Merry Christmas!

24 12 2008

merry-christmas

From the vesper of Hildegard von Bingen:

Spiritus Sanctus, the second Antiphone and Psalm 110/111
Admiring the height of God´s Creation, praising him, thanking him.

Also as an illustration of my opinion on how music is from the devil trying to distract us from God, a bizarre opinion shared by deluded blind witch hunters, both in christianity and Islam.
While in Christianity this discussion was held many centuries ago, it is still alive and thriving in Islam, as we can read in the comments bandied about on this post from American Bedu.

Actions

Information

17 responses

24 12 2008
susanne430

Ah, I don’t see how Christians could ever have thought music distracted them from God! Did they never read their own Scriptures? It’s full of singing praises to God — even dancing! (horrors! LOL!)

Very nice post. I also enjoyed seeing your tree in a previous post. The bird decorations are quite charming!

Hope you have a very Merry Christmas, Aafke!

24 12 2008
wildstorm

Merry Christmas!

24 12 2008
Aafke

Susanne, oh yes, one pope was very close to condemning music, and that would have meant to Bach, no Mozart, no pop-music nothing!

Merry christmas!

Wildstorm, Merry Christmas!

24 12 2008
Saudi in US

Happy Holidays

25 12 2008
Abu Sinan

Von Bingen. I LOVE her stuff. I dont care for male chant, but I love her stuff.

25 12 2008
Achelois

Merry Christmas Aafke!

25 12 2008
Specs

Have a great Christmas.

I LOVE the picture you put up..its more representative of Christmas than a tree or something. 🙂

25 12 2008
Achelois

I visited Carol’s blog and I want to say so much except I don’t want to argue with people who have closed their minds. I hope she makes some beautiful music on her piano.

25 12 2008
Aafke

Saudi in US, Thank you!

Specs, Oops, put up a tree as well!

Achelois: Yes indeed, there is rather too much jibberish on that topic, and too many unpleasant vibes.
Let’s hope Carol will find her piano soon! :0

26 12 2008
Khalid

Merry Christmas belatedly Aafke ! Hope you had a very merry and gay Christmas :). I’m sending you my regards from sweet home (Sweet KSA) 🙂

26 12 2008
Aafke

Khalid, Salaam, it’s still second Christmas day, so you are still on time! I’ve had some good times 🙂 And I’m very glad to recieve your wishes.

And I’m eating chocolate right now 😉

26 12 2008
Tee

Merry Christmas Aafke!

I hope you enjoyed your time!
xoxo

26 12 2008
Lynn

Merry Christmas! The 26th is the BEST day. We get to sit around playing with all our new toys and eating cookies!

26 12 2008
Aafke

Lynn, yeah, the day where you feast relaxed, on all the leftovers, watch mushy romantic movies on television, and get to enjoy plaing with your presents! 😀

26 12 2008
Aafke

AbuSinan, knowing (and appreciating) Hildegard von Bingen is like a lithmus-test for meaningful, worthy, aquaintances!!!

I prefer women’s voices too for gregorian chant!

26 12 2008
outcastrebelchic

I actually thought you made that in the picture….
Merry Christmas!

26 12 2008
Aafke

outcast rebelchic, I´m not quite sure what you mean, The video? It´s from you-tube, the miniature nativity set is mine but I only made the shed, out of bits of cardboard and twigs I found in the park.
Actually I made a smashing one out of papier-maché, but that is somewhere in storage… I used to make new figures every year.

Leave a Reply

