Domestication

12 04 2008

This, my dear readers, is the image which will greet you when you enter my house. I am not dull, so guess what…

I am useless at housekeeping. I am never finished with my work, and housekeeping comes third after Work, and Pets. And with my recent injury I have been incapable of performing some household duties anyway. Although there is very little I can’t do now, I’m seriously behindhand.

I do love a neat, clean house, so if the mess disturbs you; I will be only too happy to show you where I keep my impressive array of seldom used cleaning appliances and materials.

I have, in a burst of enthusiasm, brought this great book on housekeeping. It is written by a mother and daughter team, Marja and Liny, who are Paragons of Perfection. I find that very depressing, but I want to improve myself, so I got the book anyway. They have a television show where they help people get out of the mess and show us many handy, clever, and old fashioned household tricks. My biggest fear is that they show up on my doorstep! I have already tried their trick of cleaning silver cutlery and it worked great!

Actions

Information

19 responses

12 04 2008
Shahrzad

Hey, when i come hollands, i help you to make your house bright and perfect. But for now stick to that book and share with us here! πŸ˜€

12 04 2008
Lofter

LOL… I guess I’m the only one left who actually makes his bed anymore. Perhaps I really am dull, and have just been fooling myself all this time!
Silver cutlery? Why? I guess a dull person like me has to wonder why people spend money on unnecessary extravagances… sort of like having a platinum toilet seat, isn’t it? The stainless steel stuff works just as well, lasts just as long, and if it’s stolen… well, you get my point. Plastic is even better, if you’re trying to keep a clean place. Paper plates and plastic forks are super… you use ’em, then just toss them in the trash! Job well done! πŸ˜€

13 04 2008
Aafke

Lofter! I can’t believe this disregard for the environment, and wasting earth’s resources!!!
I have silver cutlery because as you need cutlery anyway, why not have nice cutlery? All my spoons, knives and forks are brought singly, and are all different designs, and are antiques, and were cheaper than buying new stainless steele stuff.
I prefer eating with chopsticks anyway
I’ll update tomorrow with a photograph of a nice selection. It is dark now.

Shahrzad: when you come i will have spend a week cleaning, so we can have fun instead!

13 04 2008
Marahm

I agree with you, Aafke. Even if disposble utensils would be recyclable, they are not nice to look at or ues. As long as one must use cutlery, one may as well use pretty cutlery. That goes for all kinds of things in life, no?

13 04 2008
Lofter

What can I say… I’m a guy. Such things are unavoidable for me.

13 04 2008
Susie of Arabia

I’m so glad to see you are in better spirits, even if your abode is a little messy. BTW, I too HATE cleaning – uggghhh! We have so much in common. I am thinking of you …

13 04 2008
Umm Ibrahim

I love a tidy house but not to the point of obsessiveness – can’t be obsessive with 5 children in the house anyway! Have you seen the UK tv programme ‘Perfect Housewives’? The woman on there is soooo irritating! 😑 πŸ˜† Umm Ibrahim

13 04 2008
Checkers

I think a tidy house is overrated, just like my owner does. His wife, however, likes neatness and cleanliness. Anyway, I started my spring shedding this last week. Between the dogs, the rabbits and the long-haired cats in my house, my owner and his wife are doomed!

13 04 2008
Tasmaniac

Here’s a excerpt from “The Dull Men’s Club” FAQ’s;

Q. Why aren’t women in the Dull Men’s Club?

A. Our view is that women are NOT dull. Women are exciting. Moreover, we think women would be offended if we said they were dull . . . that it would be politically incorrect to refer to women as being dull.

14 04 2008
Haleem

I have decided recently to do things as soon as they become “to be done”… procrastination is harmful..

housework…. what a chore.. I even tried getting out of it by telling the wifey it takes “us time” away.. no such luck!

15 04 2008
Aafke

Lofter: you make your bed every day, so that doesn’t fly!

Susie: thanks, I am doing well, and yes, It is sΓ³ weird that men think we women like nothing better than spend our lives cleaning! I understand in KSA you have to do a lot of dusting!

Umm Ibrahim: I’m not sure which program you mean, but it might be the one with a beautiful woman with dark hair, who makes the most killingly fat recipes and she is still thin! And she has children, and a perfect house, and perfect household, and she is always smiling!!!! Aaaargghhh!!! So I have seen that one twice, but couldn’t bear it!

Checkers: I know you wouldn’t mind, and with the recent addition of three cats, and a very hairy Zora, I have given up the idea of pristinity, but I’m hoping for ”reasonably clean” so I can have visitors!

Tasman: Women can’t be dull MEN anyway because they are WOMEN!! Perhaps we should have a private little talk and I should explain some stuff about bees and flowers to you.

Haleem: You are very lucky to have such an intelligent wife! That’s good for you!

15 04 2008
sophister

is this what messy people say to make themselves feel better?

15 04 2008
Aafke

Yes, Sophister.
So I take it your abode is all spick and span? And all by your own hands of course?
Otherwise beware!!!
And welcome to my blog πŸ˜€

15 04 2008
sophister

My abode would be spick and span, but my wife is so messy! Thanks for the welcome!

15 04 2008
Aafke

Sophister: yeah, hmmm, I would like to hear your wife’s comment on this!

16 04 2008
Achelois

You called me “dull”????

16 04 2008
Aafke

Do you have a tidy home??? πŸ˜€

16 04 2008
Tasmaniac

I did a google search & there is no Dull Women’s Club in existence. Therefore, there are NO Dull Women on the planet,
Or….
They are too busy cleaning their homes to form a club….
πŸ™‚

16 04 2008
Aafke

Of course there are no dull women! Whatever made u think of that?

Leave a Reply

