Natural organic conditioner for beautiful hair.

25 01 2009

This does wonders for my hair! It is a very basic natural conditioner which nourishes your hair, and leaves a lovely, but discreet, scent. It is excellent for dry or damaged hair, leaving it soft and silky smooth! Pamper your hair with this treat once or twice a month!

I have long thick hair, so I make a fairly large amount. this mixture should not be kept in storage, mix it as required. It is fun, and takes only 5 minutes to prepare.

You need:

  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (extra virgin, unrefined)
  • 15 drops lavender essential oil
  • 15 drops basil essential oil
  • 15 drops rosemary essential oil

Warm the coconut oil until it becomes fluid by placing your mixing bowl in a slightly larger bowl with hot water.
Add the extra virgin olive oil, add the essential oils. Both basil and rosemary will promote healthy hair growth. Massage you scalp, and tie up your hair in a plastic wrap, or bag, and wrap a hot towel around. As the towel gets cold replace it or reheat it.
Leave for 20 or thirty minutes. Follow with mild shampoo and your usual conditioner.

black-hair500-8

Actions

Information

19 responses

26 01 2009
sabiwabi

I will have to try this. My hair has been a dry frizzled mess this winter!

26 01 2009
Aafke

My hair is also mega-dry! this makes it sรณ smooth and soft and it smells so nice, and very easy and much cheaper than all those chemical brand products!
I used to make a lot of my cosmetic products by myself.
All those chemicals and preservatives get pulled into your skin and hair as well as the good things. And those good ingredients are the ones you use for making your own cosmetics! ๐Ÿ™‚

26 01 2009
Chiara

A great idea to make your own cosmetics, and beauty products. Thanks for the recipe. Dry indoor conditions add to the winter skin and hair disasters.

27 01 2009
susieofarabia

Coconut, lavendar, basil, and rosemary – that’s GOT to smell good!

27 01 2009
Kim

I always wondered why they never made a men’s cologne with either basil or rosemary…? I’d be chasing the guys down the street if they smelled like basil!

But then, maybe that’s the answer to my question!

27 01 2009
Rhysz

Heck! I’ll try it!

Regards,
Rhysz

27 01 2009
Lat

Wow! If only someone could do this for me as I’m quite lazy!hahaha!
As long as my hair is not dry and damaged then I think I can afford to be lazy. ๐Ÿ™‚

27 01 2009
Lofter

Oh, what… now I’ve got to grow my hair out again? I’m too old for this… :->

27 01 2009
BCIS

Thanks for this recipe. If you can believe it…I came to the KSA with all those ingredients (i’m health conscious and don’t believe 50% of what the FDA/AMA is pimping to us, in regards to medicine and in regards to what’s safe to eat, etc.) with the exception of the basil essential oil. I would like to add 2 suggestions (1) the extra virgin olive oil should be expeller pressed and (2) if you’re scalp has a tendency to flake, adding a little tea tree oil can help as well.

27 01 2009
Aafke

Chiara, there’s nothing to it, and it’s healthy, and so much fun!

Susie, Yummmmieeee ๐Ÿ˜‰

Kim, Control yourself!!!!
It’s a difficult problem for scent designers: men should wear manly scents, but tend to like feminine scents, which is why women wear them, but women like manly scents, etc….

Rhysz, I’ll make some for you, ๐Ÿ™‚ but I think you might need a slightly different formula.

Lat, lucky you!

Lofter! ๐Ÿ˜€ Glad to see you back! No, you don’t have to let your hair grow, it’s also an excellent scalp-conditioner! ๐Ÿ˜‰

BCIS, You can replace the Basil with the Rosemary. It’s a very simple basic mix. I don’t know where I could buy expeller pressed olive oil, all the olive oils I use for cosmetics and eating are etra virgin, cold pressed, by hand or stone mills. they come from Crete or Spain, and the one I use for cosmetics is a very special one from France, Nijon. It’s very expensive, but it’s lovely in a salad or vinaigrette, and it has a very delicate smell, which makes it so lovely for cosmetics.

I fully agree with you on what we are told is good or safe for us. My hair is really dry, and I have been trying all sorts of products, and some are very expensive, and one did seem to work a bit, but it smelt sรณ chemical! I felt so uncomfortable with it!
I used to make a lot of things myself, but the herbshop where I used to buy stuff has closed many years ago, and I was at a loss where to get my ingredients, and I was working so hard, I had no time for anything, so I stopped doing it and sort of forgot about it…

27 01 2009
BCIS

Aafke…we’re on the same page with cold pressed…the point is for the oil to not be heated as a method of extraction.

TSA must have had a ball with my luggage…because I had 1 huge suitcase and a big box with nothing but organic and natural products (soaps, essential oils, lotions, toothpaste, spices, celtic sea salt, etc. etc.). I’m going back to the states in March…and I’m already building my list. ๐Ÿ™‚

Luckily in both Seattle and San Diego, there are several stores devoted just to proven healthy organic products (BTW: Whole Foods doesn’t count). And, I’m making a stop in both cities. Yes!!

27 01 2009
Aafke

BSIC, That is sรณ funny! Luckily they didn’t think it suspicious! ๐Ÿ™‚
Everything I use or eat, or give to my horse is coldpressed! ๐Ÿ˜‰
We do have several excellent organic shops here, but things like beeswax (just met a beekeeper) Lanoline, and some herbs like orrisroot are very difficult to come by.
And Comfreyroot has recently been banned in the Netherlands!

I’m buying it in America now. the really difficult things I buy at Mountain Rose, they are excellent, everything is organic, they have almost anything, and they are not expensive. Unfortunately getting it send to the Netherlands usually adds about half. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

27 01 2009
BCIS

I’m checking out this Mountain Rose site now!! Thanks for the referral!! A lot of times a really good product source will go out of business because the market isn’t there to support it…so the more of them you know about the better.

27 01 2009
Aafke

Mountain Rose is super! I get their shampoo and conditioner too! and the lavendar body creme is devine!
And their green rooibos tea!

I found their site when I was looking for Dragon’s blood, very hard to come by and very expensive, and they not only stock it, (the smallest amount will still last me for years) but they were by far the cheapest as well. And excellent service as I have to get everything shipped to the Netherlands. The shippingfee is high, but their excellent products still make it worthwhile.

27 01 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

My hair bushes up in the summer humidity. I can leave the house with it styled as closely as I can get it to how I want it to look. And then I see a couple of hours later that I look like Harpo Marx. (Not the style I wanted.) The mix of oils sounds like an expensive spa treatment. I’ll have to try it.

27 01 2009
Nevis

Bet it smells wonderful!

27 01 2009
Chiara

Almost afraid to ask–what do you do with the Dragon’s blood? Make clouddragons?, make clouds?, fight off trolls?, poison nightmare rats (opposite of dreamrabbits)?

28 01 2009
outcastrebelchic

I will fingers crossed try this as soon as i can get my hands on the ingredients.

29 01 2009
Haleem

I use Dabar Amla! ๐Ÿ˜€ heard of that one?

Leave a Reply

