The entry to my house

29 06 2008

Is a very small hall. Everything is fairly small.
As the only thing you do here is walk through it, I thought it an excellent opportunity to paint the ceiling. Neither would it matter very much if I painted the walls orange…
You can also see my 1930 hall-lamp, which is a genuine ”Amsterdam School” design. You can also see a few of my black coats on the coat rack. And a bit of my lovely nineteenth century mirror. With a garland of flowers and lights because I have such a kitschy taste.

Actions

Information

20 responses

29 06 2008
~W~

I’d feel excited and happy walking in your house to all this orange and mystical figures on the bright blue ceiling. Unique πŸ™‚

29 06 2008
Marahm

You know, now, you’ll have to show the rest of it!

I want to know especially what kind of floor is worthy of such walls and ceiling?

29 06 2008
jamesviscosi

That’s a gorgeous ceiling! And orange is my favorite color, too!

29 06 2008
Tony

Incredible…..
What else can I say but “INCREDIBLE!!!!!

30 06 2008
Colloquielle

Ohhh my God, I love it! I wish you’d come paint my place – my landlord would love it, too!

30 06 2008
delhi4cats

Aafke, you are so multi-talented. You are an artist, you make the childrens books, you sew, you paint your ceilings…you have so many choices and options. Have you considered interior design?

I love entering homes that are so unique where one cannot predict that “oh yea, it’s the traditional foyer, furniture placed in the traditional symmetrical way…”

30 06 2008
Aafke

Well, i would love to do interior design. I’m looking for a job, so i am documenting stuff I’ve done, and I will defenitely be looking into something like interior design too.

The floor is tiled with black and white tiles. All utility spaces have the same tiles: hall, bathroom, kitchen. It’s clean, neat and appropriate stylisically for a 30’s house. The sides of the hall have original creamy tiles with a black border. They were covered wit 5 layers of paint; a lot of work to get that off, but well worth the trouble. And very handy when you have a big, hairy, dirty, dog! πŸ˜€

I’ll be giving the tour of the house in the weeks to come.
My house is a bit stuffed; I’m a collector.
Sometimes I’m embarrassed and contemplate throwing everything out, and go minimal.
Some people I know have neat clean houses, three books on the bookshelves, and a two tasteful plants in the windowsill….

30 06 2008
Umm Ibrahim

Wow, you are very talented! So we have seen the loo and now the hall… what’s next?! :mrgreen:

30 06 2008
Shahrzad

What a wonderful place for a romantic meeting! πŸ˜€

30 06 2008
Aafke

UmmIbrahim: depends on which room is next in my ”Spring-cleaning-spree” πŸ˜€

Shahrzad: Hmmm, it’s sΓ³ small, any meeting is bound to be romantic!!!!!!
sigh…. if only some-one romantic would turn up….. 😦

30 06 2008
Achelois

You are a perfect woman. I have said that so many times. This is so beautiful. OK, Inshallah next year I am visting you whether or not you invite me πŸ™‚

Please invite me…

1 07 2008
Lofter

If you’re looking for work, I’ve got an entire house that use some of your inspiration! Unfortunately, I’m also broke… LOL! You truly are amazing, my friend! It’s beautiful!

1 07 2008
fairuza

Love the orange with the blue….great color scheme!!! Beautiful painting, just beautiful!

2 07 2008
Aafke

Achelois: but you Γ‘re invited! Always, anytime!

Lofter: all my friends are broke. I also work for food. (no mcDonalds)

Fairuza, Thank you. I was a bit doubtfull. the walls used to be a decent yellowy-creamy-colour. A bit boring I thought πŸ˜€ But I wondered if I wasn’t going too far here1

2 07 2008
tina

Aafke,

Great colors and wonderful art as always! Can hardly wait for you to show us more!

2 07 2008
Aafke

Tina: thank you! All in good time…

3 07 2008
Lofter

OK… if you’ll work for food, it’s a deal. And, since I don’t cook, that means I’d take you to the restaurant of your choice! So, as soon as Tony deletes his blog again, and you start digging for Tasmania, just hang a right and dig into Texas. You can give my house some personality, I can give you some (by that time) much needed nourishment, and we’ll both be happier people!

Well, except for Tony… (IF he deletes his blog again!) LOL!

3 07 2008
Aafke

Deal, Lofter!
And what a very good idea: Instead of killing Tony, I’ll go to Texas, and do something constructive!

16 07 2008
azlin

This is such an inspiration! I can’t paint to save my life but I could show this to a friend for an idea. She’s using my place an experiment.

16 07 2008
Aafke

Azlin: welcome to my blog πŸ™‚
COPYRIGHT! I’ll send you my bankaccount number πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

