Iron Maiden

28 07 2008

Hurray! I’ve got my ticket for the Iron Maiden concert on the sixteenth!!!
I have loved Iron Maiden since I was sรณ high! And now there’s this concert right on my doorstep in Assen! ๐Ÿ˜€ And, even better: I am now a grown-up! with my own car! and I can just go, get my ticket, drive there, enjoy the concert and no worries about public transport etc, I can just get my car and drive back!!!!! Yihaaaaa!!!!!

Even if going alone to a heavy metal concert, I always have a good time and am never harassed. When I was at Metallica, all alone, two blokes from a group of men came towards me, (men in groups are the pits!) And I got all nervous…
”Are you alone?”
”Eeehh, yeah..?” (grr, what of it?)
”Well, we are going to get drinks, can we get you something? would you like a beer? some water? Would you like anything else?”
Sรณ cute, and no chatting up or bothering me!

The Dutch band, Within Temptation is going to play as well. I am so looking forward to it!!!
I am sure it’s going to be excellent!

Actions

Information

11 responses

28 07 2008
Marahm

The second two videos weren’t bad, but I couldn’t get through the first two– a bit too energetic for Grandma. I’m happy for you, that you can go and enjoy yourself.

I suppose I’ll have to post a music video or two on my blog, to keep up with you and the others! It shouldn’t be difficult because I love music, too. I was disappointed in people in the Kingdom who said that music was haram for Muslims.

The chanting of the Qur’an with tajweed is every bit as musical as any song.

28 07 2008
Aafke

Marahm, well, I cannot expect everybody to like my choice of music! ๐Ÿ™‚ In fact, the reason I have to go alone most of the time is that I don’t know anybody who wants to go with me!
Anyway, I’m pretty old myself, but I tend to forget it, and then be really surprised that I am, in fact, really old and should be a responsible grown-up!

I have a serious problem with people declaring music to be haraam. I cannot ever believe that anything beautiful (not nessecarily heavy metal) is frowned upon by God.
You should post a few links to good recitations; I have gotten some very nice ones from other blogs, but I lost my complete ”favorites-list” so have to start again. And another friend recently told me how special they can be, so I would really like a few links to good ones.

Anyway, I can’t do anything without music.
Do you know that there was a pope a couple of hundred years ago wanted to forbid all music? Because he had heard lewd songs being sung on the street. A group of young people from good families requested an audience and played some beautiful christian songs for him (I heard them; it is still known which ones they were) and he decided to let music be.

Can you imagine? To this group of young people we are indepted for Mozart, Bach, Sibelius, Mahler, and Iron Maiden.

28 07 2008
Shahrzad

I am not fan of Heavy Metals actually. I am fan of ancient classical and folk music. However i wish you enjoy it so much.. Do you go alone or you accepted that drink invitation? ๐Ÿ˜€

28 07 2008
misspecs

LOL, ditto Shehrzad

28 07 2008
Colloquielle

I missed the last Metallica concert over here, and tbh I’m kinda glad – I love live music but there are some kinds which I actually prefer to hear at a decibel where the music isn’t drowned out by over-worked amps, and metal is amongst it ๐Ÿ˜€ That said, there are times when a bit of Cradle of Filth does a lot to cheer a girl up ๐Ÿ˜€

Just booked tickets for my brother, his wife and I to go see Counting Crows at Christmas ๐Ÿ˜€ Every year we do something together, each buying our own ticket. Last year, my sister in law (knowing that my brother and I love Monty Python) booked us tickets for Spamalot, even though she doesn’t love them herself. And she got me into Counting Crows, so I suggested that for this year, as we all enjoy ’em ๐Ÿ˜€ One of our happy little traditions which I hope we continue when we all move home to Oz.

29 07 2008
Aafke

No ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t take the drinks-invitation! I’m far too shy!!!
I just like many different kinds of music.
And I’ll be wearing earplugs! The decibels are just defenitely too much foor me!

29 07 2008
Checkers

Iron Maiden rules! Cardigans like heavy metal-it’s a great way to get riled up. Rock out at the concert; I know you will have a super time.

30 07 2008
Tony

So what is a group of men called?
A flock of men?, no that’s sheep
a herd of men?, no that’s cattle
a mob of men?, no that’s kangaroos
a gaggle of men?, no that’s geese……

Here in Australia we’d probably say a bunch of Yobbo’s

30 07 2008
Aafke

I don’t know? Hmmm, I rather fancy the word ”gaggle”…..
Seems appropriate somehow……

4 08 2008
Saudi in US

Aafke,

Iron Maiden are great. I saw them in Detroit in 87. I am very surprised they are still playing. By the way I was not smart enough those days to wear earplugs.

I think you will have a great time!!!

4 08 2008
Aafke

Saudi in US, That was probably when I first heard of them ๐Ÿ™‚
They’re still making albums too!
I have always worn earplugs; my ears hurt very quickly with too many decibels.

Leave a Reply

