Just a hint

23 08 2008

Suddenly people are aware that I’m nearing my birthday. It’s next week. I’m not too keen as I’m now getting very old, and am hopelessly behind in real age, as compared to chronological age.

So, I’m getting old, and I like Green&Black’s organic chocolate, with a slight penchant for milk. Green&Blacks Organic have such a high chocolate content that their milk is much better than other brand’s milk-chocolate.

It’s a great company! You can actually have chocolate sent to people, or give them a monthly subscription!
Green&Blacks is very expensive. Sigh….

I do not like coffee, I don’t drink alcohol, and I think ”Bon-bons”, eg filling chocolate with very sweet mushy stuff, is an adulteration of good chocolate.

My birthday is 30 August.

Anybody who can pop over next Saturday is welcome to my romantic birthday party! :)

Update:

American Bedu has written a post for my birthday!!!! Thank you! :D

Another Update:

Colloquielle shared this site, and these people do deliver to other countries!
Just a hint….
Maybe I will pass on an adres…..
To a select few……

Actions

Information

28 responses

23 08 2008
Specs

OMG, what’ve you done Aafke.. :(

I feel such a craving for chocolate right now! If they look as good as that, I’m glad i didn’t know that before; i would have spent more than 2 pounds per bar to get them!

@ monthly subscription, they are evil, mean people just being mean.. what an evil idea to put in a chocolate lover’s head!… i cannot resist it… *uff* got… to.. drag.. myself… away……from…the site…..

@Birthdays, well, “am hopelessly behind in real age, as compared to chronological age.” Join the club; so am i!!

23 08 2008
American Bedu

Ohhhhh….do you think they would deliver to Saudi Arabia or would this get confiscated for “inspection of Islamic content” and have to be sampled by the vicous muttawa?????

Happy happy upcoming birthday….I know you are younger than me so you can celebrate in any way you choose!!!

23 08 2008
Ab

Happy birthday

23 08 2008
Nader

Happy birthday, Aafke! I wish you a wonderful life, full of joy and success. Now that I’ve cruised around in your blog and seen some of your posts, I honestly think that you deserve the best! You wish to have some green and black? Give me your address and I will send you a bunch! :) I’m a chocolate addict myself and I know the effect chocolate has on people!
Remember, age is just a number, and your personality and inner beauty never ages!
Happy birthday again, and stay happy, cheerful and wonderful as you are now.
Nader,,

23 08 2008
Aafke

MissSpecs: uuhhh yeah, Tell me, they´re 2,39 Euro here…
I know! Ever since I found out about the subsription idea, it has been mulling in my head! On thing I must add, this chocolate is so good, and satisfying, that you will cut down to a third of your previous chocolate intake.

I have never believed in becoming a “grown up” anyway!

And boy, oh, boy, have I succeeded!

American Bedu: I am quite sure they would send out to KSA, And as soon as your subscription has become known, that the mutts will want to check it on Islamic content, and wether the content would be agreeable to the Islamic religious police stomach.

Ab, welcome to my blog and thank you!

Nader, also welcome to my blog and I may give you my adress, depends on how desparate for a chocolate fix I´m getting ;)
Thank you for the nice comment :D

I´m happy to see so many fellow chocoholics visiting!
We could start our own CA-group, except that I do not plan on getting clean anytime soon.

23 08 2008
jamesviscosi

So you’re saying that you want coffee-liquer-filled bon-bons for your birthday? ;-)

23 08 2008
Aafke

James, please do not let Dennis read out the blog posts to you!

24 08 2008
mairead

happy birthday :) or rather happy birthweek! fascinating fascinating discussion below, was away for a few days but just read the whole thing there. well done on being right ;) :)

24 08 2008
tina

Aafke,

Happy Birthday from one chocolate lover to another!!! Do they have this chocolate in the US? I really need to get some! On Saturday nights my husband goes to play cards with his friends but only on the condition that he bring me 2 BIG Hershey bars before he goes! One with almonds and one without! I’ve already finished the one with almonds while catching up on some of your recent posts! ; ) The other is calling my name from the kitchen! Hope you have a safe, happy, healthy birthday year and that you never grow up!!! ; )

24 08 2008
Tony

Now I need chocolate too…
There’s 1/2 a block in the fridge but it’s the wife’s, I gutsed all mine last week, maybe she wn’t notice just a bit missing….

P.S. I can’t believe that you STILL have me on your blogroll as “May be deleted anytime”
AS IF THAT WOULD HAPPEN!!!! :)

24 08 2008
Specs

Oh and, happy birthday.. i’m trying to get as near the date as i can! (yeah, that’s why i’m the last one to wish; muahahaha, oh I’ve been clever, eh? ;))

24 08 2008
Aafke

Mairead, Thank you and, thank you. :)

Tina, I don’t know, but you can order via the internet! :D Could be you might get it in the USA, but I know that chocolate for the USA is different as in Europe. Less cocoa and more sugar. Godiva sells different chocolate in the USA as in Europe. However I can’t imagine that of G&B. It is defenitely not very sweet.
Good deal with the hubby!
I promise never to grow up!

Tony, You CANNOT take your wife’s chocolate! That is absolutely ground for divorce!!!! :mrgreen: your blog will always be listed as “May be deleted anytime”, I just change the URL every time you’ve started a new one!!! :mrgreen:

Specs: not thàt clever: there are still 6 days to go! Somebody else might be even more clever! :D

24 08 2008
Haleem

You know, I never used to eat chocolates much before I got married – my wife is a big lover of chocolates so after marriage I got introduced… and am regretting it. She too, as I keep stealing her chocolates!

I still prefer the junk food of chocolates – Kit Kat!

Happy Birthday…

24 08 2008
American Bedu

Whenever I pass through Zurich I try to pop in to the old Sprenglie (sp?) store. I think it has the best chocolates (and truffles). I will also of course now luck for Green & Black too.

I just remembered something else Aafke…when I lived in Boston, the Meridian hotel would occasionally have a Saturday brunch featuring everything chocolate. Oh my gosh…it was a chocoholics dream!

24 08 2008
Umm Ibrahim

Oh Carol – don’t remind me of Sprungli chocolates (or Neuhaus) or I may start craving too! :lol: Thornton’s UK won’t deliver to hot climates and I guess it may be the same with G&B’s. :cry:

Happy birthday Aafke, have a wondeful day but no address = no G&B’s for you! ;)

25 08 2008
Aafke

Haleem, One day… one day… Mona is going to find out about your blog and all the horrible things you’ve been saying and have been doing. Stealing her chocolate will top the list!

Bedu; uuuhhhh….a chocolate brunch…..

Umm Ibrahim, You’ve hit the weak spot of my post! I can’t put my adress out on the internet! :( So nobody will be sending me chocolate! :( :( :(
Anyway, sniff, they only deliver in the UK! Boehoeeee, sniffff :( :( :(

25 08 2008
Colloquielle

:( I even checked to see if Amazon does Green & Black’s, because then you could set up a “WIshlist” and we could buy things from it for you, without seeing your address. Sadly, no luck :( However, in my experience (my birthday was a couple of weeks ago), you’ll wind up with enough chocolate on the day to last you for a while, anyway ;)

25 08 2008
Colloquielle

(Speaking of amazing chocolate – I love my Green & Black’s but earlier this year when my little cat, Annie, died, my friend, Tracy, sent me a huge box of chocolates from http://www.hotelchocolat.co.uk. I’ve visited their store in Manchester in the past and it’s UNBELIEVABLE!!!)

25 08 2008
Nevis

Nom…nom…nom…chocolate…

26 08 2008
Umm Ibrahim

Wanted to tell you the name of chocolate place here in Riyadh and have only just remembered the name Carol… Galler a Belgian choc company opened in Hayat Mall recently – their chocs are wonderful and no need to travel all the way to Belgium or Switzerland!

30 08 2008
Umm Ibrahim

HAPPY BIRTHDAY. :D

Gelukkige verjaardag… is that right?!

30 08 2008
Colloquielle

Happy birthday :)

30 08 2008
30th August « Shahrazad

[...] Aafke.. [...]

30 08 2008
Marahm

Happy Birthday, Aafke, and many more! May Allah bless you and enrich your life with all that is lovely and sweet. May Heaven descend to Earth, and require you to eat chocolate after every meal– or maybe instead of every meal! :)

30 08 2008
Umm Ibrahim

That has got to be the BEST birthday wish I ever read Marahm!

30 08 2008
31 08 2008
American Bedu

Okay…it’s the day after…we all must know…did you get your Green and Black????

Hugs,
Bedu

1 09 2008
Aafke

Thank you all very much for your birthday-wishes, Marahm, that is the most beautiful wish I ever had , Umm Ibrahim, yes, that was very good Dutch! Well done! :D
Saudi in US: onother Linguist! Thank you for the great card!
Bedu: no chocolate, but some great presents!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

