This photo

21 02 2009

was made by a photographer friend of mine. It features her horse, the bald American Eagle, and me, all tramping through a field.

bald-american-eagle-in-field

Β©millie

The bald American Eagle, for those who haven’t seen it yet. Was an apprentice-project on a vintage tree. It’s basically an old-school eight-string saddle, with a hardly noticable mad-Aafke twist in the carving, making it look a bit like an American Eagle….. :mrgreen:

american-eagle-kop-schvachteren1 american-eagle-kop-schvvoren

american-eagle-schuin-van-voren

Actions

Information

28 responses

21 02 2009
ruhsa

is that an abaya u’re wearing? πŸ˜€

21 02 2009
Marahm

This is a wonderful photo! I love the color, the dark clouds of an impending storm, with you and the horse walking calmly, and your dress, hand and head position suggesting an other-worldly quality. Great image!

21 02 2009
Aafke

ruhsa, welcome to my blog, in the Netherlands it’s just a long black coat. I like long black coats. But in the middle east you could call it an abaya I suppose.

Marahm, πŸ˜€ I like it too! I’m afraid I mostly walk in another world, and then hit my nose regularly when dropping into the real one 😦

21 02 2009
Marahm

I would beg to differ, Aafke. I would suggest that you hit your nose when dropping into the FALSE one. Then, however, we’d have to get into the perennial conversation regarding the real world vs. the false, and how to tell the difference. Maybe another time…

21 02 2009
coolred38

Ok is that eagle really there or are my eyes playing their usual tricks on me?

Love the colors in this pic though.

21 02 2009
wildstorm

What an awesome image.

21 02 2009
Lofter

Gorgeous! All three… you, the horse and the photograph! Great job!

21 02 2009
sf

Beautiful picture. I totally loveeeeeee your horse. The eagle, hmmmm, doesn’t look real. πŸ˜€

21 02 2009
susanne430

Wow, you look regal! Very nice picture!

21 02 2009
~W~

Beautiful picture πŸ˜€ I like the way you stride through the field.

21 02 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

This would make a good book cover!

21 02 2009
Achelois

It is a beautiful photo. But then all your photos are beautiful. And I LOVE that saddle. I think I told you that before. Its EXCELLENT!

And I love your hair and your clothes and your smile and your perfectly symmetrical face, Mashallah!

You are beautiful my friend and sister!

21 02 2009
Tee

Just amazing! Thanks for sharing beauty with us πŸ™‚

21 02 2009
Chiara

The photo is fabulous in all respects; as is the “Bald Eagle” and of course you are too. Perhaps you should send a photo of the “Bald Eagle” to “W” in Crawford Texas; you may get a commission out of it. On second thought he seems to ride jeeps not horses, and you wouldn’t want his patronage. Hmmmm, perhaps it would be better to sell copies of the photos to a high end magazine.

21 02 2009
Aafke

Marahm, ok we will have that conversation!

Wildstorm, thank I was hoping you would like it!

Sf, that’s not my horse! Mine is dark brown! And that eagle is defenitely real! πŸ˜‰ I added a few photo’s just to prove it to you! πŸ˜€

Susanne, I always look regal πŸ˜‰

~W~ that was a difficult field to stroll through!

Dennis, Now all you have to do is to write the story that comes inbetween the covers! πŸ˜‰

Oh, Achelois! If only…… πŸ˜‰

Tee, thanks πŸ™‚

Chiara: the saddle is for sale πŸ˜‰

21 02 2009
susieofarabia

The saddle is absolutely exquisite. You are so amazing, Aafke! And that photo – I hope you have it blown up and framed. It is a very special photo – the sky, your confidence and carefree style, and the horsey and the saddle – WOW! It’s perfect. And of course, Captain Kabob says, “Aafke is SO HOT !!!”

21 02 2009
American Eagle saddle | The Horsey Set Net

[…] out this stunning American Eagle saddle. […]

21 02 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

Magnificent! I just had to write a post about it to re-direct my own readers to your site.

http://thehorseyset.net/2278/american-eagle-saddle/

21 02 2009
Aafke

Susie, no, I don’t have it framed, but I did get a very nice print. It’s smashing isn’t it?
Captain Kabob has real taste!

Rhonda, πŸ™‚ Thank you! I’ll write a post on how I made Tarq’s saddle

22 02 2009
jonolan

Nice work. If I ever have horses again, I’m definitely coming to you for saddles – at least the dress saddles. For normal use I prefer the M1928 McClellan.

22 02 2009
Aafke

Jonolan: I made ”normal” saddles too! πŸ˜‰
Some of my friends have McClellan saddles, I’m still working on an endurance saddle for Tarq: a totally minimal saddle!

24 02 2009
Haleem

You are one sweet woman! And this just a … ROYAL looking.. picture!

24 02 2009
intlxpatr

It’s a wonderful photo. Wonderful – but oh my heavens, the saddle! It is a total WOW!

26 02 2009
safiullahhussaini

Cool Saddle! But would nt riding it be desecrating the homage to such a beautiful animal?

Dont get me wrong here, I m no tree hugger… Hehe.

And I did nt read the comments, Man do you get traffic or what!

26 02 2009
NdAppy

Very, very beautiful picture. I absolutely LOVE the saddle. So beautiful.

27 02 2009
daggero

Aafke

You are a Red Head , alrightttttttttttttt

πŸ™‚

27 02 2009
Aafke

Haleem, ehm, just trying to keep my head up!

intlxpart, Really the saddle is just a bit of fun! It’s a bit inspired by all these wonderful Amrican carrousel horses, by Illions and Smith &Goldsmith, and all the other great carvers.

safiulahhussaini, Welcome to my blog, πŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t mind seeing somebody riding it πŸ˜‰
Yes, I am blessed with lots of friends who come to visit!

NdAppy, Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚ Thank you πŸ™‚

daggero, welcome πŸ™‚ And DOWN boy! πŸ˜‰ :mrgreen:

27 02 2009
Aafke

The top of this photo, with all the beautiful clouds, was my first header!

Leave a Reply

