I’ve been silent for a while

24 01 2009

And sorry for that, I was busy and a bit depressed, and had no idea what to write.

You see, last week I came home, and while I was parking the car, my neighbour came to me and told me that my cat Ishtar had been run over and had been taken away by Animal-Rescue. So I called them and they told me they had taken my cat to a vet in a village near where Tarq lives, so I went there. I was very upset, they had told me it didn’t look well.
When I came to the vet the assistant had given my cat first aid and put her on a drip. But she was allready in a deep coma. And very cold.

When the vet arrived he told me she was already braindead and would be deadย  within half an hour.
After she was dead I took her home, and I wanted to bury her in the garden, but the ground was still frozen and I couldn’t get through, so I took her to the Animal Rescue station and had to leave her there…

I was so sad.

Ishtar’s last photo: smugly relaxing on some brand new, beautiful and fragile pieces of material I had just brought.

ishtar

Actions

Information

36 responses

24 01 2009
falakk

I’m so sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
She’ll go to cat heaven, yeah? ๐Ÿ™‚
Smile, Aafke.

24 01 2009
Rhysz

May Bast carry her soul to where mice are plenty and dogs are collared.

Condolances,
Rhysz

24 01 2009
Aafke

Sure, I’m sure she’s already there.
I’m sorry for myself! I miss her. Every day I see herr somewhere in the corner of my eye, and then when I look there is nothing…

24 01 2009
Aafke

Rhysz: ๐Ÿ˜€

24 01 2009
susanne430

Ah, Aafke. I am sooooo sorry! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was thinking just today that you had been so quiet, but I didn’t know what was going on. How sad. My brother lost his dog recently in the same manner. It made me almost cry for him. I hate to see people hurt and I know how pets add so much richness to lives. She was a beautiful cat. ((Hugs!))

24 01 2009
Aafke

She was run over right in front of my house, I cannot imagine how you can be speeding there as it it a small piece of road between two corners. But somehow they do manage…
She was lovely, sรณ pretty! And she knew it! And banked on it!
Istar was the queen of the house.

24 01 2009
RhondaL/remlane79

Oh, Aafke. I’m so sorry to hear that.

I love your photo of Ishtar’s queenly repose among the delicate fabrics. It’s a beautiful memorial of her.

24 01 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

Sorry about your kitty. That must have been a huge shock.

25 01 2009
Susan

Aafke, sorry to hear you’ve lost a beloved pet … we’ve three, my daughter has them at her place, the oldest is 17.

25 01 2009
Chiara

I’m very sorry for your loss. She was beautiful, and it is even harder to lose a Queen in this particular way. Knowing that you gave her a realm and royal raiments will hopefully help to ease your pain.

Chiara

25 01 2009
Safiyyah

A big hug to you. We also have three cats. Yours looks lovely on the fabrics.

25 01 2009
Lat

I’m so sorry to hear this,Aafke.My condolences.She’s so beautiful! She sure has a special place in your heart and always will! she must’ve loved you as much as you and so don’t be depressed.

25 01 2009
Kim

I’m so sorry for your loss. They bring so much to our lives in the short time that they are with us.

I was wondering where you were too.

25 01 2009
Saudi in US

Sorry for your loss Aafke. I am glad to see you posting again.

25 01 2009
Marahm

I’m sorry you had to suffer another traumatic loss of a beloved animal- I remember reading your posts about Rabhar. Even though you’ll love other pets, each is special, unique, and irreplacable.

25 01 2009
Achelois

As a goddess, I know how it feels when as goddess dies. But see it this way, the heavens are hers and she has only gone home. She is happy, Aafke, making love not war.

I love you.

Your sister-goddess,

Achelois

25 01 2009
coolred38

My heart has joined a thousand
Cause my friend stopped running today….
Watership Down (animated drama about rabbits…but I feel it works here)

Its impossible to remain unhappy when a cat enters the room.

May your memories of Ishtar soothe your grief….calm your heart….and bring a smile to your lips at the most unexpected of moments.

Coolred

25 01 2009
MaryAnn

Aafke, losing a beloved pet is always hard because sometimes their companionship is closer and more loved than people companionship. Sorry to read of your loss.

25 01 2009
~W~

Aafke, sorry to hear youโ€™ve lost your cat. It is so sad, especially that it was so sudden. I hope in time you will feel better.

25 01 2009
American Bedu

Aafke, I am glad you are writing about Ishtar and sharing her photo. Cherish all those wonderful memories you have of her and do share them with all of us too. In that way, a part of her will continue to live on.

25 01 2009
souvenirsandscars

I once had a pet duckling, Jazz, who was mauled by the neighbours cat. I’m so sorry =( I like to think Ishtar’s enjoying pet heaven along side Jazz. Whom she will please refrain from eating. I wouldn’t know from personal experience, but I can imagine it was extremely painful and undignified, and she wouldn’t like a repeat performance. A duck should only have to go through that once, wouldn’t you agree?
Feel better soon =)

25 01 2009
Aafke

Thank you all for all your wonderfull condolances.

Souvenirs and scars, no, no duck should have to go through that twice! But I imagine all our pets will show model behaviour in pet heaven!

26 01 2009
Kat

I’m so sorry about your cat. May she rest in peace.
She was so beautiful.

26 01 2009
Lynn

AWwww, that’s so sad. I’m so sorry for your loss.

26 01 2009
sabiwabi

My condolences. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

26 01 2009
INAL

I am sorry my dear- chin up- she’s in cat heaven with other feisty feline queens!

I feel for you- two of our own pets also passed during the Christmas holidays and my youngest couldn’t bear looking at the habitats they had lived for years (one guinea pig and the other an Asian land turtle- Lucky and Flash)- so we gave everything away until she’s ready to start new friendships.

A big hug!

26 01 2009
Aafke

Thanks everybody! ๐Ÿ™‚

26 01 2009
outcastrebelchic

Aww, sorry for your loss.
But its good to see your back.

27 01 2009
susieofarabia

I don’t know what to say, dear Aafke, but if I were there with you, I would hug you and hold your hand… so sorry.

27 01 2009
always in the kitchen

Hugs.

28 01 2009
Tee

I’m so sorry for your loss Aafke, really sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
I hope your memories with each other lighten the load that’s on your heart.
Glad to see you back.
xoxox

29 01 2009
Haleem

I am so sorry for your loss and deeply sympathize. I had a hamster once and also a budgie, and it really hurts when a pet passes away. Please accept my deepest condolences.

29 01 2009
marianna68

Man, I feel for you. That is so horrid for her to die in that way. My heart goes out to you. I am a cat owner. I have 2 cats. One is going to be 7 in May and she is a mutt her name is Luna, Simba my Himalayan is going to be 4 also in May and he is a Diva despite the fact he is a boy. Animals enrich our lives and I think cats are sorely misrepresented. I hope you find peace with this because it IS sad. I wish you the very best.

29 01 2009
Aafke

Thank you all for all the hugs!
They are not any less effective for being virtual! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 03 2009
lieben

Interessante Informationen.

3 03 2009
Aafke

Lieben, Wilkommen zum meinen Blog

Leave a Reply

