New meme!

6 12 2008

”The most depressing song of all time, which we still love to hear”

Post a video and the lyrics (if applicable) of your most loved, most depressive song of all time, and tag three victims to do the same.
Here’s mine: Fade to black by Metallica, solace from my early childhood

Fade To Black

Life it seems, will fade away
Drifting further every day
Getting lost within myself
Nothing matters no one else
I have lost the will to live
Simply nothing more to give
There is nothing more for me
Need the end to set me free

Things are not what they used to be
Missing one inside of me
Deathly lost, this can’t be real
Cannot stand this hell I feel
Emptiness is filing me
To the point of agony
Growing darkness taking dawn
I was me, but now He’s gone

No one but me can save myself, but it’s too late
Now I can’t think, think why I should even try
Yesterday seems as though it never existed
Death Greets me warm, now I will just say good-bye

I hereby tag the following three bloggers:
Fairuza, for it was she who thought this one up
Lofter, because he has very nice music and poems on his blog
Susie of Arabia, but she can post captain Kabob’s choice too, I am curious to hear either
Tony just because he’s back!

And for those who do not like heavy metal too much, beautiful and melancholy, Pink Floyd:

And if you want a really peacuful song, Loreena McKennit

And now my charms are all o’erthrown
And what strength I have’s mine own
Which is most faint; now t’is true
I must be here confined by you

But release me from my bands
With the help of your good hands
Gentle breath of yours my sails
Must fill, or else my project fails,
Which was to please.
Which was to please.
Now I want spirits to enforce, art to enchant
And my ending is despair,
Unless I be relieved by prayer

Which pierces so that it assaults
Mercy itself and frees all faults
As you from crimes would pardon’d be
Let your indulgence set me free.

Actions

Information

21 responses

6 12 2008
fairuza

LOL

This is so funny because when I was out and about today I was thinking of making up this meme on my own! What fun! I love songs that drip with depression and self-pity (what else would you expect from a former Goth). Oh, I just can’t wait! You made my day. Except, I cannot chose just one! I simply MUST do a top 5….bawwahahaha!

6 12 2008
Aafke

Ah, yes, I keep adding to my collection here too! ๐Ÿ˜€
Excellent Meme Fairuza!
The more depressing and self-pitying a song, the better I feel! :mrgreen:
At the moment I feel very Loreena McKennit…

6 12 2008
Haleem

Nice meme. Maybe I should do it with some desi songs lol.

6 12 2008
Haleem

PS. how are you feeling now?

6 12 2008
The Most Depressing Song Ever…. « Oy, Habibti….

[…] Most Depressing Song Ever…. ย It seems that Clouddragon(which is a blog that I stalk on a consistent basis) has been a little depressed lately.ย  Inspired […]

6 12 2008
Aafke

Yeah, Haleem, consider yourself tagged! :mrgreen:
That would be interesting!

6 12 2008
Dennis the Vizsla

My current most all-time favorite depressing song and video is “Broken” by Seether (the version with Amy Lee). I played it one time when Tucker was having one of his trembling fits and it actually made my wife cry. (Sorry, hon.)

6 12 2008
Aafke

Hi Dennis, oooh, don’t know that one, must look it up!

6 12 2008
Tony

I have posted my Depressing song. It doesn’t seem depressing at first but if you listen carefully it is….

– you tagged 4, you better take some extra curricular math lessons

6 12 2008
Tony

Oh I just thought of another one & added it in too, a Johnny Cash classic

6 12 2008
Aafke

Duuhhh, I can only count to three! ๐Ÿ˜€
Going to visit your (current) blog now! ๐Ÿ˜€

6 12 2008
wildstorm

Hummm, good choice.

6 12 2008
Saudi in US

Hi Aafke,

Billy Joel writes the most depressing songs in my book. Especially this one:

However, no one has it worse than this little guy ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/bunny

7 12 2008
Aafke

Wildstorm, thank you

Saudi in US, yeah, that Billy Joel-song got me very depressed, but not in a cheerful way, when I was very young…

Yeah, and thanks for that second one… I didn’t know it (fantastic animation!!!) but very apposite. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
What do you mean ”nobody has it worse than this little guy”???
Do you know who is the model for that little guy???
Shall be on my list next time

7 12 2008
Saudi in US

ok, ur asking a personal question.
I was in Saudi for 3 weeks after all ๐Ÿ™‚

7 12 2008
Aafke

hum…
some people live out their whole life in Saudi…
And I know from experience one doesn’t have to be actually literally inside saudi to be suffering some of the same hardships…

7 12 2008
Rhysz

I see your depressing shit, and I raise you………..

7 12 2008
Aafke

Thank you for your support, and subtile choice of words.
Urgh! You know my preferences in music so well!

8 12 2008
Rhysz

Hey Dennis,

I actually like the Seether song and at first listenning I found it a rather hopefull song. It’s more of a song that should inspire one to better one’s self. I’ll submit my most depressing song here now:

Most…..Depressing…..Song……Ever!
But that’s a story for another day.

Regards,
Rhysz

8 12 2008
Rhysz

P.S.

Talk about depressing, you can’t miss anything by Nick Cave….

Here’s a little taste,

9 12 2008
Aafke

yeah, thanks Rhyzs, vรฉry depressive…

Leave a Reply

