The 6 horsey things about me tag

3 01 2009

I have to get something done about these tags I’m getting.
I’m delighted with this horsey tag, because there is no better subject to mull over as horses! πŸ˜€ I was tagged by Rhonda, from ‘‘The horsey set”.

cropped-banner_vrijruiters

The rules:

  • Link to the person who tagged you.
  • Post the rules on your blog.
  • Write six random horse-related things about yourself.
  • Tag six people at the end of your post.
  • Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
  • Let the tagger know your entry is up.

So six random things…

  1. I have been nuts about horses since I was 2 years old. I didn’t like dolls, I had one Barbie, or a kind of Barbie, with red hair πŸ™‚Β  And I had 5 barbie horses and 6 Breyer horses! (Guess what I liked to play with!)
    breyer-horses
  2. When I was 4 years old I decided I would dedicate my life to the cause of learning how to paint beautiful horses! And we all know how that ended!
    rabhar-2
  3. Finally, at 5 years old, I was allowed to start my lessons riding shetland ponies. After many long years, I got my own pony, and when I was far too tall my parents gave me what is still the greatest love of my life: Cartouche
    cartouche
  4. After many sad horseless years Rabhar was send on my way, and I fell in love with him. Rabhar was very difficult, but totally adorable! Because I had learned so much from Rabhar I daredΒ  to get involved with The Tarq!!!
    aafke-1552_gentlemen_and_me_looking
  5. And because I needed a good saddle for Al Tarq I ended up learning how to become a saddler, and so I could celebrate my worst fantasies in Tarq’s saddle!
    saddle-sideview-small
  6. An ancient Dutch proverb says: ‘‘It’s better to have one horse at your side, than ten men in the sky”

verjaardag-ik-en-tarq-portret-lachend

Ok, now for tagging the next victims:

I tag: Lofter, American Bedu, Tony.

arty-tarq-en-ik5

Actions

Information

40 responses

3 01 2009
Specs

er…the post’s not up..or i need new specs. Then I can be (Miss Specs)x2. 😦

5 01 2009
Aafke

ehm, sorry Specs, I accidentally clicked ”publish” instead of ”Save draft”.
You don’t need new specs! πŸ™‚

5 01 2009
Chiara

Jamal! Mumtaza! Shokran!

5 01 2009
Aafke

eh, yeah, shukran!

5 01 2009
Checkers

You look majesterrific with your horsies. Happy 2009!

6 01 2009
Aafke

Hee, Checkers, the prettiest Corgi ever, Happy 2009 to you too! πŸ˜€

6 01 2009
RhondaL

Ah, thank you. Your beautiful photos and artwork (both paintings and saddles) have made my day. Thanks again for doing the tag with me.

6 01 2009
Aafke

Rhonda; a horsey tag is no difficult chore!!! πŸ˜€
Thanks for tagging me!

6 01 2009
susieofarabia

Waw! You look lovely with the loves of your life. Love your paintings too! Wait til Captain Kabob sees this!!!

6 01 2009
susieofarabia

Forgot to mention the awesome saddle photos too – Waw!!!

6 01 2009
Safiyyah

How lovely, Masha Allah! I especially love the last picture. I love the way both of you have your hair swept across your faces. Thanks for sharing these.

6 01 2009
Marahm

Thanks for these lovely photos of you and the Tarq! You are beautiful, and so is Tarq! You look happy, and of course you must be happy, because anyone who loves horses is always happy in their company.

6 01 2009
always in the kitchen

How Lucky you are! The only time I ever got to ride was summer camp…….

6 01 2009
Achelois

Very interesting!

6 01 2009
Achelois

And I DEMAND that you update your blog!

6 01 2009
Achelois

Oh and BTW, you look gorgeous in that last photo. You have beautiful features, mashallah.

You know Arabian horses and beautiful women remind me – I once asked a local woman why there are so many Arabs in KSA, UAE and Kuwait marrying white women and she showed me photos of original Bedouins and then said they marry white women for two reasons: to have beautiful future generations; and to have “Western blood”! And to be honest the Arabs in GCC countries are a LOT better looking than 30 years ago. They have fine features, are taller and slimmer, and have this amazing kind of grace which lacked previous generations. Those Arabs who can’t afford to marry Western women (they are high maintenance!) marry Syrians, Lebanese and Iranians which, the woman told me, are always treated as second option and may not always produce blonde and blue-eyed children.

Just today I saw this couple, white woman and African looking Bedouin man and their coffee-cream kid had a head full of tight curls – completely blonde – very cute.

6 01 2009
Aafke

Achelois, Uh, huh???? I’ve just updated?
Oooh, you mean you’r tag! I’m working on that right now!!!

Susie, πŸ™‚

Safiyyah, that’s my favorite photo of my horse and me!

Marahm, I am always feeling happy, or at least a lot better when I’m with my horse πŸ™‚

Always, I was lucky in that my mother also rode, at a ridingschool, and as a three year old I was allowed to sit on her horse after the lesson. Those two years until I was allowed to start taking lessons were looong though….
And I was allowed to start a year earlier because I was so tall!

6 01 2009
Aafke

Achelois, so they don’t marry for love and companionship? More an experiment in Eugenics? No wonder there are so many unhappy wives around in the middle east!

Silly Achelois! πŸ™‚ Arab horses: yes! Please! Arab men: No, Thank you! :mrgreen:
They are too apt to be liars in my experience. And too good at it.
(With apologies to Nader, Saudi in US and Khalid, exeptions to the rule)

Hmmmm, as colour is dominant, chances to get a blue eyed child out of a couple one of which is dark is extremely small.

But of course I’m very tall and graceful. πŸ˜‰ :mrgreen:

Oh, and I don’t like blonde men at all. But I will not be prejudiced in my search for a dreamrabbit. πŸ˜‰

6 01 2009
Achelois

They marry for love and companionship but they find it in Western women πŸ˜€ Eugenics produces beautiful results!

You are tall and you are graceful, my friend. That is the truth.

I don’t like blonde men either. I love tall men though and if a tall man is blonde I will still ogle πŸ˜€

6 01 2009
Aafke

So you don’t cast down you eyes modestly???????????
Abandoned woman!
Ye Gods!!!!!!!!!!

You might like to meet my brother :mrgreen: he is even taller than me, and very handsome! With darkbrown hair. Which tends to curl if he let’s it grow too long. It’s really a bit unfair… He also has great muscles!
And he’s very clever, (but don’t tell him I said so, he is also very smug!)

6 01 2009
Umm Ibrahim

Beautiful post; love the saddle… you made that yourself?? Wow!

As for the eugenics issue… I have 5 kids and not one of them has blonde hair/blue eyes even though I am blue-eyed so if that was ever hubby’s motive for marrying me he made a huge mistake! πŸ˜†

What I don’t understand is that he has brown eyes, I have blue eyes and all 5 children have brown eyes. His brother and wife are both brown-eyed yet 2 out of 3 of their kids have blue eyes! πŸ˜•

6 01 2009
Aafke

Umm Ibrahim, The gene for colour is usually dominant, so the chance of blue eyed children is very small if one of the parents have brown eyes. However, as far as I know, genes can skip a generation, and has done so in the case of blue eyes. So for your bil and his wife to have blue eyed children is possible, but very unusal! But it can happen. How very interesting!
You might like to check this:
http://www.thetech.org/genetics/ask.php?id=2

6 01 2009
wildstorm

I just love that saddle!!! These are awesome photos.

6 01 2009
Aafke

Thank you! I thought you’d like it! The saddle is much darker now, I have used it and the Tarq has landed in the water with it. 😦
Also the Tarq has become much broader, so I have the saddle at home to take apart and adjust the tree.

7 01 2009
Lofter

Just remember… you asked for it! LOL! πŸ˜€

7 01 2009
Lat

Awesome pics! You look fantastic with the last one.Your face against his! Just love it! I can’t say this enough, he’s so coool!

7 01 2009
Lat

And forgot to add, poooor blonde guys!
Wish a reaaally pretty good dreamrabbit comes along to prove you wrong!

7 01 2009
Haleem

You look beautiful! Very royal.

7 01 2009
Marahm

Two brown eyed parents can produce a blue eyed child if each of them carry the gene for blue eyes. Each parent has two genes, and each contributes one gene to the child. If the brown eyed parents’ second gene is for blue eyes– remember, brown is dominant, which means that if a parent has one gene for brown and one gene for blue, that parent will be brown eyed– the child has 1 in 4 chance of getting blue eyes.

So, if this couple has four children, three of them will be brown eyed and one will be bue eyed–statistically. Each child (brown or blue eyed) has a 1 in 4 chance of carrying a blue eye gene, which could, in turn, be contributed to that child’s child.

This is the reasoning behind the “skip a generation” theory. Actually, blue eyes could skip several generations, but eventually show up, provided that all the parents in-between carried the blue eye gene and passed it on.

7 01 2009
His Sweetheart

I love horses 😦

I really wish I can live in farm like you 😦

7 01 2009
Achelois

Umm Ibrahim, My MIL is blonde hair, white and has green eyes. None of her kids has light hair/skin or green eyes. None of her grandchildren has green eyes although out of her 6 grandchildren only two (2 out of 3 of my children) has light hair and relatively fair skin which is perhaps because I have brown hair.

An old man I knew had green eyes. All of his four children had green eyes. One of them is married to a woman who has green eyes (both her parents have green eyes) and this man has 6 children and all have black eyes!

Blue eyes is a recessive gene so it is quite rare for children to have blue eyes if one parent has blue eyes and quite common for the gene to skip.

Ah! So disappointing! I only married my husband because I wanted my children to have green eyes πŸ˜€

7 01 2009
Aafke

Ah Lofter!!! Thanks for doing the tag, and, Well Done!!!

Lat thank you! That last one is my favorite one! ”Me and my horse”!

Haleem, thank you πŸ™‚

Marahm, there are a lot more variables to infuence the 1/4 chance, the link I posted to UmmIbrahim is really interesting in explaining it, you might enjoy it! I love it when somebody explains genes in an understandable way for me. For you it must be a piece of cake.

His sweetheart, unfortunately I don’t live on a farm 😦 I live in a city, and my horse is stabled at a farm in a village to the south. It’s a great place and I’m happy to have found it, my horse is very well off there. However, I have to drive there (at least I can drive πŸ˜‰ ) or its over an hour on the bycicle….

But then I am there! And that place is a little bit mine as well because my horse lives there. πŸ™‚

Achelois, according to that link, the genetics for green eyes are still more complicated, actually they don’t even exactely know where green/grey eyes come from…
My father called my eyes granite-coloured-greyish-green. πŸ˜‰

8 01 2009
susanne430

Lovely pictures. I agree with Haleem – ROYAL was the word that came to mind when I saw these pictures. Princess Aafke? Queen Aafke? Which do you prefer?

Btw, how tall are you?

Your horses are beautiful, too. Thanks for sharing all this, Your Majesty with the granite-colored-greyish-green eyes. πŸ™‚

8 01 2009
Aafke

Susanne430, Sorry, it’s only Aafke: personal assistant, caretaker, stable-out-mucker, food provider, coat brusher, personal trainer, entertainment officer, hoofcleaner, masseuse….
But I treat those I love royally! πŸ™‚ And you only have to love me for me to love you back ❀

I am 1.78 m what’s that in those weird stone-age English measurements? 5 foot something? Nearly 6 foot? (Big feet!)

8 01 2009
Chiara

5’10” (five foot ten inches). Just like my sister. Can you manage 5 cm more to hit 6′ or are all growth spurts over LOL πŸ™‚

8 01 2009
Aafke

Sorry, defenitely past growing stage….
But I like wearing high heels!!!!

8 01 2009
Chiara

Jusr realized I hadn’t already commented on what a beautiful post this is, with fabulous photos and great narration! Queen Aafke indeed πŸ™‚

8 01 2009
susanne430

Wow, you ARE quite tall! I wish I were tall like that.

12 01 2009
Tee

Holaaaaaa!

Beautiful paintings, beautiful saddle, beautiful horses, beautiful YOU!

12 01 2009
Aafke

Susanne430, 5 foot 10 is not really tall when you are in the Netherlands, more a tallish medium.
Chiara πŸ™‚

Tee, πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

