I will love you forever

25 06 2008

Today the first ”oak wedding anniversary” ever in the Netherlands has been celebrated.

The happy couple met in Paris in 1928, they married the same year, and today have been married for 80 years. They are both 102 years old.
They lived on their own until they became 100 years old, and then they moved to a care home. At night the staff move their beds together so they can hold hands. When one of them leaves the room the other half becomes upset.
”They never stopped loving each other”, their 77 year old daughter said.

Actions

Information

20 responses

26 06 2008
Marahm

One can see by the expressions in their faces that they are full of love for each other and for life. They are blessed, as are those who have been fortunate enough to share life with them.

26 06 2008
~W~

Happy marriage= Longevity
A touching story πŸ™‚

26 06 2008
Colloquielle

Oh that’s lovely πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

26 06 2008
Shahrzad

Waw, so lovely. And what a lovely title for this post. You made me miss Shahryar.. 😦

HUGS..

26 06 2008
Aafke

Ah, yes, this makes us miss the ones we love so much…
πŸ™‚

27 06 2008
Lofter

That’s the way it’s supposed to be. Boy, have I ever screwed up. Thanks for showing me an example of those who did it right the first time! Good stuff! πŸ˜€

27 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter, It takes only one of the combination to screw up. Why should you be the one?

27 06 2008
Achelois

I am so weepy!

27 06 2008
Aafke

Achelois: in a good way I hope?

27 06 2008
Achelois

Yes πŸ™‚

27 06 2008
Aafke

Oh, good! πŸ˜€

27 06 2008
fairuza

This was so sweet.

I remember another very elderly couple who were asked the question about what was their secret to a lasting marriage, and they gave a poignant answer that I still rememeber 3 years later.

They said that the key was that they never fell out of love for each other at the same time.

That seemed like a very honest answer to me.

28 06 2008
Lofter

LOL! I’ve been married THREE times! I should’ve stopped after the first one!

28 06 2008
Umm Ibrahim

80 years together, wow! I didn’t even know what that anniversary would be called. |They really do look happy though – so sweet. πŸ™‚

29 06 2008
wildstorm

What a wonderful story!

29 06 2008
Tony

A shame so many marriages today aren’t as happy as this wonderful couple.

29 06 2008
tina

Aaaahhh! What a great story! I never would’ve guessed either of them to be 100 or more! They look much younger than that! I really like the part of their holding hands at night! ; )

29 06 2008
Aafke

Fairuza; i think that is a very wise truth you shared with us. It is natural that relationships have cicles and go trough ups and downs, and the important thing is not to give up on each other when you’re in a down-point. After all, there will be up-points again too!

Lofter, maybe you should have married someone else. What are your criteria for selecting a mate?

Glad you all enjoyed this; such enduring love is so inspiring!

14 07 2008
Viking Daughter

What a blessed couple to still have love for each other. She reminded me of my Grandmother. I love talking to older people, they are so wise and accepting of life.

Wait, I think I just described myself (checks calander) Yep, I am wise now.

14 07 2008
Aafke

Viking Daughter: wisdom is not really related to old age! πŸ˜‰
My own parents were such a happy couple.

Leave a Reply

