Terrorist-Scarf-Scandal

31 05 2008

Visitor Colloquielle, brought this great piece of important world-news to my attention:
Terrorism is spreading like wildfire! Now even tv-chefs have been found out to be perfidious terrorists! If only we didn’t have the successful ”War against Terror” where would we be? Sinister tv-chefs supporting Al Qaida would be sprouting everywhere! Giving out disturbing recipes on how to create bombs out of household supplies!!!
(Oh, no! not necessarily: everything is already out on the internet and being experimented with by kids)
(If kids nowadays are anything like me when I was a kid)

In a commercial for Dunkin’ Donuts, the well known chef Rachel Ray was spotted wearing, what might look like, a keffiyeh, thereby proclaiming her affiance to Arab terrorism! Needless to say this shocking example of terrorist propagandist commercial was taken of the air immediately when mentally challenged concerned viewers spotted the explosively offending fashion accessory.

The bbc reports.

What the bozo’s who make our world so much safer apparently don’t know, is that aforementioned piece of cloth has been a fashionable accessory in ”the West” for more than two decades. At least in Europe.
there are three different reasons why people from around here hang one around their necks:

  1. silly people do it because it’s fashionable
  2. people who are still ”punk” wear it because they consider it anarchistic
  3. people who are sick of the way the media portray Palestinians wear it to proclaim their support to the Palestinian people for the unfair treatment they are suffering, while not necessarily actually in training to become terrorists

I’m sorry to disappoint the ever alert Heroic War-Against-Terror-Fighters, but there is no reason 4. Real terrorists do not proclaim their intentions by wearing easily recognisable accessories, or buttons: I’m going to blow y’all up, Al Quaida rules, Please note: my next suicide-bomb-attempt will be next monday City-hall, 16.00
(OK, that would be one of those very large buttons)

What can I say? I myself have a ”terrorist” kaffiyeh somewhere (reason 3) but haven’t seen it for a long time, otherwise I would have been delighted to photograph myself as a Dutch-clog-wearing-muslim-terrorist.
And be careful buying those Dunkin’ Donuts: explosive stuff!!!
Obviously, as the insidious neck-wear was chosen by a muslim-terrorist-stylist (trained in Afganistan) the innocent miss Ray was wearing it for reason 1.
The Villanous deceptive stylist has been carted off to Quantanamo-bay, to be humanely extremely tortured questioned, and undoubtedly something will come out of that, torture, extreme questioning having that effect, while the evil-minded miss Ray is tremulously awaiting her faith.

Update:

Broken Mystic has posted on the Terrorist Scarf Scandal as well, you can read his take here

Actions

Information

51 responses

31 05 2008
Lofter

I don’t own a kaffiyeh, but I think I’ll buy one now… and a dozen glazed! Idiots! ๐Ÿ˜€

31 05 2008
Aafke

Snort!!!
remember your waist-line!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

31 05 2008
Lofter

How the hell could I forget it! (I can just barely see my feet!) LOL!

31 05 2008
Aafke

SNORT!!!

1 06 2008
Rhysz

It’s not even a keffiyeh. It’s a paisley pattern that looks like a keffiyeh.

1 06 2008
tina

Aafke,

LOL! You are sooo funny! You just made my night!!! I saw this story when I signed on to AOL the other day. The head line said something like Rachel Ray ad cancelled by Dunkin’ Donuts for wearing terrorist attire! Normally I just by-pass stuff like that but I just had to know what it was she was wearing so I clicked to read and see. My guess was she was wearing an abaya or a hijab. When I saw the pic I was like ok where is the terrorist attire?! I continued to read on and I was like oh my goodness you’ve got to be kidding me!!! The scarf??!!! Whatever!!! Anyway there was a vote you could take to see if Dunkin’ Donuts and the rest of the world had lost their marbles over this “scarf”. Sure enough 9% agreed it should be pulled and the other 91% voted that they were crazy and had too much time on their hands!!

1 06 2008
Aafke

Rhysz, but it looks quite convincing like a keffiyeh. Never mind, it’s the insane responses it triggered that count.
๐Ÿ˜€
Tina: Actually quite a relief to find that 91% still got their marbles, but the percentage should be upped.

1 06 2008
susie of arabia

I’m going to buy dozens of keffiyehs to take to my terrorist American friends for my upcoming visit to the US and then invite them all to accompany me down to the local Dunkin Donuts Shop. I wonder if we’ll be banned from getting in – or what kind of reaction we’ll get!
I loved your post – you are so clever!

1 06 2008
Aafke

Woehaha! make sure you post on that one Susie!
And send me one!

1 06 2008
delhi4cats

What would we do without the media and sensationalism reporting????

1 06 2008
Sumera

I’ve one i’ve had for years – its a fashion thing these days. Everyones wearing one!

1 06 2008
Aafke

Delhi: I would then actually have to think deep to make up interesting posts!

Sumera: Yep! we are all possible terrorists!!!

1 06 2008
Shahrzad

Some time ago this Keffiyeh was a kind of fashion in Iran too. Girls used to wear it as a scarf and tie it in the back of their neck..

1 06 2008
Achelois

People drape them on the neck supports of their car seats here. It is just something that is always in fashion (but cannot be on TV)!

1 06 2008
Aafke

You see? long standing fashion accessory! Just the blighted Americans haven’t got it yet!

1 06 2008
Tony

But what’s hidden in the coffee cup???
A WMD perhaps????
A scarf is definitely dangerous, she could strangle someone with it.
Ronald McDonald doesn’t wear a scarf, he doesn’t need to he just kills all the infidels with cholesterol ๐Ÿ™‚
But seriously though, how much more stupid can this world get. I feel so sorry for the Muslim people that have to put up with all this small minded garbage

1 06 2008
Colloquielle

Like you could actually buy a keffiyeh in the US! The whole story just made me go, “Whaa?!” America, this is the kind of thing that makes the rest of the world think you’re nuts.

Figured you’d love the story, though ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 06 2008
~W~

It is strange that the commercial was taken off air, as keffiyeh seems to be a popular fashion accessory. My son who goes to college in the States told me it is very popular among college girls.

2 06 2008
Aafke

Tony, the coffe-cup contains dangerous explosives, and not hidden at all. The fashion amongst terrorists currently is to advertise on tv!

L.A.T.T.E. : Laughably Arabian Threatening Terrorist Explosive

Colloquielle: yep, great instance of the world being run by total nutters!

~W~ : its completely insane, first because it’s really just a black and white scarf, not even a real keffiyeh, and what is the world coming to? Everybody (including me) going off about how overreacting the muslims are because one unknown cartoonist makes a not so funny cartoon depicting the prophet (a cartoon which would have remained completely unknown to the world if the muslim-nutters hadn’t done such a great job promoting it’s worldwide distribution)
But as soon as a couple of insignificant racist bigotted intellectually degraded American bloggers make a noise about a silly scarf a whole commercial should be banned? It’s just a coffee and donut commercial for pete’s sake!
And what if the lady had worn a keffiyeh? Who cares? Yeah, obviously the mentally deranged, but that is such an insignificantly small minority.
And even if you agree to have a microscopic minority rule the world, is it wise to choose the utter nutcases for the ones do so? Aren’t there better and more intelligent candidates? Like me?

2 06 2008
tina

Aafke,

I’d vote for you! ; )

2 06 2008
Aafke

One vote is in, 9 billion to go for World domination…

2 06 2008
Colloquielle

I don’t think “voting” is part of the equation with total world domination, but if you need a press officer I totally wanna be CJ Cregg off the West Wing if I ever grow up ๐Ÿ™‚

2 06 2008
Checkers

Hi Aafke! Terrorists are hiding in donuts and Rachel Ray’s clothes?! Wow!

2 06 2008
Aafke

Colloquielle: Anybody who is a real ”grown-up” will be utterly banned from my legislation!!!

Checkers: Don’t worry dear, I’ll see to it that you will get the donuts without terrorists ๐Ÿ˜€

2 06 2008
Checkers

Phew! I’m relieved. Thanks, Aafke.

3 06 2008
Lofter

Now I’m just interested in seeing you get Rachel out of her clothes! LOL! ๐Ÿ˜€

3 06 2008
Rhysz

Growing up isn’t some kind of merit badge. It’s a debillatating, genetic disease. Guys, if you want to find me just take the second star on the left and go on till morning. (Sorry Aafke, I know you hate the book. Still, I love that part)

3 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter! behave!

Rhysz: Best description of growing up I ever read! I’m keeping that one for future use! I don’t like the book, but that doesn’t mean you can’t use a good quote out of it. Not that it is appasite: you are far ahead of pathetic Peter pan.

3 06 2008
Tony

Ya gottta admit she is extremely cute…
Yay I’m back on the blogroll but if you visit my blog you’ll see you hafta change it now…..
I’ll just go & prepare for strangulation ๐Ÿ™‚

3 06 2008
Haleem

This could just be a distraction to how unhealthy Dunking Donuts really is!

3 06 2008
Colloquielle

Rhysz! Did you know the name “Wendy” was invented by JM Barrie in that book? It’s short for “Fwiendy”. Random trivia ftw!

I’m sorry to hear you hate the book, Aafke – I’ll try not to hold it against you ๐Ÿ˜‰

xoxo

3 06 2008
Colloquielle
4 06 2008
jonolan

My response to the idiots who rant about the keffiya being a symbol of Palestinian terrorism I normally respond two ways:

1) “In Palestine they call that scarf a hatta, so try to get the name correct for the people you’re ranting about.” – They just love that response ๐Ÿ˜‰

2) Go google for images of Petty Officer 2nd Class Daniel Dietz, USN SEAL – http://www.charmaineyoest.com/uploads/Dietz_danny_navy_seal_weapon_yoest.jpg – who wore a keffiya most days on duty in Afghanistan.

He died in the line of duty with many other SpecOps personnel when their mission to capture a Taliban leader was accidentally compromised by Afghan civilians.

5 06 2008
Aafke

Tony…… what can I say…… I’m feeling numb………….

Haleem: personal experience?

Colloquielle: Love those random trivia! Keep ’em coming!
It’s an evil book and no child of mine will ever get to read it. Nor the Hans Anderson tales. Bloody child torturor!

Yep, that was funny!

Jonolan: Great responses!

Nice to have intelligent people here, makes my blog look so much more intellectual.

5 06 2008
Lofter

SchWEEEEEEET! I actually got included as an ‘intelligent’ person! If all my ex-wives could see me now! LOL! ๐Ÿ˜€

5 06 2008
Rhysz

It’s Andersen

5 06 2008
Lofter

LOL! Rhysz… are you being picky? We just call him Hans… ๐Ÿ˜€

5 06 2008
Tony

“May be deleted any time”…
Surely not????

5 06 2008
Colloquielle

We call him Hans Christian Andersen over our way! I dunno why. I really liked some of his stories. Karen and her little red dancing shoes scared the crap out of me, though…

5 06 2008
Rhysz

@ Lofter
I never miss an opurtunity to correct Aafke. Trust me, it’s a day-filling activity. Actually, our whole department is quite busy.

@Colloquille
Some of his stories are quite mean. Although I hold ‘The Little Match Girl’ in a special place. There is something quite beautifull in the story.

Regards,

Rhysz

5 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter: Let the poor boy be… he gets so few opportunities…
I bet your ex-wifes write to ”Dear Abby” all the time!

And yes, Rhysz, honey, lil’ brother dear, that’s ”opportunity” not ”opurtunity” sweety.

I’ll have to post on why H C Andersen is a mental child abuser.

Yes, Tony, I’m trying to stay prepared!!!!!

6 06 2008
Lofter

LOL! Nah… all of my ex-wives were outstanding when it came to telling someone else what to do (primarily, me!), but they weren’t too much into taking advice (or anything else) from others.

Yeah… I’m a terrible judge of women. That’s why I’m staying single – and sane!

6 06 2008
Rhysz

BAH! don’t bother me with trivial things like ‘spelling”. Rhysz eats little kittens, spelling is merely an appatizer.

6 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter, but you like me! What better proof of excellent taste can there be? And you like Queensryche!
I rest my case…

Rhysz: sure sweety…….

7 06 2008
Lofter

Yeah… you know I love ya! But we have the benefit of an entire ocean between us, which is the key to a happy and long-lasting relationship! ๐Ÿ˜€

7 06 2008
Colloquielle

Rhysz! All this time and you can’t spell Colloquielle? I’m offended ๐Ÿ˜›

That’s “appetizer”, btw ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m off home to Australia for a few weeks tomorrow but I might be around a bit if I can find your blog from Dad’s computer! If not – I’ll be back when I get back to the UK ๐Ÿ™‚

7 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter: distance feeds the heart ๐Ÿ˜€

Colloquielle: hรจ, hรจ, hรจ,
Even though I’m not on the search engines my blog has been spotted by people googling clouddragon, somewhere at the bottom of the page.
My sister found me googling ”Aafke Rabhar”

7 06 2008
Colloquielle

Bwahahaha I’ll bear that in mind ๐Ÿ˜€

8 06 2008
Lofter

LOL! Like I need more feeding… is that a fat joke?

9 06 2008
Aafke

Lofter: It’s meant Spiritually!

10 06 2008
Lofter

OK… is that a spiritual fat joke? (LOL!)

Leave a Reply

