Designer Abaya

12 10 2008

I have been busy lately… A very dear blogging friend (who had just had her birthday!) has been dreaming about the perfect abaya
One made from a suitable material for hot temperatures, pockets (!), a hood so as to eliminate the need of carrying a shayla around, some nice simple trim, easy buttons, wide at the bottom so you can take large steps, chinese collar… and a ”Hello Kitty” on the sleeve!
Hmm…. All quite do-able… just a bit of work πŸ˜€

The sketch

Collecting materials

The abaya finished!

Because it can get cold too in KSA, the abaya comes with a matching woolen wrap

According to the recipient it is a good fit too! So with any luck we’ll be seeing some nice photo’s of the abaya in it’s supposed home-land; Saudi Arabia!
That is of course if they can get made before the lady is arrested by the Commission for the Prevention of Virtue and the Propagation of Vice, who have been busy on a new project: ”Getting all haraam, fitnah-causing, attractive abayas off the streets and out of the shops”!!!!

Actions

Information

57 responses

12 10 2008
Umm Ibrahim

WOW! It’s gorgeous Aafke! You really are a woman of many talents!

12 10 2008
American Bedu

I am practicing all my karate kicks so those muttawa will not dare get near me. And stay tuned…a sequel to this post of yours my dear Aafke will soon be appearing on my own blog. You have no idea how special you (and Nader too) made my day!!!

Love & hugs – Carol

12 10 2008
Aafke

OK, so the abaya is made for Carol!
We’ll find out later if she’s going to be around for much longer…
Ummibrahim, thanks, I loved making it for Carol!

12 10 2008
tulip

I like the little kitty on the sleeve. How cute. I guess it makes up for not being able to walk real kitties around outside over there πŸ™‚

12 10 2008
Aafke

Tulip! I hadn’t realised, we talked this over since a long time! We thought a ”hello kitty” would be fun, but I didn’t realise it’s making it even worse!!!
Oooopppsss

12 10 2008
Saudi in US

Aafke,

You should be prepared to open a hop for designer Abbya’s. I think you have a new line of business here.

12 10 2008
Saudi in US

shop* not hop lol

12 10 2008
Aafke

LOL! Carol said the same!
No problem: Get your exclusive abaya from: Black Pearl Designer Abayas in the Netherlands!!!!
Unique designs and made to measure! Only natural cool fabrics! πŸ˜€
(start saving up: very expensive!) πŸ™„

12 10 2008
Shahrzad

Waw, you got talent. But hey, if you want to make something for me, i prefer those colorful traditional clothes of netherlands with a pair of wooden shoes πŸ˜€

13 10 2008
Maya

Omg that is so awesome! YOU ARE SO TALENTED!

It’s beautiful!

You DO need to open your own shop. Holy crap!

13 10 2008
Susie of Arabia

It’s so beautiful, Aafke! And you SEW too? Wow! I hope that Carol wears it in good health.
Why they don’t make abayas here with pockets, I just don’t know! I have asked and the only answer I was given was that the women carry purses…. soooo ???? I hate carrying a purse!

13 10 2008
fairuza

Oooh, oooh, ooooh! I want a designer Hello Kitty abaya too!

Except I would want the “punk” Hello Kitty that wears the boots, fishnets and leather skirt…have you seen her before? She’s a hoot!

If that wouldn’t piss off the Muttawa, I don’t know what would!

So get stitching! My Bday is in November! LOL!

13 10 2008
coolred38

oh heavens…soon as some long bearded and even longer winded muttawa see that idol of the Cat Goddess on your sleeve…you will be pulled over for pagan worship or some kind of heathen following…beware of the cat haters.

13 10 2008
coolred38

btw….it rocks!

13 10 2008
Marahm

Beautiful work, Aafke! Abaya material is slippery, flowing, and difficult to work with on the sewing machine. I used to sew my own clothes, but I never dared tackle an abaya. My compliments to you!

13 10 2008
misspecs

OMG, this is SO COOL! The Chinese collar idea is awesome! And so is the Hello Kitty on the arm…totally cool!

Why oh WHY did i not see this when I was in uni? I wore abayas and this would’ve been a hit!

Creative work, Aafke!

And lucky you, Carol!

13 10 2008
karachiwali

wow im impressed. its making me feel like start wearing an abaya

13 10 2008
Achelois

This is AMAZING! I am so impressed and so depressed that I am a total loser compared to you. Marry me, Aafke! I’ll become the proud owner of home-sewn abayas!

13 10 2008
American Bedu

I guess I won’t be anonymous anymore in KSA when I wear my Aafke designer abaya…all the bloggers will know its me!

13 10 2008
always in the kitchen

Omg! I need the pattern asap! I want to make one out of lightweight denim.That is so lovely!

13 10 2008
Aafke

Shaz: wooden shoes are easily managed!

Maya, I’ll make a website LOL!

Susie, I make most of my own clothes, I don’t do pockets in trousers because I’m too lazy, and I always stuff them, but I like very large pockets in my coats, and I make the extrastrong with two layers, and tripple sowing: I’ts sΓ³ irritating in brought coats that the pockets always get ruined so soon!

Marahm, but this isn’t such a material, one of the requirements was a suitable material! Not something synthetic!
I also have a very chique sowing machine, which has no problems with the most slippery or difficult fabrics!

Karawachi, welcome to my blog! It’s just a coat really, most of my coats look like this πŸ™‚

Achelois, how can you say so? You have a family, write teach, do summercourses, I feel a loser compared to you!
I think we both need a positivity shot!

Bedu, oooops!

Always in the kitchen, oops, I don’t have a pattern; I draw it directely on the fabric! It’s a simple princess-line pattern, with only one seam in the back, instead of the usual two, and the pockets are sewn into the first perincess-seam at the front. The (beautiful gold-real-metal) trim follows the seams, all seams are covered with tape inside, to finish it off, as it has no lining.

13 10 2008
always in the kitchen

Awesome! I’ve always sewn with paterns LOL!Not to sure how to draft one from scratch although princess seams look easy enough.Shukr just sold out of the one I’d been drooling over,sigh……
You should start a desighner pattern business aafke,it’s really beautiful!

13 10 2008
Rhysz

That thing really looks cool. There might be a market for this…….

Regards,
Rhysz

13 10 2008
Sumera

nice! πŸ˜€

13 10 2008
The Ruler

Oooh, I love the abaya. The hello kitty idea was so random, it’s amazing.

I also love the woolen wrap. It’s great πŸ˜€

13 10 2008
Aafke

Fairuza, it is strange but you comment appeared later. Ooooh, bad luck! I hate sewing! I only do it because I love designing my own clothes, and have clothes that actually fit!
It is very, very, rare that I go through the horrendous experience, and the extra years in purgatory due to cursing, for other people!
But I’d be happy to coach you!

Coolred38, yours wasn’t there earlier either! Yes, Carol has a lot of guts strutting around Riyad wearing this subversive and flirty garment!

Glad you all like it!

14 10 2008
Haleem

You have some talent!

Of course the Muttawa would find a cat on an abaya offensive and it is probably against some commandment of Islam they dreamt up…

but again, you have some diversity of talents!

14 10 2008
Specs

Haleem is SO right! That cat would be a symbol of.. *whisper* pets *shudder*

They’re HARA’AM! I thought you knew!

15 10 2008
Lofter

I’ve said it before, and I don’t mind saying it again… you, my dear friend, are simply amazing. *HUGS*

15 10 2008
Om Lujain

Lovely Abaya… but I am kinda confused as to what people are talking about. I have very very flashy 3baya’s and have yet to be stopped for wearing them (I live in RIyadh.. have been to all the major malls have passed the Haya wearing them… and have not been bothered for ‘flashy’ 3bayas).. I have been stopped a couple of times for not covering my face though- although I must add that my hair was showing in the front.. and I was wearing some make-up.. but never any problems with my flashy 3bayas. I think people are merely over exaggerating about the whole Haya (religious Police) scene…. perhaps 10 years ago it was that bad…

now in 2008 present time Riyadh, KSA, it truly is not as people are making it out to be.

Anyhoo… you do have a great talent… keep up the great work.

15 10 2008
Aafke

Om Lujain, we’re just kiddin’! Welcome to my blog! After all, there Γ re all these news-articles on the muttawa banning pets, and pulling women out of cars because they accuse them (falsely) for being not married to their husband.
Anyway, it seems to me it’s all up to chance and who you happen to run into πŸ™‚
Sooooo, you’re all into flashy abaya’s??? Describe them!
Carol wanted a simple one, so I’ve tried to restrain myself πŸ˜‰
Thanks for sharing your experiences.

17 10 2008
17 10 2008
Om Lujain

lol.. okik… πŸ˜€ I am not saying bad thigns don’t happen here… but its not the majority… a few news reportings can’t be shown to show the country in its totality. Each person is different.. I have met some truly annoying Haya’ folks that did not know the meaning of respect.. and I have met some that were very respectful. Its not their profession… its the character they were born with… kinda of like a bad cop amongst good ones.. πŸ˜‰

Anyway… I posted a picture of a 3baya I had made a while back… this is pretty toned down as compared to some of the other ones I have… But here it is as an example of what I mean when I say ‘Flashy’ 3bayas I am talking about… I have also seen ladies here with 3bayas that have pictures on the back.. lol.. I was in awe one day when i saw this lady with a picture of Marilyn Manroe on the back of her 3baya.. lol

http://lostinriyadh.blogspot.com/2008/07/2425-oo-yeah.html

anyhoo… lovely blog… πŸ™‚

17 10 2008
hissweetheart

Yeeeeeeeeeah, I have seen it at Carol’s blog and really liked it. It looks even nicer here!!

You ladies are one of the rarest true friendship cases I have ever seen πŸ™‚

17 10 2008
American Bedu

speaking of ‘flashy’ abayas I saw such a lovely and elegant abaya yesterday when I was at a local ladies spa. The owner was Saudi and it was basic black all over but fitted so yes, it did reveal her shapely figure. And the floor hem of the abaya was a ruffled flounce. The same ruffle was also around the sleeves and the neck. It was also black but seemed to be in a chiffon fabric (the ruffling). Very tres chic!

17 10 2008
Checkers

Hi, Aafke! Very cool seamstitchery!!!

18 10 2008
Susie of Arabia

I can’t believe you didn’t use a pattern and made it from “scratch!” You are amazing, my friend!!!

18 10 2008
Lat

It’s a beautifully designed abaya.I do wear abayas, I think?I remember reading some other names for it.Is more coming up? I can’t wait to see more.

19 10 2008
mappedoutthoughts

WOW mashallah sis I love that abaya ! I wish you were in the Uk I would visit you ! I would also want you to help me with drawing , i guess thats practice .

19 10 2008
Aafke

Om Lujain, That is a very nice abaya! Thanks for sharing. I think you are right, there seems to be something too abrupt in the manner the embroiderie finishes, it needs a ”finale” or perhaps breaking up the pattern and dissolving… Did you have it changed?

Hissweetheart: welcome to my blog, it’s so easy getting to be friends with such special warm people πŸ™‚

Bedu: those ruffles are very fashionable! I could have put ruffles onto yours? We’ll leave it for the next one!
πŸ˜€

Checkers: πŸ™‚

Susie: it’s not that difficult, I use very simple patterns.

Lat: welcome to my blog. πŸ™‚ Sometimes they are called jilbabs. This will be it for the time being, unless I’m going to visit Carol: then I will need to get one for myself.

mappedoutthoughts: welcome to my blog! I hope to make a visit to London soon…. πŸ™‚
Yes, I think drawing is mostly practise. And while a teacher can give you some hints, and help you along, it’s one of these things you basically teach yourself.
I love your avatar! Glamorous smile!

26 11 2008
Jana

Ok, I’m LOVING the Hello Kitty on the sleeve!!

26 11 2008
Aafke

Jana, welcome to my blog! πŸ™‚
The ”hello kitty” was Bedu’s own idea!

16 12 2008
Tagged Twice « Oy, Habibti….

[…] into the perceptions of Islam via a non-Muslim point of view.Β  Plus, she can sew custom-made abayas with Hello Kitty embroideredΒ on the sleeve.Β  I am thoroughly jealous.Β  Last but not least, I have been a long time […]

29 01 2009
umm abdullah

assalam alaikum i got to your blog by accident I was looking for some abaya models and i am quite shocked at all the comments regarding our brothers of the muttawa, some people even swearing, quote “Except I would want the β€œpunk” Hello Kitty that wears the boots, fishnets and leather skirt…have you seen her before? She’s a hoot! well that’s the nonsense talking but this: “If that wouldn’t piss off the Muttawa, I don’t know what would!” is ridiculous and subhanaAllah where is the shame of the sisters gone (if you are Muslim that is)if getting the muttawa makes you laugh and you consider that a past time well sorry but you have a real problem that you need to sort out,and if you consider been harassed by them for wearing an unapropriate hijab well sorry but once again you are the one with the problem not them they are only doing their job and alhamdullilah for their presence they do stop a lot of evil and crimes….the irony is,if any of you were to get in some kind of trouble let’s say you meet some slizzy dirty guy who tries to get a bit to close or even touch you up, well let me tell you that you would love having the brothers from the muttawa there safeguarding your honor and taking the sleeze bag away for a good doze of heating around the head!!!oh but no let’s been silly and make fun of the brothers who are only safeguarding what ALLAH commending us to do!

30 01 2009
Aafke

Alaikum wassalam, umm abdullah, welcome to my blog, I think hijab and veiling are a matter purely between a woman and God. Nobody else. not even the muttawa, can change a persons personal beliefs and intentions.
Everybody who visits my blog is welcome to express their views in a polite manner, I am very glad you took the time and trouble to share yours.

I am very ironic and do make jokes when I consider something weird or unreasonable, read my about page. It is my personal opinion that anything true and strong will never be hurt by a bit of fun and ridicule. I am sorry if such a stance in life upsets you, but there it is.

I welcome everybodies personal view, and I consider most of my visitors to be very intelligent, and some are very religious people. They may question some details, but they are also without subterfuge, and true and honest in their personal beliefs and honesty.
As to veiling, I do not believe that it is required by God, but that men like it so. If anybody feels the need to ”feel me up” I am perfectely capable to beat him up myself. I do not believe in being dependent onto other people for anything .
I can never forget that true niyah is what God sees, and what you will be judged on.

14 03 2009
theeasternjournalist

wooow Its great !! I love it !

14 03 2009
Aafke

theeasternjournalist, welcome to my blog! πŸ™‚

And glad you liked it πŸ™‚

30 09 2009
Hesty

i like so much abaya.

5 10 2009
Aafke

Hesty, thank you so much!
Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

5 10 2009
Aafke

Hesty, thank you so much!
Welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

20 12 2009
Yara Grant

That is a great pattern and great idea. I am soon going to be working on my first abaya. Inshallah, I am going to make one for my daughter first. You did a great job.

18 08 2010
Daisy

Aafke,
It seems you’ve lost a good business in the making by turning away from Islam! πŸ™‚

Perhaps you can go into designing stylish dresses for the fashionable Western women!

I like skirts very much, but am not a rich person. 😦

18 08 2010
Aafke-Art

It was fun making the abaya for Carol.
And I make coats like that for myself as well, only I call them coats.
I like skirts too, and have several, but never get around wearing them, trousers are so much more handy….

27 08 2010
ayu

how much money the abaya??
thank you

4 10 2011
muni

Jus lurrrrv ur abaya, n such gr8 attentn 2 detail.. At d mo I’m tryn 2 teach myself 2 sew an abaya so thnx 4 all d inspiration! πŸ™‚

6 01 2012
Hayley

Love the Abaya, I was actually looking for abaya patterns to see if there was a way to draw one up not using winifred aldrichs pattern book. I’m surprised at how much I would love to wear it. I’ve got a few abayas and tend to feel frumpy in them, although I have one with kimono sleeves that I adore, but even though I do a fashion course I find it hard to comprehend making simple abayas interesting since I suck at pattern (print) You’ve done really well. Love the sketch and I love the detail.

20 05 2013
Safiyyah Tahir

Assalaamu ‘alaykum..

I love this design maa shaa’ Allaah.. Hope to see more..

:

Leave a Reply

