Tarq and a friend

16 03 2009

Last summer we had a couple of friends visiting us on our pony-camp location. It was on Tarq’s birthday! J came to look and try out a saddle I was going to lend her for a few months, and both tried it out on the Tarq. Tarq ofcourse considers a new rider fine, but they will have to prove themselves first! πŸ˜‰

Tarq has a whole repertoire of cunning little and not so little tricks to sabotage a rider. One of the most insidious is the ”back-wriggle” which he uses to get you completely out of balance.
So this is my friend A, taking no s*** from Al Tarq!

I really enjoyed watching Tarq opening his bag of tricks, and I enjoyed even more seeing A taking none of it!
In the end Tarq was a very good horse and did some beautiful trotting πŸ™‚
You can see very clearly how he is not using his back, and moveing very badly in the beginning, and in the end he is relaxed, balanced and uses his back. A is smaller than me so she looks really nice on Al Tarq! And she is a smashing rider! Not everybody gets Tarq to behave! πŸ˜‰

Enjoy the photos

anya-op-tarq1

anya-op-tarq4

anya-op-tarq9

anya-op-tarq12

anya-op-tarq13

anya-op-tarq16

J on Tarq, and me

jip-op-tarq9

Actions

Information

16 responses

16 03 2009
Tee

Beautiful! πŸ™‚

16 03 2009
Aafke

Yes, πŸ™‚

16 03 2009
Specs

I’m glad your friend could take the back-wiggle, LOL. I’ve lost count of the time I’ve fallen of because of one.

His saddle looks ace too! πŸ˜€ And so does his owner πŸ™‚

P.S. You’ve been awarded the ‘Honest Scrap’ award. Congratulations and keep writing honestly. I dig your posts!

17 03 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

I’m glad that your friend passed Tarq’s tests. He’s a wily fellow. He probably appreciated the challenge. He know he has The Very Best Mommy.

17 03 2009
Aafke

Yes Tarq likes a challenge.
I have to prove myself from time to time, and he is always very proud of me when I pass πŸ˜‰

17 03 2009
Marahm

Tarq is beautiful, and your friend is priveleged to ride him.

17 03 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

He is a very pretty horse!

17 03 2009
safiullahhussaini

Umm, is nt he a little small for a horse? Is nt he a pony? Nice animal BTW….

Oh and I need your “expert” opinion on something so check out my blog when you can.

17 03 2009
Aafke

Marahm, πŸ˜€ He seems pretty pleased with me πŸ˜‰

Dennis, but don’t let that fool you; inside that pretty horse is a true Extreme-Fighter/Football-Hooligan

safi, In the last photo I’m standing in front, so i look larger in comparison as I really am. But he is defenitely small compared to a Warmblood. But then for a purebred Arab, he is actually quite large.
(an Arab horse is nΓ©ver a pony!!!)

17 03 2009
Achelois

Tarq is very beautiful and no I don’t love him more than I love you πŸ˜€ I like your hair better even if I find his legs irresistible!

17 03 2009
Sumera

Love Tarq’s saddle πŸ˜€

18 03 2009
Aafke

Achelois; Thank you for making clear that you still love me more as Tarq πŸ˜‰
ah, yes, his legs are so much better, (and hairier) as those of Bakheet!

Sumera, It’s a ultra light Debra Sibly saddle. πŸ™‚

20 03 2009
Abu Sinan

Beautiful. Being a horse person myself, as well as a person who really gets into gear, can you tell us about the saddle?

It is very interesting look, same with the stirrups.

20 03 2009
Aafke

AbuSinan, this is a Debra Sibley ultralight, When I still had my saddlery, I wanted to promote these saddles in the Netherlands, many people in the Netherlands want a treeless saddle, and in my opinion, this is the best one on the market. I have tested it on many different horses, and it is very versatile, it can be used on many different horses, yet peaves a beautiful even impression: it really distributes the weight of the rider evenly, something no other treeless saddle does. As far as I know.
It is a barrelracer, and has a very original stirrupleather system. you need to adjust 4 blevins-buckles to adjust them which is too much for an uttely lazy person like me. but it works well, and doesn’t restrict the movement of your legs. I ride classical, so I need the freedom to be able to move my thigh in the saddle.
http://www.debrasibleysaddles.com/

20 03 2009
Abu Sinan

Thanks for the explaination. The saddle looks nice, but like yourself I am lazy and like to be able to make adjustments easily and when I am in the saddle.

I like jumping and cross-country so I am with you about the ability to move the legs.

My tack was mostly Stubben. I liked it, it was well made, and performed wonderfully.

20 03 2009
Aafke

Oh, yes StΓΌbben is still excellent. I still want a dressage saddle from them.

Leave a Reply

