Houston

9 03 2009

Ok, I am very, very sorry to have maybe raised  expectations with me wanting to go to New York, which turned out to be a dead duck.

deadduck

However, I will really be going to Houston. Not for fun but to be with, and hopefully be of some help, to somebody I care about very much. And I if I can go in time to be able to go to the big rodeo a few times that would be very good. I do want to see if I can do something for my saddlery business as well, meet up with saddlers to see if anybody can make me westernsaddles to fit European horses.

But I will need a place to stay, so a cheap hotel. there must be cheaper hotels? What about all those dodgy run-down motels one always sees in American movies? All I get over the internet are like mega-chique fifteen star hotels! And with the rodeo going on it will be difficult. I don’t need anything, just a bed and a chair.

houston_skyline

So this is for real, as soon as I can be sure I will have somewhere to stay, I will get my ticket.
No dead duck this time…
deadduck
So please, anybody in or around Houston, give me a tip!

Actions

Information

21 responses

9 03 2009
safiullahhussaini

Houston! We have a problem! Pshshshshshsh!

Aafke cant find a docking bay! Pshshshshsh!

Hehehe! Hey victim of habit, what can I say! I m a geek!

9 03 2009
Marahm

The “dodgy run-down motels one always sees in American movies” don’t exist anymore. Those movies are many years old. Oh, sure, you can find cheap motels, even run-down if that is what you desire, but they will be in an undesirable part of town. They won’t be advertised on the Net, either.

Why don’t you seek lodging with the sponsors of the event? Usually, when people are coming from out of town, hotels are aware of the event, and the sponsors are able to recommend hotels in various price ranges.

In any event, let me know when you are there; perhaps we can at least have a conversation, hear each other’s voices!

9 03 2009
susanne430

Aafke, maybe this will give you a place to start your search. I wasn’t sure what days to select so for fun, I put in March 17-24. These might be OK for you. Not sure. I’ve never been to Texas, but I’ve been to a rodeo a loooong time ago.

http://www.motel6.com/ms/select-stay.do

http://www.bestwestern.com/

http://www.hotel-rates.com/us/texas/houston/

Typing in “discount hotels Houston, TX” in Google may give you similar sites.

Some cheaper hotel chains that I think of — Days Inn, Red Roof Inn, Comfort Inn, Econo Lodge .. maybe going to their websites would be helpful.

9 03 2009
SusieOfArabia

Hey, Aafke – what are your dates? I’ll be happy to try to find something reasonable for you. Do the event organizers have special rates arranged with various hotels – did you try going through them? I used to live in Houston, but it’s been (yikes!) three decades, so everything has changed since I was there. I wouldn’t recommend that you stay in a cheap flea bag hotel for your own personal safety. How about sharing a room with another person? Sometimes the event planners can hook you up with someone else. Email me and let me know the details, like where the event is, the dates, etc., and I’ll try my best!

9 03 2009
Specs

Lucky you, going on a trip to USA… and putting up that pretty night picture to tease us all. 😀

Have fun and take lots of pictures like you do; I always love looking at the photos you take.

9 03 2009
Chiara

try http://www.hostelz.com/hostels/USA/Texas/Houston

which includes the Houston downtown YMCA hostel, ? the YWCA

or http://houston.citysearch.com/bestof/winners/budget_hotel

pricey except for the Motel 6 which is a great chain on the budget end of Sofitel and Novotel $38USD/night but located on the highway ? cost of transport into where you want to go.

Good luck in going to Houston, home of ranchers and oil barrens!

9 03 2009
Chiara

PS same site has Econo Lodge a budget chain at 63USD per night

If you book a block of time you usually get a reduction, eg. book by week, month!

9 03 2009
Chiara

PPS these budget chains are the cleanest, safest option, with an institution like the Y or a university residence room (also via hostelz.com) other safe clean options.

9 03 2009
Achelois

Hmm

9 03 2009
susanne430

Well, I have sent the same comments a few times. I can’t see it here although I get a message saying it’s a duplicate comment. Sorry, Aafke, if they are going to spam or moderation and you have about 10 from me!

I was trying to share some helpful links so maybe that’s the problem.

Anyway, I tried. 🙂

9 03 2009
Chiara

A friend who lived in Houston until last year says it is almost impossible to get around without renting a car, but will give some suggestions if you give dates of when you are going to be in Houston and whether you will have a car.

9 03 2009
Chiara

PS also if you indicate what you can afford to pay. You can email me the info if you like, including what area of Houston you would like to be near. He will put out an APB to his friends for suggestions.

9 03 2009
Aafke

ok, good ideas Chiara. I still don’t know when I’m leaving but the YMCA seems a good option. If they have women’s rooms available , they don’t have many.

When I googled YMCA I couldn’t find the hostel, I got charity stuff and summer camp…..

The trip will defenitely happen, either I leave next week, or after my exam on the 14th of April.

9 03 2009
Aafke

Chiara, I will probably be staying with somebody, but maybe that won’t be possible for a few days into my visit, so I need something easy.
I am going to either hire or borrow a car. 😉

9 03 2009
INAL

I’m mift! And its all your fault Suroor- now she off way out on the range!!(Hanky waving about- Texan accent and all!)

Hmm…is that all you are going say!?!?!

And pictures to boot- the nerve! If you don’t buy five 10 gallon hats, eat Tex-Mex till you pop and dance “la quebradita” and the Two Step- we got issues!!

10 03 2009
Chiara

You got this information from the Hostelz site right?

YMCA of the Greater Houston Area: Downtown YMCAwww.ymcahouston.org
1600 Louisiana St # 2
Houston, TX 77002, United States
(713) 659-5566
Get directions
This place has 135 rooms, all singles with cable TV. Some have shared baths, some private. Most residents are longterm, or on short job assignments in Houston or awaiting a job on a ship. The private rooms are $39 a day or $173 a week. Kitchen, laundry, gym on premises. On a typical day, 5 guests will be true backpackers. Space for women is limited and may require a reservation.

For some reason the Y sites are very poor at talking about the hostels although almost all the major ones have them.

Good luck! Unless I hear from you soon otherwise, I’ll let my friend know you are all set up.

10 03 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I’ve never been to Houston, although I used to get forced to go to Dallas on a semi-regular basis for training. Dallas in August, ugh.

I think Amanda over at Click The Good News lives in or near Houston, so maybe she would have some suggestions.

10 03 2009
Aafke

Dennis, thank you for the sugestion, I have a lot of good idea’s on where to look now, and it’s probable I can stay with my friend, but if not, I will know where to go now.

I will let you all know when I’m flying 😉

11 03 2009
Aafke

I think I’m set! Saudi in US send me this one, brilliant!
http://www.intownsuites.com/detail_metro.asp?city=Houston

11 03 2009
susanne430

I think it’s really cute to think about Aafke in Texas! 😀 I’m eager to hear her stories when she gets back home. Ha, ha!

11 03 2009
Chiara

Looks great! Yes, Texas may never be the same! Fortunately Crawford is far from Houston or we might be reading headlines like “Aafke morally demolishes Bush”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

