The Loo.

18 06 2008

This post is another desperate attempt to increase my blogstats. πŸ˜€
My bathroom is made out of a pathetic small loo, a built-in cupboard from the next room, and a mouldy shower cubicle. We pulled down all the walls, until there was one reasonable space left. The only problem was that there is no window, ”How depressing, like a tomb” I thought.
And then I thought: ”Great! I’ll make an Egyptian tomb out of it!”
I mean, if you have to spend time in a tomb, as we all eventually will, an Egyptian tomb is the most fun to spend it in.
And, after all, when as a child I had saturated my brain on dinosaurs, I moved on the Egypt. I love ancient Egypt.

What prompted this post is the new loo cover I have installed. It used to be black, but I have had my eye on this one for a long time: it is sΓ³ much more cheerful!

The wall above the loo

The mirror, it says: ”Look into aafke’s mirror, health, long life and happiness.

The wallpainting to the left, four musicians.
Why not party if you’re in eternity?

Actions

Information

29 responses

18 06 2008
Nevis

Love it! Did you do all the murals yourself? Very accurate and gorgeous…! You’re so talented!

18 06 2008
Aafke

Nevis! This must be the record for fast commenting! Yes, I did the murals myself πŸ˜€ Thank you for liking them!

18 06 2008
Umm Ibrahim

Wow! Fantastic! The kind of bathroom where you can really sit back and erm… enjoy doing your business! πŸ˜† (Sorry for lowering the tone πŸ˜€ )

18 06 2008
Aafke

No, no, Umm Ibrahim: that is exactely what this post is all about! πŸ˜€ Several of my friends consider it the best space in my house.

18 06 2008
Marahm

Aafe, you are incredible! If you keep on tempting us with your delightful home improvements, you’ll have to host a party for all of us–your blog siblings– to come and try things out ourselves!

18 06 2008
jimsmuse

I have been a lurker on your blog for quite some time, but finally had to break down and comment on this post — your bathroom is incredible!

Well done!

18 06 2008
Tony

Nice murals & are they dead goldfish entombed in the lid??? My loo seems so boring now….. 😦
With a see through lid it’s a good thing the toilet was flushed before the photo was taken (a bit more tone lowering) πŸ™‚

18 06 2008
Achelois

This is awesome. I could live in your loo forever! I LOVED it.

18 06 2008
Aafke

Marahm, I’ll slowly go through the whole guided tour! One room at a time! You’re welcome to pop by anytime!

jimsmuse: Welcome to my blog! Yes, post as diverse posts as possible, and eventually all the blurkers will come out! πŸ˜€
Thank you!

Tony: the see-through-lid is a great incentive to both flushing, and manic, excessive, sterilizing, germfree purification.

Achelois; Thanks πŸ™‚ but you haven’t seen the rest!

18 06 2008
Shahrzad

Haha, It’s SO wonderful. Esp Musicians in the Loo. lol Seems so comfortable place to be. πŸ˜€
Why didnt you show me before? I kill you..

19 06 2008
Aafke

Shaz! I didn’t know you wanted to see it?!?

19 06 2008
Irving

Wow, this is really beautiful :))) You could have a brilliant career in interior design πŸ™‚ I love the Egyptian motif πŸ™‚ You are a genius πŸ™‚

Ya Haqq!

19 06 2008
Checkers

That is so awesome! I have never seen anything like it!

19 06 2008
Colloquielle

:O This is AWESOME! I really love it! When we moved in, our landlord gave us free rein to paint whatever we wanted – which was good because our hallway? Was what I called the Ben & Jerry’s wall: one side was emerald green, and the other was white with black splodges – like the side of a hereford cow. It looked like an Irish dairy farmer had got drunk and got carried away. We just made it really sedate, though – all pale mushroom/wheat colour walls with pale trim and a chocolate “feature” wall in the living room. I’m just imagining what I could do with it if I had half your talent!

19 06 2008
wildstorm

Very interesting! I love this style.

19 06 2008
AbuSinan

I love the murals. I’d be afraid the Mummys were going to get me }:>)

19 06 2008
jamesviscosi

Love the bathroom decor! One of the instructors at our local Fred Astaire would love it too; she has Egyptian motif tattoos all over her back and arm (she appears to like the goddess Bast quite a lot).

19 06 2008
Haleem

I loved the Egyptian woman (or it is man? in the case I don’t love it lol). This bathroom is friggin awesome… one can imagine you having guests and then everyone taking longer than usual!

19 06 2008
~W~

You are brilliant. This is awesome. Why the hell can’t I think of something more creative to say?
Really loved it, especially being an Egyptian myself. You are brilliant . This is awesome. Oh, I already said that !

19 06 2008
Aafke

Gosh, friends, I’m really pleased and surprised you like it all so much!

Irving: It’s just a recreation mostly, I rather fancy myself as an interior designer πŸ˜€ I’ve been trying to get more jobs doing wallpaintings, but its very difficult.
Anyway: my current assignment Γ­s a large wallpainting; I’m doing the preliminary design right now!

Checkers: thank you! You can see quite a lot of this stuff in Egypt! πŸ˜†

Colloquielle: your colourscheme sounds a lot better than the previous one! Sheesh! If I had a large chocolate coloured ”feature” wall, I would perhaps paint a curly branch on it on one side in the same colour as the other walls. Anyway, you always want to be careful with wallpaintings in rooms you actually spend a lot of time in. πŸ™‚ My other painting is in my hall.

Wildstorm: thank you, I love your photo’s! and especially your horse!!!

AbuSinan: but there are no mummies in my bathroom! πŸ˜‰

James: What is a Fred Astaire? Aside from the actor? I prefer imagex on the wall, instead of my skin. But I would love to learn tattooing and do it on other people.

Haleem; pfff they’re Γ ll women! For one thing, they have breasts! I’m not going to explain this to you, ask Mona. Or have a good look.
oooh, thΓ t’s why everybody takes such a long time!?!? Never thought about it!

~W~: Never mind, it is the right thing to say! You are Egyptian? how exciting! I was all nuts about ancient Egypt when I was a teenager! Still am of course.
And I’m very insecure about my work; 4Γ— brilliant and awsome is just what I need! πŸ˜€

20 06 2008
Lofter

Wow… that’s what’s been wrong with me for all these years! I needed a more cheerful seat in my loo! πŸ˜€
Seriously, what an dazzling feat of decorating! As I’ve said so many times before, my friend… you never cease to amaze me! Now I wish you’d come to Texas so you could decorate the loft for me!

20 06 2008
Sumera

Whoaaa funky loo. I could sit in there all day (and on the actual loo) πŸ˜€

20 06 2008
Lofter

Of course, if someone were to actually create a “masterpiece”… well, I suppose flushing could be optional for a little while, yes?

21 06 2008
tina

Aafke,

You are so talented! I love this, it’s great! ; )

21 06 2008
Solace

I love your bathroom! It is so unique:-)

22 06 2008
delhi4cats

Regardless of the size, I’ve always been an advocate that the loo should be welcoming and attractive. I’ve always taken it as a challenge to put together a loo that makes a guest come out from with a smile on their face.

Yours is great!

22 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter; excellent, one day I will come!

Sumera: yes, It’s a big problem.. after a while I just start knocking on the door and tell them to come out.
However.. The rest of my house is quite amusing too πŸ˜€

Lofter! Down! You’re getting Tony’ish!!!

Tina: thanks! πŸ™‚

Solace, welcome to my blog!

Delhi: I fully agree! After all you spend a lot of timie in the nbathroom, and there are times when you need to get distracted a bit. πŸ™‚
The same goes for the kitchen: don’t you spend a few hours in there almost every day? A kitchen should be both functional and a pleasant place to be.
My kitchen is also very small….

22 06 2008
always in the kitchen

WOW!!!!!Please come decorate my house!

22 06 2008
Aafke

Hi, Always in the kitchen, welcome to my blog!
Hmmm, especially the kitchen? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

