Hijab in Holland: Epilogue: wooden shoes

25 05 2008

Pffff Okeee, okeee, I’ll just quickly explain about the mysterious wooden shoes….
Pfffffff. I sรณ didn’t want to go into the tulips and clogs-thing.

Wooden shoes, or clogs have been made for centuries. In french they are called ”sabots” Typically they were worn by farmers and working class people. When the french workers in the cloth industry were replaced by machines, they threw their wooden sabots into the machines destroying the mechanisms. This is where the word ”Sabotage” came from.

Anyway, I can’t deny that wooden shoes were widely worn for daily work. And they have a point, apparently they are healthy for the feet, they are warm in winter, and you can have many horses stand on your feet without being bothered with it. They hurt your instep (they did mine) but I suppose you’d get used to it. And I always knocked them against the bones of my ankles wich is very painful.

So a couple of women in workclothes and clogs for you.


Painting clogs is fashionable nowadays

Anything goes!

For an encore: I found this cute couple

PS: blogstats have been very satisfactory! ๐Ÿ˜€

Actions

Information

18 responses

26 05 2008
Marahm

The wooden clogs have a popular counterpart here in America. Dansko, the Danish shoe company, makes a clog that looks like an updated version of ypur traditional wooden one. They are made with extremely hard soles and leather uppers, like wood, or concrete, actually. Many people love them, especially peope who have to be on their feet all day.

My sister came wearing a pair, and I fell in love with them. I bought myself a pair immediately, but could not get used to them. My feet ached and ached. The more I wore them, the more my feet ached until I couldn’t walk.

So, no more wooden clogs for me. I still like the look of them.

Tulips are beautiful, too. We have a small bed of tulips that bloom for a few weeks in spring. Unfortunately, they don’t last. Maybe they live longer in the Netherlands.

26 05 2008
Achelois

When I was little my dad’s friend brought me clogs from Holland. He also got me clogs key ring, and a pendant. I LOVED them all and so wanted to buy my daughter clogs but the new Crocs look very similar and are comfy ๐Ÿ™‚

26 05 2008
Colloquielle

I don’t think I could stand wearing wooden shoes! My feet get rubbed so badly in my ordinary little leather ballet pumps, so I don’t think wood (splinters!) would be terribly fun!

Thrilled to discover the origin of the word “sabotage” – I love geeky trivia like that. Watch me bust that one out at the pub one Friday night and earn quizzical stares from my colleagues ๐Ÿ˜‰ Dad built us a sabot to sail in when I was a kid, but in Australia a sabot is a small boat, nothing you wear on your feet!

26 05 2008
jahandost

Great, I suppose th dutch got there first. ๐Ÿ™‚

26 05 2008
Aafke

Marahm: the Danish clogs are very popular here too. I had a pair as a kid and couldn’t deal with them either.

Achelois, very easy to buy clogs here! ๐Ÿ˜€

C: We are all geeks together here!

Jahandost: I think it was the early Greek who were the first into the covering-thing.

26 05 2008
~W~

I have a pair on my side table decorated with tulips, that my son got when he was in Amsterdam. I love Tulips. I visited Istanbul April last year and they were everywhere. They made life beautiful.

PS: blog posts have been very wonderful! ๐Ÿ˜€

26 05 2008
Lofter

Ah, yes… clogs. The single, most famous fashion accessory of the Netherlands! While I’ve never actually worn a pair, I’ve always been fascinated by them, wondering how the craftsman was able to create a pair that fit just right. How do you carve inside the toe of a shoe? Surely there are special tools for that purpose. And (as Colloquielle said) how to smooth the inside surface to prevent splinters? Of course, I’m assuming the shoes are of one piece… which may be an entirely incorrect assumption!
Out of curiosity… did you randomly find a pair of clogs with a crescent and star, or did you happen to paint those yourself? ๐Ÿ˜€

26 05 2008
Aafke

~W~ Thank you, Tulips first came to The Netherlands from Turkey, and were imported to Holland where they coused a major craze and finacial crash in the seventeenth century. Originally they are Chinese flowers.

Lofter, they are made using special cuved knives to scoop out the inside. They do not always fit perfectely. They are made from soft woods; poplar or willow. after being carved and dried the wood becomes hard.
The head of the ”American Bald Eagle” is carved out of a discarded piece of ”klompen” wood a Clog-maker gave me.

26 05 2008
Shahrzad

Waw, wawwww, its soooooo nice. I really loved to try clogs when i was child. Its all in nice cartoons of childhood about girls in meadow, the time there was not crazy devil cartoons like today.

But we dont have these in Iran. I think now i have the same eagerness to have them. Ahem- OK Aafke. Now you know what you will bring me as gift, when you come to Iran.. Bring me clogs.. RED.. ๐Ÿ˜€

Doesnt they hust feet?

26 05 2008
Shahrzad

dont*

26 05 2008
Shahrzad

I meant if it hurts the side of feet and make balls under big toes?

hey i found this page of clogs on Wiki. There is even wedding clogs here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clog_(shoe)

26 05 2008
Aafke

What’s your shoe-size? ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh, yes: they hurt! for me especially on the instep, miy instep is high and the clogs I’ve worn were to low.
Not that all dutch wear clogs all the time!!!!!

27 05 2008
Susie of Arabia

Hi Aafke –
I must commend you on these recent posts about the native dress of Holland! The photos you have found are so terrific and the information you have provided is just so very interesting. I loved wearing my clogs back a few decades ago when they were really “in.” Back then I wore them for fashion’s sake, but now I’m afraid I am much more into comfort. Even my daughter who was maybe 2 or 3 at the time had a red patent leather pair. Thanks so much!

27 05 2008
Haleem

i wud like to visit holland sometimes – it looks nice!

27 05 2008
Aafke

Duuuhh, Haleem, you mean the girls??? You are married now!!!! Behave!!!!

27 05 2008
Tasmaniac

Looks like they were the working man’s forerunner to steel cap boots.
The decorative artwork is really beautiful.
‘Cos they look like little boats can you walk on water????

27 05 2008
Sumera

I tried clogs once. Feet ached like mad.

27 05 2008
Aafke

Tasman: check the next post.

Sumera: I’m there with you! They defenitely take getting used to!

Leave a Reply

