Christianity, gays and science

29 01 2009

gay-couple

I think we should have some compassion for those who are pulled into an unorthodox life style. It’s not their fault! Science has brought us some wonderful things, and now it has brought us release, at least of conscience, to the burden of responsibillity, when we see those we love fall into that shocking lifestyle and behaviour we see more and more often nowadays.
Enjoy this video about a new scientific breakthrough to help those who we always imagined to be doomed, we now know it is only a genetic malfunction, and any time now, a cure will be found!

No comments on this post unless you have watched this video.

Actions

Information

34 responses

29 01 2009
BCIS

This has to be a joke, right?

29 01 2009
Chiara

Fabulously funny! Should be required viewing for all bigots. Although, as all US presidential candidates learn, at risk of vilification and more importantly for them, electoral loss, the politically correct answer in the US is that “being gay is not a choice, gays are born with their sexual orientation just like heterosexuals are and do not make a lifestyle choice”. Bona fide experts are usually far more cautious about the nature/nuture continuum and the role of genetics.

I loved the first photo, which for some reason reminded me of Amsterdam.

29 01 2009
Aafke

BCIS, πŸ˜€ have you watched the video? It’s absolutely nessecary to understand the post πŸ˜€
If you did: yes, it’s a joke…
But it could be true…..

Chiara, πŸ™‚

30 01 2009
burstmode

ah yes, the so-called “cross” gene.

I think in the interest of being fair, you should point out that other scientists believe this has nothing to do with Christianity but rather triggers an unusual egg intolerance.

Easy enough to confuse the two issues and I, for one, cannot take sides until the connection between homosexuality and egg intolerance is studied further.

30 01 2009
Aafke

Burstmode, again I have no idea what you are talking about. And did you bother to watch the video? Otherwise you shouldn’t comment.

30 01 2009
Chiara

Worth a second viewing to catch the CNNN scrolled news. The love sick frog, and the French band are my personal favorites.

30 01 2009
Aafke

I like the chinese kapitalist making a fortune by selling Mao-merchandise
And the one on the printer-jam

30 01 2009
burstmode

my apologies, I assumed you like to laugh. I know I do. Well, sorry for enjoying your humor.

30 01 2009
Rhysz

I think burstmode is suggesting that all homosexuals are allergic to eggs, a commonly accepted fact in the scientiffic community.

Regards,
Rhysz

30 01 2009
BCIS

Aafke…yea I watched the video, and I saw the CNNN. However the human animal is so freakin stupid (with a huge god complex)…I wouldn’t be surprised if it were true…as there are some who actually believe there is a religion gene, and that it is actually a disorder of the brain.

30 01 2009
Aafke

Burstmode, I didn’t know about the egg-thing, (are they really alergic?) I didn’t get it and I was worried you might have taken me seriously! Please don’t be too miffed! 😦
Glad you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

Rhysz, thanks for enlightening me.

BCIS, Same to you: I was worried you took me seriously 😦
And I think your current abode makes you a bit too susceptible towards the foibles of human nature πŸ˜‰ After, what is it? One month now? You even take the gay scientists serious! πŸ˜€
Oh dear, another fact I didn’t know… There really is a religion gene? How am I to be funny nowadays???

30 01 2009
Marahm

Thirty years ago, I knew a man who was gay. I asked him whether he or his friends thought homosexuality was a choice or a biological imperative. His answer: “No one in his right mind would CHOOSE to be gay! There is nothing gay about being gay.”

Granted, society has become increasingly more tolerant of the “lifestyle” in recent years, but I wouldn’t be surprised if his answer still holds true.

As for religion, there is definitely a gene for that. Religion is hard-wired into the human condition. I wouldn’t be surprised if genetic variations predispose people to one religion over another, enculturation notwithstanding.

30 01 2009
Sumera

malfunction, malfunction ~machine sizzles and crashes~ :p

30 01 2009
BCIS

Aafke πŸ˜‰

30 01 2009
BCIS

oops…Aafke…there should have been a smiley face with a wink…especially for you.

And, BTW: Yesterday was my one month “living in Saudi” anniversary.

30 01 2009
Chiara

So far, any speculation about a “religion gene” including by reputable scientists, is just that, speculation–as they themselves acknowledge. Most research in this area is about a general psychological predisposition of all to create a meaningful existence including the postulation of a meaningful higher ordering to the world.

In short Aafke–you have geneticists’ permission to keep being funny!!! πŸ™‚
Good thing for the rest of us πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

burstmode–I thought I originally got your dry and excellent humour on this subject, but not knowing you, I wasn’t sure, and was afraid to laugh out loud (on blog) –so now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

30 01 2009
Kay

fyi watched the video πŸ˜›

Playing devils advocate (hehe) ;-): are you equating biology to be at a same level of choice as choosing what (sacred) book you call your own? Just curious…

30 01 2009
Aafke

Marahm, I am certainly glad I’m not gay. On the other hand… three of my girlfriends here have proposed to me…..
It sort of matches with my idea that certain people will ”experience” religion. Or implement it, in different, but recognisable ways, no matter what the religion of choice is.

Sumera, reboot, or change hardware! πŸ™‚

BCIS: πŸ˜€
and: Happy Anniversary! *\o/*
May you survive many more long months πŸ˜‰

Chiara: πŸ™‚ thanks!

Kay, Welcome to my blog.
*are you equating biology to be at a same level of choice as choosing what (sacred) book you call your own?*
Eh, huh?
Merde! Another commentator whom I do not understand…
You cannot choose biology?
And I haven’t written my sacred book yet?
I can tell you one thing, the first rules of my religion will be: ”Love all things God made” And: ”Give all your money to Aafke”

30 01 2009
Chiara

I don’t know about the Netherlands but you have a future in the US, where freedom of religion includes the right to start your own, and get tax exempt status for it. “Give all your money to Aafke” would be a suitable tele-evangelical slogan especially if you added “for God’s work [as determined by Aafke]” πŸ™‚

31 01 2009
Achelois

Haha! Seriously funny πŸ˜€

31 01 2009
Aafke

Chiara, I think I could do it in the Netherlands as well…. But I think the Americans are easier…:mrgreen:

Achelois, Glad you enjoyed!

31 01 2009
Chiara

Aafke–all good religious leaders eventually go international! πŸ™‚ Which of course requires $$$$ πŸ™‚

31 01 2009
Rhysz

Ofcourse, we must spread the truth that is Aafkeenism. Let us go out and be true Aafkengelicals and smite the unbeleivers where we may find them. Oh dear, Aafkenism would probably require the superiority of women.

I’m posting my intention to break way from this false religion right here. I’m officially starting ‘Pantyism’ a religion truly dedicated to the female form and to the equality of sexes. Donations will result in greater happiness and more sexual staisfaction. Denounce the false prophet and share our universal and eternall bliss.

Regards,
Rhysz, first messenger of the Invisible Pink Panty in the sky.

31 01 2009
Rhysz

P.S.
I’d kill for abs like that………..

Does that make me gay?

Rgeards,
Rhysz

31 01 2009
Chiara

What, schism so soon? What’s a poor potential believer to do? (besides donate $)
Follow the Prophetess or the Messenger, Love or Sex, the yet to be written Sacred Book or the Invisible Pink Panty in the Sky?…hmm must go meditate, reflect, and hope for celestial guidance–or else have dinner.

31 01 2009
Chiara

PS. no it makes you discerning and potentially homi ie homicidal!
(We would all kill for abs like that or to be embracing abs like that). On second thought no dinner.

31 01 2009
Rhysz

@ Chiara

If you’re smart you’d donate to both as both our deities would probably sentence you to eternal readings of Michael Bolton’s poetry….or worse. I don’t we’re going suicidal but if Aafke’s followers are smearing blood on my followers doors again, it’s personal……….

Regards,
Rhysz

31 01 2009
Rhysz

* ‘think we’re going’

31 01 2009
Aafke

Take this to the loony bin you nutters!
That’s what the loony bin is for.

1 02 2009
Haleem

What an ab.

1 02 2009
Aafke

Yeah, yeah, great abs…
Normally I can’t be bothered about whom decides to love whom… But in this case I think it’s crying shame!
It should be forbidden! What a waste!!!!!!! A sinful waste of prime quality testosterone!
These guys should seriously reconsider… Especially when there are still sweet cuddly women roaming around looking for a dreamrabbit….
Sheesh…..

1 04 2010
Andrew Moon

Absoloutely love it!! BAHAHAHA!!! OMG THIS IS SO WELL DONE

1 04 2010
Aafke

Welcome to my blog.

Always glad to spread a little sweetness and light!
😈

6 07 2010
Monica

Wonderful! I know I’d be mortified if one of my daughters suddenly decided she was Christan.

Leave a Reply

