Will Red be Banned again???

8 02 2009

We don’t do a lot about Valentine in the Netherlands, and me being without a dreamrabbit, I’m not so much interested.

val_48

Anyway, I presume my friends in Saudi Arabia will be witheld again this year from using this day for buying their spouses a few red flowers or a romantic gift.

valentine-redrose

You know, why harp on red? Just go out and buy something pink! There are pink roses, and pink hearts, and pink gifts, and pink cookies…

valentine-pink-bath-roses

I like pink roses better anyway.valentine_pink_rose1

This will ofcourse have the effect that next year Pink will also be forbidden!
I suggest Orange for 2010.

Update:

I’m in for Valentine! I got these roses from my furry Twitterpated Yeti Valentine! πŸ˜€

valentine-pink-roses

Actions

Information

45 responses

9 02 2009
Lat

I like red roses better.Hubby and I only give each other gifts on wedding anniversarys.Actually I don’t mind that at all since I’ve got an anniversary to rely on getting gifts! πŸ˜›

9 02 2009
Chiara

Oh the roses! But no orange ones please. If away from red tones I would suggest yellow (the colour of the Roman wedding dress), or white (purity of love, if not virginity), or the variegated “Chicago Peace Rose” or “Princess Diana Rose” but definitely not the “Laura Bush Rose” (dusky orange with demented shaped petals).

Or a free trip to the Westbroeken Rosarium Scheveningen!

9 02 2009
INAL

Aafke, I happen to like black roses I have seen in the Caribbean- startling to see them for the first time- but they are beautiful- or the lavendar roses – I see a lot of those in NY!

My hubby has a bunch of quirks, but he loves giving gifts- from the heart is irreplaceable he says- and Valentines is something he enjoys because its our night out on the town- fancy restaurant; decked to the nines- with so many places to choose from in NY we never repeat… Also gives me an excuse to wear a fancy Sari and wrap my head in an appealing turban! The cholies I use are chinese style high necklines with long sleeves so I am “covered” – can’t wait for Saturday!!!

9 02 2009
Twitterpated Yeti

Dear Aafke,

Since I saw the picture of your beautiful fur on the last post, I cannot get you off my mind. I know that Big Foot guy gets all the headlines, but I think I am more cuddly and definitely more fun. Just checkout my moves:

Please, be my valentine and I will be the happiest furry creature in all the Himalayas.

Your Dream Rabbit Yeti

9 02 2009
INAL

BTW Aafke

Botinical name is Antirrino nanum- Principe Negro- Black Prince… I read it has Celtic origins- but I can’t confirm this- I tried to link to Flickr where I saw a foto for you to see- but my blackberry is being a cherry at the moment! LOL

9 02 2009
coolred38

How about be sneaky and everyone in Saudi that plans(ed) on buying something red for Valentines day…do it the day after when the “heat is off”…leave those muttawa scratching their heads over that one… πŸ™‚

9 02 2009
Anon.

Aafake, you seem to rant quite frequently about Saudi Arabia, I just wanted to ask you if you of Saudi descent ??

9 02 2009
Achelois

It is our wedding anniversary on Valentine’s Day Inshallah πŸ˜€

9 02 2009
Saaleha

Woman, you are funny. I needed stuff to laugh about. Amazing isn’t it when thousands are being left homeless in Palestine, all Saudi Arabia can get flustered about is a bloody bouquet.

9 02 2009
Anon.

^ no my dear, Saudi Arabia did more than “flustered” they donated over a billion dollar to Gaza reconstruction effort…

9 02 2009
Aafke

Lat! But I think one should give presents on all imaginable occasions! Including: ”Nothing interesting is happening at the moment so here’s a gift to cheer life up”
I have a ”present” drawer, with presents ready for emergencies, birthdays, and special days!

Chiara, all these colours will get their turn in future years! πŸ˜‰
I love ” Peace” one of my alltime favorites. Hmm, LauraBush Rose, with demented petals… don’t know if I’d want that one….

Inal, I’d love to see those black roses! And the lavendar, aaahh, my absolute favorites! Blue Moon…. I saw them first in England.. I fell in love….

Twitterpad, Thank you for the lovely flowers, and the dance! πŸ™‚
Your moves rock, and I’d be thrilled to be your valentine! We can brush each other’s fur!

Coolred! Cool! Saudi Valentine’s day is 15 Feb,!

Anon. it is because I have friends and blog-buddies there, and I feel for them. And for some reason there is always so much to write about KSA, my own country is sΓ³ much more boring…
I write for my blog-friends, not for the Dutch.

Achelois, an early Mabrook! Is that coincidence? or some haraam design?

Saaleha, thanks for putting this into perspective. It is sad when people are obsessed with trivialities while ignoring suffering, and their real duty.

9 02 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Hmm, so red is out, but other color roses are okay? What about red flowers that aren’t roses? Maybe the religious police have a sideline in selling black-market red roses and are trying to drive up their prices …

9 02 2009
Specs

Red was banned there? How about crimson? That’s technically not RED. Just a variation of it. How about maroon roses? How about *blacked out*

9 02 2009
Specs

Oh oops. I see my message there was blacked out by *looks around* *whisper* the black hand, wasn’t it?

Oh the well, here’s a pink rose for you. —@

9 02 2009
Achelois

100% haraam design πŸ˜€

9 02 2009
Aafke

Dennis, anything red, anything that symbolises love!

Specs, anything whic is remotely red… That probably includes pink πŸ™„
But that’s an idea…. Black roses! :mrgreen:

PS, there is a post in the offing about the ”Black beards” πŸ˜‰

Achelois: Thank you for giving me a free advertising line: Aafke’s Design Abaya’s, guaranteed 100% Haraaaaaaaam!

10 02 2009
Lat

I agree.Giving presents does cheer one up.Point taken!

10 02 2009
Aafke

Oy, Lat, I do not aim to give out pointers! I’m only expressing my own view on presents πŸ™‚
And cheering…. πŸ˜€
Spreading sweetness and light…..

10 02 2009
For Aafke… « Shadjar Al Noor -Really?

[…] don’t post pictures on the blog – but sister blogger Aafke has posted in ClouddragonΒ on what should we do on Valentines Day in Saudi Arabia- since red is out of the question…In […]

10 02 2009
INAL

Here you my dear- Black Princes and Black Tulips- let’s start a new craze for Valentines- posted just for you!!!

10 02 2009
10 02 2009
Aafke

Inal! A post for me! I am thrilled! And thank you for the beautiful photographs!
Will you be my valentine? πŸ™‚

10 02 2009
Twitterpated Yeti

Oh just my luck, I got dumped for a female 😦 Sniffling as I walk away with my Valentine Hairbrush.

10 02 2009
Aafke

But twitterpated Yeti, you are already my Valentine! Suroor is just a friend! (and female to boot, so no real competition)
I love the brushes! Let’s spend an evening in front of the fire brushing!

10 02 2009
Twitterpated Yeti

Ok you had me worried πŸ™‚ Just one condition, we need a good fireplace guard. My fur is really flammable. Scratch that, the idea of a strong flame is exciting πŸ˜‰

10 02 2009
Aafke

Twitterpated Yeti, I was envisaging the mutual grooming in front of a romantic log fire, seated on a bear rug…
Fur allover!!!!

10 02 2009
Twitterpated Yeti

I will slay the fiercest bear for my dearest furball, Raaaaaaaaaar!!!!

10 02 2009
Aafke

Batting long lush eyelashes, and simpering…..

11 02 2009
Chiara

Oh I feel so prurient reading this! πŸ™‚

11 02 2009
Aafke

Had to look up ”prurient”… Excellent word! Will be part of my vocabulary from now on!
Why is everybody on my blog so wicked, abandoned and depraved????
Can’t be me…

11 02 2009
Chiara

Nonsense, you are our goddess, our queen, our prophetess, our messenger…remember? πŸ™‚

11 02 2009
Coolred38

Wicked and abandoned maybe…but depraved? 😦 Come on…we have some standards…dont we? πŸ˜‰

11 02 2009
Achelois

WHO IS Twitterpated Yeti? Do I sound jealous that I don’t him? Nah! No, seriously WHO IS HE?

11 02 2009
Achelois

“Suroor is just a friend!” JUST a friend? WTF? Am I seeing things or did you just call me effing JUST A FRIEND?

I’ll set Yeti’s fur on fire, Missy!

11 02 2009
Aafke

Uh, I can’t seem to get it right can I?
I will love you all equally, and divide my time equally between you.
How’s that?

Chiara, you scare me…

Coolred, Certainly, we have standards!
Wicked ones, but they are still standards!!! :mrgreen:

11 02 2009
Twitterpated Yeti

Your friend is feisty and plays with fire. Yeti likes little kitten πŸ˜‰

But my heart belongs only to one. She can have Valentine day. We will make every Sunday into Valentine’s. I will bring a Hair drier πŸ™‚

11 02 2009
Chiara

😦 πŸ™‚ ?!

11 02 2009
Chiara

I can’t wait for the post and comments on February 14, not to mention the “morning after” posts on the 15th, 16th, etc. On the other hand, the fiery flying fur may cause the blogosphere to implode. LOL

11 02 2009
Sumera

What if you get red roses and paint them white so you dont get caught – is that cheating? or simply genius?

11 02 2009
Aafke

Yeti, stay away from Achelois! She’s mine!
I may have said I would treat you equally, but that doesn’t mean you can go off and treat each other equally!

Chiara, Yeti and I are going to groom each other, in front of a logfire!

Sumera, it would be even more cunning to buy white roses, and paint them red at home, or put red ink in the water πŸ˜‰

11 02 2009
Achelois

For this comment, I shall buy you an industrial hair drier, my lovely Cousin It! Yeti’s hand held teeny hair drier is no match πŸ˜›

Btw, is Yeti blonde? I like blonde males πŸ˜‰

11 02 2009
Aafke

Yeti has black hair, and facial hair… I don’t like blonde men πŸ˜‰

12 02 2009
Twitterpated Yeti

My dearest Furball,

Surly you know poor little kitten with her scanty covered skin does not compare to your stunning beauty of flowing fur. However, we should not focus on such inferiority and hurt the feelings of our cousin sapiens. They may form a Black Hands Himalayan Chapter and outlaw romantic grooming by fireplaces 😦

12 02 2009
Aafke

Now, Yeti, no discrimination on this blog.
And I am not worried at all… Who will manage to get to our Himalaya hide-out? And if they do manage, do you really think anybody will be in any shape to tell us anything????
Naaahhh! :mrgreen:

12 02 2009
Touring The City « Inner Reflections Transcribed

[…] on Saturday, may make good use of it but steer clear of all things fluffly – namely teddy bears. Red roses are very welcome […]

Leave a Reply

