Cake

2 07 2008

My last post was my one-hundredth, so to celebrate:
The recipe for a very simple cake, which however has made my reputation as a super baking queen.
Easy to whip up in a moment for unsuspected visitors.

You need:

  • 4 eggs
  • 250 gram baking flour
  • 250 gram butter
  • 200gram sugar
  • a nice dash of lemon peel

warm butter so it’s very smooth (for those nΓ³t living in a scorching hot country), add the sugar and stir well! Add the eggs, stir well again! Slowly in small batches add the flower. If you want to do it really well you can sift it in the mixture using a sieve. (I am far to lazy for such finesse) (I don’t even use measurements; I just throw everything together until it looks right)
Add the lemon peel.
put your mixture into a nice pastry-mould, place it into the pre-heated oven (160 degrees Celsius) and don’t forget to place a dish of water in the bottom of the oven: this will keep the cake moist and succulent.
Bake for about 40 minutes. (That always very much depends on the quirkieness of your own oven)

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

15 responses

2 07 2008
Umm Ibrahim

Yummmm! Well you have seen some of the recipes on my blog so you must realise that I love to eat! πŸ˜† Interesting tip for putting a dish of water in the oven, will try that next time I bake a cake. πŸ™‚

2 07 2008
Aafke

Eating is great! You have to eat anyway, so why not make sure it’s really good and tasty! πŸ˜€

The dish of water is essential for everything you don’t want to dry out in the oven: bread, roast meat, casseroles, I have a special stainless steel dish for that.

2 07 2008
Marahm

Yes, the dish of water in the oven is a new idea for me. I’ll have to try it.

The cake recipe looks great. Reminds me of a muffin recipe I got from a British friend. The ingredients are nearly identical, except that she used a dash of nutmeg instead of the lemon and she drizzled over them rosewater mixed with powdered sugar.

2 07 2008
Shahrzad

Waw, Congrats.. It’s a very beautiful cake, mashallah.. πŸ˜€

I personally dont warm butter at first. I stir it untill it become very smooth. Then i separate yellow and white part of egg and stir each one very well separately.
I add suger to butter, and then i add the yellow part of egg to them and stir very well. Then i add vanila(or that lemon peel) and one glass milk or yoghurt and at last baking flour and again stir.
At the end, i add white part of egg (which i did stir before) and stir it in one direction very slowly to be mixed.
All of these tricks for having a softer spongy puffy cake.. πŸ˜›

2 07 2008
tina

Aafke,

Congrats on your 100th! Thanks for the recipe, can hardly wait to try it! I also have never heard of or tried the water trick but you can bet I will try it now! Is it easy to convert grams to cups?! ; )

2 07 2008
~W~

Congratulations on your 100th post! Your blog is one of my favorites. It is very intereating, creative and original.

Thanks for the recipe and the tip about the water dish in the oven πŸ™‚

2 07 2008
Checkers

Yum. Thanks, Aafke!! And you are so thoughtful to put a bowl of water in the over in case the cake gets thirsty. Brilliant!

2 07 2008
Aafke

Marahm: ah, the powdered suger with rosewater topping is mainly for birthdays! πŸ˜€

Shahrazad: of course you do it the gourmet way! That is called in Dutch ”moscovisch deeg” But I have no idea how to translate that! Too much fuss for me, only did it once or twice. besides, I rather like a mushy cake. But I will expect one if I’m going to visit you! What with visa’s being so much easier now…..
You are right, about the butter: it’s much better not to warm it, but I have no patience to wait for the butter to become soft. And I never have complaints about my cake πŸ˜€

Tina: No. Sorry, just try to translate them into those weird english measurements. πŸ˜€

~W~ Waw! Thank you! πŸ™‚

Checkers: yes, a non-thirsty cake tastes much better!

3 07 2008
Lofter

Hey, that looks pretty good! Of course, being a single guy, the only time I turn on my oven is to cook a frozen pizza. (And the only thing measured in grams over here is usually illegal!)
Even your cakes are artistic! πŸ˜€

3 07 2008
Aafke

Being a single guy is why you should be able to cook!
Do you realise that ”men who can cook” get extra points???

3 07 2008
Lofter

I don’t need extra points… I’M NOT MARRIED!! LOL!

3 07 2008
Shahrzad

Most of the time, they warm butter. I mean all do it. I took the idea of stiring from cooking a kind of Iranian cookies that we cook for nowruz. (you remember the foto of my cookies?) I tried to do it for cake and it really worked well. It was an invention to use it for cakes.. πŸ’‘ πŸ˜€

Anyway for cooking Iranian cuisines, you need to be very patient. Iranian recipes are very challenging. πŸ˜†

BTW, You can expect more than one cake if you come to iran. BIG financial disaster is also something international and will be over someday. Blv me. Read the news.. πŸ˜‰

lol, i know i’ll not complain about your FEMININE style of cooking . hehe :mrgreen:

3 07 2008
Aafke

Lofter, a single man is in more need of extra points than a married one…

Shahrzad: I remember the cookies! Didn’t know you made them yourself!
Oh, and you’re going to share recipes with us? If it’s that complicated it might not be my cup of tea. But then the Arabic food for Tarq’s birthday kept us busy for the a whole afternoon. Well, I suppose it keeps one off the street.

I know, I’m a bit slap-dash with cooking, but still very FEMININE!!!!!! 😳

3 07 2008
Achelois

I love you! I’m having this cake with chocolate topping. Chocolate is the best anti-depressant πŸ™‚

3 07 2008
Tony

Congratulations on your 1ooth post super baking queen
Looks yummy, I agree with Achelois chocolate topping is definitely the way to go πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

