teen years, long before I converted to Islam. I dont understand how some are phobic about pigs. God said not to eat them, he didnt say to hate them.

They are cute. I have been around them before and I used to have to drive through a small village in England that would spread pig manure on their fields every spring. I tell you, nothing smells worse than pig crap in the summer sun.

I believe the Shi’a, like Jews, also have a ban on certain sea animals, ie shrimp and lobster…………but they arent as cute!

6 04 2009
Haleem

Have never personally seen a pig. I don’t know if they are cute or not. They are certainly haram to eat or to let their saliva touch you before prayers. Other than that, I don’t know any other restrictions on pigs.

6 04 2009
Kay

“There maybe two reasons the Jews, and the later believes based on Judaism, Christianity and Islam, have a ban on eating pork meat: According to the Man-eating natives of Papua New Guinea who eat both mammals; pigs and humans, human meat tastes very similar to pork. Actually human meat is called ”Long Pig” by the native cannibals.”

Not being a cannibal I had no idea about this lol. Very interesting fact.

I may not eat pork now, but I still love the movie Babe and Piglet of Winnie the Pooh is just as cute as ever. I agree, I may abhor the smell of pork being cooked by my parents, but that doesn’t mean I can’t look at pictures of the animal. Pigs have their own place in the animal kingdom, just like anything else, but I just don’t want them in my stomach.

6 04 2009
Khalid

LOL, Last night I was watching The Lion King, and I remembered your post about pigs 🙂 so I thought to leave a comment 🙂 .. Since I found a newer post 🙂 I’m leaving my comment here.

Do you like Timon and Pumbaa? When I saw Pumbaa I recalled that more than 10 years ago I watched the Lion King in KSA and Pumbaa wasn’t blacken out 🙂 Even several movies were translated to Arabic where Pumbaa was one of the main characters, these movies were sold in video shops around the KSA. Yup, also I remember as a kid watching Bugs Bunny in Saudi channel 1, and there was a pig as one of the characters. Also Winnie the Pooh is so popular, and the characters and the movies are available.

As far as I know Muslims don’t eat pork, and this has nothing to do with pig’s picture , so I’ wonder, why the hype. Yay, pigs smell was the worse thing ever that entered my nostrils 🙂 I remember visiting a farm in the UK, and when I crossed by the pig’s barn, I couldn’t breathe well, and I was almost having an asthma, but luckily I just walked fast, and left everyone behind till the smell faded away. True, pigs are good to watch them while being in the car, so no smells will come 🙂

6 04 2009
INAL

Well I remember the little rhymes we have in English for babies- Itzy Bitsy Spider, This little piggy while counting your babies toes- well one friend of a friend was so offended said that we were the worst kind of Mislims- in fact we shouldn’t even call ourselves Muslims- my husband sized her up and said-“the Worst kind of Muslim is the one who is so literate in everything she does that she can be veritable idiot and not know it!-it’s a rhyme for God’s Sakes not not an an ayah from the Qur’an!”

Never did see the woman again…

6 04 2009
coolred38

My mother kept a pot bellied pig for a few years (after I left home) …she said he was lovable and clean (hated to be dirty) and very smart…could always figure out ways to get closed things opened (especially the yard gate).

Ive always wondered about the whole “dont eat pig its nasty” thing…far as I can see the headlines in newspapers these days are shouting out the words “mad cow” and “bird flu” which have proven fatal around the globe…but I cant recall hearing anything about pigs conspiring to bring down the human race with an assualt against our brains or lungs…Im just saying.

6 04 2009
Achelois

I think all animals stink. I have spent many hours in kids’ farms petting animals (including pigs!) and they all stink, the farm birds, pigs, ponies, donkeys, and especially sheep and goats. All manure stinks – Sheep poo doesn’t smell like roses either, you know 😀 but its just that we get used to it especially those Muslims who have lived with goats and cows for a few days before Eid. I tell you I once spent Eid in an Omani village with cattle everywhere and by the end of the day even your hair stinks of cattle!

Pork is forbidden to eat for Muslims and Jews but piglets are cute to look at. Last summer I saw the largest pig ever in Scotland! It was bigger than my husband 😀

6 04 2009
Aafke

Chiara, I was more fascinated with Charlotte, being an arachnofoob. Very healing book btw.

Sirius, I read one slogan in the ”All Men are Batsards- diary” (not mine)
”All you men better start shakin’
Todays pigs, are tomorrows bacon!”
:mrgreen:

AbuSinan, I hvae quite a few friends who don’t want to eat pigs! I do not understand this excessive phobia towards pigs, or pictures of pigs. Nor of dogs which aren’t even mentioned as unclean in the Quran. Yet it is very common.

Haleem, you have never seen a pig????

Kay, in my opinion, if God wished to create an animal I don’t think humans have the right to erase it or put on airs when they live in a country where pigs are considered normal by the indiginous.

Khalid, oops! I have never seen ”The Lion king”!!! 😳
I agree that pig manure does not rank amongst my favorite smells….

INAL, Your husband rocks! And be glad to be rid of that superficial witch hunter. The more superficial litlle finnicky rules and regulations and taboos people are obsessed with, the worse they are in their religion.

Coolred, Pigs are intelligent and clean animals. It’s the inhumane cramped farming methods which make them look like ”pigs”.

Achelois, you are right. Animals take a lot of care, stables and pens are unnatural surroundings for animals and really require constant cleaning. if not naturally they get smelly. I also wash my dog regularly.
I don’t mind the smell of horse manure so much but I do have to wash my hair after I have been with my horse. Anyway, a horse smells fine of it’s own, if you put your nose in their neck you get the real true horse-smell, it’s the stables which smell of manure and make everything smelly, but then stables are not natural dwellingplaces for horses. Most horses, if they have space enough (which they almost never have) are very neat and use only one corner to poo.

6 04 2009
sirius

Children raised around animals from birth are healthier and have better immune systems and less asthma–a medical fact–
Older people with pets do better as well–
Aafke–where is that site that you got the bacon quote? too funny.
I have always had animals and can honestly say none of them ever smelled as bad as my sons’ bedrooms when they were teenagers! Moms do not go into their childrens bedrooms to snoop–they go in to clean!

6 04 2009
Hning

Every time I hear and read about New Orleans dishes (they seem to taste so much better than Albaik) I always wonder what lard was made of or how it was used as an ingredient.

So, one day I got my hands on Charles Frazier’s “Cold Mountain”, and there it was again: a woman cooked some meat, and used lard as substitute for butter and oil in the frying pan.

Few pages later, she was also described extracting it from a hog.
And that, my friends, was how New Orleans got scratched off my list of places to go to.

On the other hand, I have been asked that same question from a pork-meat hobbyist, about why pigs aren’t okay as pets, or food, or clothing material. I’m just glad that he didn’t ask me why they aren’t okay as photo models either. I would’ve looked stupid if I had to say: “Their skin woulda caught a terrible sunburn in the Saudi climate.”

6 04 2009
INAL

My husband grew up a farm- sheeps, cows, goats, chicken, rabbits, eagle, hawks, and tons of camels that were bred for pack, racing and meat…I was always send overseas to different family members in Spain and Dominican Republic to stay on the farms as a “summer hand”. When the kids were born we did the same thing- getting them used to living on farms during the summer- one cousin breds horses and is a favorite place for my kids to go because he keeps them mostly in open corrals and their is a festival in the village where for a month all vehicles are garaged and everyone rides horses!

Only one of the farms that I have been to actually breed pigs- and those stalls are kept pristine- but then my cousin is anal about that.

What I have never understood is where Muslims get the fever to pick and chose animals they consider haraam that have not been designate as such in the Qur’an- the prohibition to eat doesn’t mean they must be wiped off the face of the earth- Allah put every creature on this planet for a purpose- who are we to think we know better the Allah- god forbid!

There is some serious reducation needed among Muslims- and the soon the better or the “ham” fisted ones will obliderate creation just to feel safe in their Halal bubble.

6 04 2009
Chiara

Aafke–a feminist arachnophobe? :mrgreen:

Inal–such literalists do always reveal their ignorance. If I could remember the words to the Italian equivalent of “This little piggy” I would share 🙂

Re: why eating pigs is forbidden–Ever see what happens to pork meat in the sun/heat? Even top grade French cooked ham? “Spontaneous generation” of maggots.

I think trichinosis had as much to do with kosher/halal injunctions about pigs as Yahweh/Allah. Or Yahweh/Allah knowing about trichinosis wisely forbade his desert-dwelling people from ingesting pork in any form.

I agree with all that ingesting is different than gazing, and all poo (but not the Pooh) stinks. 😀

6 04 2009
coolred38

“halal bubble”…oh I like that…gonna use it the first chance I get… 🙂

6 04 2009
INAL

Any time Coolred, any time… 🙂

6 04 2009
INAL

Share, share Chiara, I have a few cousins with newborns, and they (the Parents) will get a kick of saying it in Italian!

6 04 2009
Lynn

Those little pigs are just too darn cute! I’ve heard that they make great pets.

6 04 2009
Chiara

Inal–Emergency email sent to la mia mamma e la mia sorella!
It may not be porcine enough but I’ll share with all if relevent! 😀

6 04 2009
INAL

Chiara- rusty Italian… Siasmo rimasti col fiato sospeso in attesa di notizie…I am still loopy from the meds so pardon my lack. 🙂

7 04 2009
Chiara

Inal–LOL 🙂 Respire forte, c’e la rima qui (grazie alla mamma, e alla nonna della mia infanzia):

Questo e il dito piccolino, questo e il dito di l’anello, questo e il dito ditale, questo e il dito principale, e questo dito, QUESTO DITO, e il dito grasso–mangia la carne! e butta via l’osso!

[Start with the baby finger, exaggerate voice as you go, and “throw away” the thumb]

This is the little finger, this is the ring finger, this is the thimble finger, this is the principal finger, and this finger, THIS FINGER, is the fat finger–eat the meat! and throw away the bone!

As you all will notice, all porcine references have been preemptively eliminated from Italian baby games with children’s fingers, since babies and their parents like to eat baby fingers!

Now stop taking loopy meds! 😀 😀 😀

7 04 2009
Chiara

Edit: “dito del ditale”

Oh : another version, and other finger games with versions containing porcine salami–the pig is redeemed! 😀

http://www.filastrocche.it/nostalgici/filastro/5dita.htm

7 04 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Okay, I can’t resist …

“Baa ram ewe! Baa ram ewe!”

There, I feel better now.

7 04 2009
Achelois

It is haraam to eat chimps but that doesn’t mean Muslims can’t even look at them.

7 04 2009
tanya

As one who is not restricted by kosher or halal rules, I have to say I enjoy almost every form of pig product – looooove sausage!!! And, oh, Honey-baked Ham is to die for! Pork tenderloin on the grill – ak! I am getting hungry already! Bacon is pretty good. Salami is always a treat. Bologny – no thanks. Lard…no way, though Russians swear by it. Interesting how many more tasty meat products come from a pig than other animals/poulty… For instance, a cow is only beef, ground beef, pot roast and beef jerky…oh, and maybe hot dogs 🙂 Chicken is also just that….

8 04 2009
susanne430

What cuties! Piglets are adorable, eh? Enjoyed this piggy post.

8 04 2009
susanne430

Btw, I was laughing at my friend recently when he told me he ate and enjoys intestines. I said, “How illogical is this? You eat the ‘thing’ that holds poop before leaving the body yet *pigs* are unclean?” Ha!

8 04 2009
Achelois

You know why pork is haraam? Well, this is why:

“The pig is the most shameless animal on the face of the earth. It is the only animal that invites its friends to have sex with its mate. In America, most people consume pork. Many times after dance parties, they have swapping of wives; i.e. many say “you sleep with my wife and I will sleep with your wife.” If you eat pigs then you behave like pigs. ”

Source: http://www.islamcalling.com/Islam/faqislam/pork.htm

*Looks for a hammer!*

8 04 2009
Chiara

I tend not to eat pork, except at my parents’ home. I guess that’s why I’ve never been swapped after a dance party :mrgreen: 😀

9 04 2009
Haleem

nope have never seen a pig! actually I have only been to farms in Bangladesh (not here in Canada) and no one has a pig there.

9 04 2009
Achelois

Haha @ Haleem’s comment!

12 04 2009
Tony

A very informative post. The piggy pictures are cute.

12 04 2009
INAL

Grazia Chiara- I emailed my cousin, she tried it and she was hysterical- so was the baby! heard on the phone- could hear his squeals of laughter… A tradition born!

13 04 2009
Chiara

Prego Inal–glad it had the desired baby squealing effect!

13 04 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

Another pig-worshipper is Anthony Bourdain. If you watch “No Reservations,” you’ll hear him often mention his obsession with pork.

That’s for all the pigs in history trivia. Plus, the piglets at the top are so adorable.

But big ol’ hogs (hawgs, in my native vernacular of Kentucky) kinda scare me. Like they’d eat me first.

Oops – almost forgot — alligator meat tastes like pork.

13 04 2009
coolred38

Achelois…”if you eat pig you act like pig”…well explain then to me why so many Muslim men are acting like pigs then….hmmmm? :mrgreen:

22 04 2009
Aafke

Sorry friends, have been too busy to respond to all your lovely comments, but thank you all for submitting them and I really enjoyed reading them!

28 04 2009
coolred38

I just realized I definitely must have the hot eye as they say….no sooner had I commented on this blog that we routinely get mad cow and bird flu but never anything connected with pigs..and not Swine Flu is making the headlines…

damn someone lock me up…Im dangerous. 😦

28 04 2009
coolred38

and “now” Swine Flu I meant to say

30 07 2009
Taha Ahmed

LOL….some people are Pig=phobic?

24 08 2009
Idris Jamal

Well I don’t understand why some fellow Muslims overreact when they see pigs and dogs. God just does not want us to eat them. God wants us to love all beings. Pigs are created with a noble purpose: to be a scavenger that eats away dirty things so that the earth is clean. God does not want us to eat humans too; does it mean when we see humans, we should overreact too? Islam is peace. Stop corrupting Islam. By the way, I notice that some Christians also agree that we should not eat pork and other unclean meats (shrimps, crabs etc) from this article:
http://www.tipskey.com/health/not_all_meats_are_food.htm

24 08 2009
Aafke

Idris Jamal, welcome to my blog!
Yes, it’s actually in the bible that christians are not allowed to eat pigs either. They just sort of forgot about that.
It’s because boths Islam and Christianity are based on Judaism; the shrimp crabs thing is also Jewish. Islam allows anything from the sea, so if muslims get all freaky about shrimps that is bidah!

6 09 2009
Hether

I’m vegan and became vegetarian when i was 14.. i cannot understand how anyone can eat any animal.

24 09 2009
CWP

i have a pig but my friend dosent belive me!!!!!
what should i do!!!

24 09 2009
Aafke

show it to him!

18 11 2009
Carolina

Hello, my name is Carolina and I’m in a project for children with learning and language comproblemas could use the image: Pig Trivia, is to enable children to recognize farm animals.

thank you very much,
carefully Carolina.

20 11 2009
Aafke

Carolina, I uploaded it from the internet. It’s not really mine to give away.
If you google ”pigs” you will find lots of good pictures.
But then i suppose that’s how you got here in the first place.
You’d better ask the people from Top Hogs.

27 11 2009
Ivana

I’m a veggie, became one 4 years ago because I LOVE animals. Piggies are one of the cutest. Sooo intelligent! It would be like eating a dog. They’re not unclean as they say, no more unclean than humans. Why do humans have to extrapolate all their defects into other things or beings? It’s US that stink and suck and cheat. They’re just animals with the mind of a little boy. NO animals should be eaten. But as I know they taste good (haven’t been a veggie forever), just try eating animals you dislike :P. And before eating a piggie, think on how cute and lovely they are!




