American Presidents….

28 10 2008

You know, everybody, I’m not really so much anti-McCain, I am anti-republican. I really have no idea what he would be doing when president. He is quite opportunistic when the need arises, but then, does a politician have a choice?  Thing is, I’m not quite sure what he stands for. And I think there is always a possibillity that if he did become president, a real McCain would stand up… And wouldn’t that make for interesting times?
But I have serious problems with gov. Palin: absolutely unsuitable as VP.
Ooohhh, just hearing that voice as she yaps about her earrings from her MIL ”who is of eskimo descent”…. She hurts the tender tissues inside my ears…
never mind the delicate tissue of my brain!

And what’s all the bull-*^#’ about ”patriotism”? Patriotism is a grossly outdated nineteenth century concept! Wake up! We are in the twenty-first century, we have a global economy: that means we sink or swim together!
There is no possibillity anymore of putting ”your own” first, it will rebound on you before you can say ”foreclosure” or ”Global recession”. Trade and commerce has made a bond between all people on the planet, like it or not, it is fact. Deal with it and look further than the artificial boundaries of your own particular country!
Don’t forget: Not only do we swim or sink together, we also prosper together. Now this might be a difficult concept for those who follow the ”all for me, nothing for you” doctrine, but in the long run prosperity breeds prosperity.

I have doubts about Obama too. Especially when he is already depicted (literally) as ”the second coming”.
And I think Americans are nutters.
And I think there are greater evil powers at work too….
Will anything really change? I would like America to stand up against evil and torture, instead of doing it themselves while re-writing the dictionary.

I’d like America to make a stand against Israel, and acknowledge they are illegally usurping Palestinian land, and building a stupid wall every bit as evil as the former iron curtain in Europe!
I want to see an American president who can look further than the boundaries of America. Who can look beyond personal gain for Americans only, who would reverse the devaluation of the concept of personal freedom America has been practising with their ”Patriot act” and which they are exporting to other countries, yes, and that means the Netherlands too! (wish our politicians had a bit more backbone)

Actions

Information

9 responses

28 10 2008
Marahm

Patriotism may be an outdated concept, as you suggest. However, the events of 9/11 and its aftermath inspired a patriotism here we haven’t seen in decades. On that day, there wasn’t a single American who didn’t want to put up the highest, thickest walls of separation.

Cooperation and compromise for the good of all means nothing without security, and freedom from the fear of 9/11 ever happening again.

Trade and commerce has indeed created a global economy, as can be seen in recent weeks, with the American stock market crash galloping throughout the world. The causes of the crash are not about artificial boundaries, but about what has been happening in America, with respect to credit, overspending, and the growing disparity between CEO salaries and those of lowly medical technologists (like me!).

I do agree with you wholehearted on Palin. McCain’s choice of her for VP was enough to make me lose faith in his abilities to govern the nation.

28 10 2008
Nevis

Very wise post.

28 10 2008
misspecs

“I would like America to stand up against evil and torture, instead of doing it themselves while re-writing the dictionary.”

Well put, Aafke.

28 10 2008
Aafke

Marahm, you are right, there’s patriotism, and patriotism, the kind of patriotism shown after 9/11 was quite impressive and heart-warming. You always make sure I need to think about my blunt statements.
And I fully agree on how ridiculously CEO’s salaries are rising!

Nevis, misspecs, thanks 🙂

28 10 2008
Achelois

Clever post! Aafke, I really hate Palin. Her perpetual smile kills me.

28 10 2008
Shahrzad

How America stands against Israel? Leaders of America have to pass the Zionist tests before coming on power. Zionists control all america. And that’s America which has made Israel as wild, bloodthirsty and rude as u see now.

Removing Zionism from America just does not happen.. Bcs America doesnt control Israel. That’s Israel which controls America!!

29 10 2008
susanne430

I agree with Shahrzad about the Zionists controlling America. The Israel lobby is one of the top 10 most influential lobbies, and they freely give to both parties. If anyone dares to stand up to them, they usually find themselves out of office the next election. I wish we could get rid of the lobbyists!!

I understand what you are saying about the world being global.. good point.
However, just call me old-fashioned because I am patriotic and I won’t apologize for that fact. I guess I am one of those “nutters.” 😀 Patriotism is just ingrained in me and it’s not easy to let go of. (It’s kind of like my Syrian friend being a proud “Arab nationalist,” I guess.)

Btw, are you a neo-pagan Muslim? I have been trying to figure that out since you quote a lot of Islamic stuff and I think you said you wear the niqab. Or maybe you were just teasing. I can’t always tell when you are kidding or when you are serious. In time, maybe I will learn about this mysterious Dutch lady.

Btw, my eyes are also bluish/greenish/grayish. I wonder if I get that from my Dutch ancestors…..hmmmm.

29 10 2008
Aafke

I’m not quite sure about what Zionists are but there is defenitely something going on in America, that’s why I’m wondering; does it really matter who’s going to win the elections? I don’t think Obama is going to change anything in the American-Isreali link.
I agree on the lobbying too! I find this all véry dodgy!
Just because I think as many people as possible should know this, I’m again posting this list of key US officials who hold Israeli citizenship in addition to American citizenship.

* Attorney General – Michael Mukasey
* Head of Homeland Security – Michael Chertoff
* Chairman Pentagon’s Defense Policy Board – Richard Perle
* Deputy Defense Secretary (Former) – Paul Wolfowitz
* Under Secretary of Defense – Douglas Feith
* National Security Council Advisor – Elliott Abrams
* Vice President Dick Cheney’s Chief of Staff (Former) – “Scooter” Libby
* White House Deputy Chief of Staff – Joshua Bolten
* Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs – Marc Grossman
* Director of Policy Planning at the State Department – Richard Haass
* U.S. Trade Representative (Cabinet-level Position) – Robert Zoellick
* Pentagon’s Defense Policy Board – James Schlesinger
* UN Representative (Former) – John Bolton
* Under Secretary for Arms Control – David Wurmser
* Pentagon’s Defense Policy Board – Eliot Cohen
* Senior Advisor to the President – Steve Goldsmith
* Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary – Christopher Gersten
* Assistant Secretary of State – Lincoln Bloomfield
* Deputy Assistant to the President – Jay Lefkowitz
* White House Political Director – Ken Melman
* National Security Study Group – Edward Luttwak
* Pentagon’s Defense Policy Board – Kenneth Adelman
* Defense Intelligence Agency Analyst (Former) – Lawrence Franklin
* National Security Council Advisor – Robert Satloff
* President Export-Import Bank U.S. – Mel Sembler
* Deputy Assistant Secretary, Administration for Children and Families – Christopher Gersten
* Assistant Secretary of Housing and Urban Development for Public Affairs – Mark Weinberger
* White House Speechwriter – David Frum
* White House Spokesman (Former) – Ari Fleischer
* Pentagon’s Defense Policy Board – Henry Kissinger
* Deputy Secretary of Commerce – Samuel Bodman
* Under Secretary of State for Management – Bonnie Cohen
* Director of Foreign Service Institute – Ruth Davis

To me this makes the weird American adoration of Israel a bit more clear…

Ah, well, this patriotism-stuff just doen’t do it for me. You can burn a dozen Dutch flags… fine, I’ll get the marshmallows…

You may have a point.. neo-pagan-muslim… Hmmmm 😀 According to the quiz, I was also a unitarian Universalist, or a universal Unitarian (never heard of it) and a Quaker!
Pagan suits me best I think.
I was interested in Islam, and found that looking up stuff on the internet helped a lot while I was reading the Quran, especially reading blogs by intelligent people like Sharzad and Achelois, and Darvish, very inspiring. And I’m still learning. I started blogging because I made a lot of comments on other peoples blogs, and I thought they deserved to know who I was.
On the whole I have problems with organised religion.

29 10 2008
susanne430

Oh, you need to find out about the Zionists. 😉

As for your list … “neoconservatives” come to mind. I didn’t realize much about their agenda until my Arab friend and I watched an online video concerning them. (I can find it for you if you want.) They are very much pro-Israel and they are the think tank that controls Bush from all that I can tell.

This is NOT my blog, but one I found while browsing one day. It had an interesting article about neocons. Here is one part of it.

http://snuffysmithsblog.blogspot.com/2008/09/new-and-revealing-study-of-influence-of.html

The author then points out that

“… what was an unnecessary, deleterious war from the standpoint of [“realists” in] the United States, did advance many Israeli interests, as those interests were envisioned by the Israeli right. America came to identify more closely with the position of Israel toward the Palestinians as it began to equate resistance to Israeli occupation with ‘terrorism.’ … Israel took advantage of the new American ‘anti-terrorist’ position. The ‘security wall’ built by the Sharon government on Palestinian land isolated the Palestinians and made their existence on the West Bank less viable than ever. For the first time, an American president put the United States on record as supporting Israel’s eventual annexation of parts of the West Bank. Obviously, Israel benefited for the very reason that the United States had become the belligerent enemy of Israel’s enemies. As such, America seriously weakened Israel’s foes at no cost to Israel. The war and occupation basically eliminated Iraq as a potential power. Instead of having a unified democratic government, as the Bush administration had predicted, Iraq was fragmenting into warring sectarian groups, in line with the original Likudnik goal.” [Pages 356-357]

Thanks for sharing about your religion. I thought you were a Muslim sometimes and then other times I thought, “naaaah.” 🙂 I appreciate your good-natured ways.

Leave a Reply

