The Dark Night of the Soul

24 04 2008

Another song by Loreena mcKennitt, very sufi/zen/metaphysic/deep/whatever: Enjoy!!!

The clip is some weird Japanese Manga, but the quality of the sound is very good, and it is quite difficult to find original clips of this artist. It is actually a very beautiful manga, and does go with the song. Do read the lyric, and the bit Loreena McKennitt wrote in the CD-booklet. (she always has very beautiful booklets!)

Upon a darkened night
the flame of love was burning in my breast
And by a lantern bright
I fled my house while all in quiet rest
Shrouded by the night
and by the secret stair I quickly fled
The veil concealed my eyes
while all within lay quiet as the dead

Oh night thou was my guide
oh night more loving than the rising sun
Oh night that joined the lover
to the beloved one
transforming each of them into the other
Upon that misty night
in secrecy, beyond such mortal sight
Without a guide or light
than that which burned so deeply in my heart
That fire t’was led me on
and shone more bright than of the midday sun
To where he waited still
it was a place where no one else could come

Within my pounding heart
which kept itself entirely for him
He fell into his sleep
beneath the cedars all my love I gave
And by the fortress walls
the wind would brush his hair against his brow
And with its smoothest hand
caressed my every sense it would allow

I lost myself to him
and laid my face upon my lovers breast
And care and grief grew dim
as in the mornings mist became the light
There they dimmed amongst the lilies fair
There they dimmed amongst the lilies fair
There they dimmed amongst the lilies fair


Loreena writes in the CD booklet about this song:

loreen-mckennitt.gif May, 1993 – Stratford … have been reading through the poetry of 15th century Spain, and I find myself drawn to one by the mystic writer and visionary St. John of the Cross; the untitled work is an exquisite, richly metaphoric love poem between himself and his god. It could pass as a love poem between any two at any time … His approach seems more akin to early Islamic or Judaic works in its more direct route to communication to his god … I have gone over three different translations of the poem, and am struck by how much a translation can alter our interpretation. Am reminded that most holy scriptures come to us in translation, resulting in a diversity of views.

Music by Loreena McKennitt

Actions

Information

11 responses

24 04 2008
AbuSinan

Her music is really good. As it so happens her song “Sacred Shabbat” is playing on my iPOD as I type this.

24 04 2008
Rhysz

The images in the clip Aafke posted are from the succesfull videogame series Final Fantasy. Aafke introduced me to Loreena some years ago. I think she was my second most copied CD a couple of years ago. All my friends wanted to have the CD. Thanks for making me popular Aafke!

Regards,

Rhysz

24 04 2008
Nevis

Beautiful! But I particularly enjoyed the graphics. SO hard to imagine that’s animation. You know?

24 04 2008
Aafke

AbuSinan: What do you mean, you’re listening to your I-pod when I’m offering you music???????

Rhysz: Aha, So I’m making you popular and it has taken you THIS LONG to tell me about it???????

Nevis: in another couple of years our chances of becomeing film stars are defenitely over!

24 04 2008
Rhysz

@Aafke
I was protecting you, didn’t wan’t your head to grow GINORMOUS! ^^

24 04 2008
Aafke

Rhysz: It is time you recognize I am Sร“ very different from you!

24 04 2008
Rhysz

Aye you we’re built in the ‘evil Federation’ universe.

Regards,

Rhysz

25 04 2008
Achelois

Beautiful! Thanks for sharing this

25 04 2008
Aafke

Glad you enjoyed it Achelois! ๐Ÿ™‚

27 04 2008
Amina

thanks to you just now I’ve discovered her…really nice, m downloading her album ๐Ÿ™‚

27 04 2008
Aafke

I am sรณ glad you like it! All her albums are worthwhile Amina! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

