Barbarian!

11 10 2008

Last evening me and some friends went to the ”Barbarian Night”!!! That loosely means black metal, with a viking, pagan, pirate flavor. Which means that even if there are singers with the bands, you still don’t know what’s it all about, because they are mostly grunting, growling, or using some obscure Scandinavian dialect. Except Alestorm, who are a ”pirate-metal” band, their songs were understandable. (and fun) M and F went primarily to see Alestorm.

The line-up was:

  • Swartsot
  • Alestorm
  • Hollenthon
  • TYR
  • and support-act

The support-act was a band from Portugal, and I really liked them, but I haven’t been able to find out the name!!!
Now as both M and F had been promising tall, handsome Scandinavian rockers, I had to remind them Portugal is not in Scandinavia, nor is Scotland (Alestorm) nor is Austria (Hollenthon). Now Swartsot are I think something Scandinavian, but they weren’t tall handsome vikings, more like very small trolls….
They drank a lot of beer though, during performing…

It is depressing to contemplate 5 Heavy Metal bands in a row, and none of the artists probably above 1 m. 65.
Sigh….
The singer of Hollenthon was definitely the juicy-est, mega cool muscles, πŸ˜€ And the music very good too. (F and M noticed he had even shaven his armpits!!!) (I’m not concentrating on those details) They looked very clean and their long hair looked beautiful and well groomed; I’m sure they use a lot of conditioner.
Still: I don’t like it when men they have nicer, longer hair than me! Not fair!
Performances according to me: The mystery support-act from Portugal was good! I enjoyed it very much, Swartsot was ok, Alestorm was good and a lot of fun! Hollenthon was very good, enjoyed that very much, TYR ehm, I thought was a bit boring….

The venue was very nice, the public was good, the bar was excellent: They actually had diet-coke and Ice-tea!!! Quite unique!, nice people behind the bar too: when I went to complain about my coke being flat, I immediately got a new one with a smile!

All in all, we had a wonderful evening, it was very late when we got home. (or very early)

Most embarrassing thing I did last night: I was enjoying the Hollenthon performance when F tapped my shoulder, and tried to scream something into my ear. (it’s very difficult to ”talk” during a metal concert) I got she and M wanted a photo made, ok, I only have a pathetic disposable camera, but I’ll try… There was just this bloke standing in front of them so I motioned him to move, he didn’t, but smiled, so I shoved him gently but firmly aside, and then my friends yelled in my ear that that was the singer of Alestorm, and they wanted a photo with HIM!!!!!!!
Aaaarrghhh!!!! How embarrassing can you get!!!! So I made another photo, and he moved away! I felt so bad! So rude! How intellectually challenged can you get before they lock you up???
There goes my chance of ever becoming a groupie!

I met him later, after the concert was over, and apologised, and explained that I was really very sorry, he was very nice, and didn’t mind at all, and he is a very nice sweet cute boy. And he signed our CD’s too! πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

23 responses

11 10 2008
Lofter

Hey, it’s OK if you shove the front man out of the way! LOL! I’m glad he turned out to be a nice guy about it… too often the metal bands in the US are more about how many people they can offend! (And they’re good at it, too!)
Sounds like you all had a wonderful time! Although, I must admit, I can’t picture a diet Coke at a metal concert… but maybe that’s just me! πŸ™‚

11 10 2008
Aafke

Exactely! As a non-alcohol drinker I am usually out of luck!

12 10 2008
Umm Ibrahim

He he he! That’s so funny you showing the singer out of the way! πŸ˜† Good thing he turned out to be cool about it; does that mean your friends got their photo after all?

12 10 2008
Umm Ibrahim

I mean ‘shoving’. πŸ™„

12 10 2008
Aafke

yeah, but it didn’t turn out well 😦
It’s a funny story now, but I was very unhappy when I realised how stupid and potentially rude I had been! My friends later said (in a break when we could talk again) he’s probably going to leave the band now after my rude behaviour! What’s the point?
I was very glad I could apologise, I’m Γ lways doing stupid things like this 😳

12 10 2008
Marahm

You probably amused him when he realized you didn’t know he was the singer. I’ll bet he laughed to himself. He won’t forget you!

12 10 2008
misspecs

Like Mahram said, he won’t forget you in a hurry now, LOL.

You did something totally specy-licious there… its usually I who makes social gaffes! πŸ™‚

12 10 2008
Aafke

Marahm, you always manage to find the sunny side of life!

Specs, Ah? Glad I’m not the only one!!! πŸ˜€

12 10 2008
MJK

Hehe, pity the pictures did not turn out well.

I was just thinking the pictures told a nice story. One of F and me and the frontman of Alestorm on the side where we all have a totally confused WTF??? look on our faces.

And then the next one where we actually posed with him.

12 10 2008
Aafke

Thuh!

12 10 2008
tulip

LOL. You can’t be faulted for this. It was dark and loud πŸ™‚

And in answer to your question “How intellectually challenged can you get before they lock you up???”

12 10 2008
tulip

I would say pretty damn challeneged as evidenced by american politics right now.

Sorry my comment got cut off

12 10 2008
Dragon

“nothing is created or destroyed” by drinking Diet-Coke at that sort of establishment, the matchmaker advises the virgin.

12 10 2008
Shahrzad

Ahhhhhhh, Aafke. You know what i want to say! πŸ˜€

12 10 2008
Aafke

Tulip: Welcome to my blog! you are so right! I feel much better now! πŸ™‚

Dragon, huh? create what? destroy what ❓

Shaz: Better not say it!!!! πŸ˜‰

13 10 2008
Achelois

How embarassing! Ouch. I’m never going to any concert with you πŸ˜€

13 10 2008
Aafke

Thuh!!!

13 10 2008
The Ruler

i’ve always had the pictures of vikings as small creatures. Like the seven dwarfs in Snow white. i dont understand how you expected them to be tall. lol πŸ˜€

13 10 2008
Aafke

No! Vikings are supposed to be tall! That means at least 6 foot!!!!

14 10 2008
MJK

Eh, of course Vikings are tall! They terrorized Europe for quite a while with their ships. A bunch of midgets would not be that scary, would they?

14 10 2008
Aafke

MJK, I thought the midget trolls were vΓ©ry scary!!!!!!
They also sported scary beards!!!

14 10 2008
MJK

But..but… it is nowhere recorded that people were so afraid of Vikings because they might bite you in the knee caps.
They are allways pictured as tall, blonde warriors.

When it said Scandinavian metal I kind of assumed it would be Vikings, I was rather dissapointed a different part of Scandavian mythology, the trolls, showed up…

14 10 2008
Aafke

Woehahahaaaaa! Kneecaps! different part of mythology! ROTFL!!!
I had a great time anyway!
πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

