Incense

25 03 2008

I love incense. As everybody seems to be posting on oud or incense these days, I’m not going to be left behind! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hate smoking, but, And this is a secret! Some very few people are allowed to smoke a cigarette in my house, and the best way to get rid of the smell is to whip out my incense burner. I also like to wave my hair above it, after washing it. I like the smell of incense better than that of my hair products. It is also much better than the smell of damp dog!

So: for Marahm: this is my incense burner!

incense-burner.jpg

And here are a few of my incenses and ingredients, There is sandalwood, myrrh, francincense, dragonsblood resin, an incense from a south american tree which is lovely, and some mixtures.

incense-boxes.jpg

Recipe for incense

  • 3 parts myrrh
  • 1 part crushed dried rosepetals or saffron. (or less, never do to much dried stuff)
  • a few drops of pine oil
  • a few drops of cedar oil

I also like the oldfashioned ”sachette”, linnen bags filled with lavender and rosemary, and then stuff them in between your clothes and sheets.

You can bring your favorite scent into the workplace by putting a few drops of your favorite oil on a ribbon and tie it around for example a bunch of pencils. or place a small pot pourri jar on your desk.

incense-pot_pourri_box.jpg

Recipe for Pot Pourri

  • 1 cup dried lavender
  • a handful of scented rosepetals or buds
  • dried verbena
  • 2 tablespoons of dried orrisroot
  • 2 drops each of rose, jasmine and lavender essential oils

Violet dusting powder

This is lovely to dust your skin with after a bath. It has a very subtle smell, and makes your skin silky-smooth.

  • 1tablespoon cornflour, or arrowrootpowder
  • 1 teaspoon ground orrisroot
  • 1 teaspoon ground lavender
  • a few fresh violets (officinalis) or fragrant roses

Place all the ingredients in a small tightly lidded cardboard box for a few days until the smells steep together. Then pack them carefully inro a small powder compact with a little swansdown puff. Dust your upper torso after bathing. You can also apply this at the office; to help keep you cool.

incense-powder_boxes.jpg

Sorry male visitors: this is all girl’s stuff.

Actions

Information

19 responses

25 03 2008
Nevis

Cool, but I admit I’ve never been able to abide by the smell of insense. It’s so strong!

25 03 2008
Shahrzad

What interesting stuff. I like how your things are antique, just what i like. Classic. It has spirit. Doesnt it? Sometimes i really can not understand modernism.
And natural recipes. Make me fresh.. I like saffron..
So where is that foto you promised for that?

25 03 2008
Aafke

Nevis: I think it really depends on the sort of incense. I like the granules much better than the indian sort. And you can choose how much/little you burn, and every sort is sรณ different!

25 03 2008
Aafke

Shahrzad:
I like the way antique stuff is always made with love and attention.
It has history which makes me feel comfortable.
And yes; it has a soul. And I love beauty.

Which photo Shahrazad?

25 03 2008
Susie of Arabia

Wow, Aafke – thank you so much for posting your incense recipe, along with the other two (bonuses!). That is the most beautiful incense burner. And your tiny little bejeweled boxes are lovely. Thanks for this post!!!

25 03 2008
Aafke

Susie: I’m glad you liked it!
This is a very fresh welcoming incense, I have more recipes, if your interested I’ll make another post of them!
I can also really recommend the dusting powder. It’s supposed to captivate your husband! I don’t have one so I wouldn’t know. Alas!
But at least I like it very much myself ๐Ÿ˜€

26 03 2008
darvish

Girly stuff is right lol. A girly fetish ๐Ÿ™‚

Ya Haqq!

26 03 2008
delhi4cats

Excellent post, Aafke!!

Regards,
American Bedu

26 03 2008
Aafke

Darvish: ”girly fetish”? I like to smell nice, I like a man to smell nice, and I’m sure everybody likes everybody to smell nice!

Thanks Bedu!

26 03 2008
strangerinthisdunya

Beautiful! Really loved reading the post and seeing the pics! have no idea what orrisroot is though so will need to google that. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

I have real trouble finding a nice burner here in Saudi; fortunately was able to pick up one I liked on a recent road trip to UAE. ๐Ÿ˜•

26 03 2008
Aafke

Orris root is the root of the Iris. Iris germanica, Iris florentina, and Iris pallida.
You can simply order it from herb suppliers.

I saw rather nice ones on one of the sites that America bedu mentioned, desert store.
Mine is not officially an incense burner of course. I have it filled with sand, and a metal mesh holder for the charcoalpieces.

27 03 2008
Achelois

Now I know just what to send you!! I’ll send you the best Arabian oud ๐Ÿ™‚

27 03 2008
Aafke

Yi-haaaa!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

27 03 2008
Safiyyah

What cute little boxes! And thanks for the different “recipes”!

27 03 2008
Aafke

Thank you Safiyya! Welcome to my blog.
I will be sorting out some more recipes soon!

27 03 2008
Aliyah

What a delicious (smelling) post! I don’t know much about incense – can you explain about them please, Aafke? I do use essential oils appplied on the skin – and have a burner for them to inhale.

I want to try the Violet Dusting Powder, it sounds like ‘Fairy Dust’ or something pretty like that. Now, I just need to find Orris Root – I have a few organic stores nearby that stock foundation ingredients that I could try; I think they might have it, sounds familiar.

27 03 2008
Marahm

Aafke, your silver bowl is exactly as I’d imagined it! The photo is all the prettier because of the blue column of smoke rising up.
I’ve always wanted to make incense, pot pourri, and lovely scented oils. In fact, I have a whole collection of essential oils, but I got distracted (probably with writing something or other) and never did work with the oils.

Thanks for your recipes and photos. I hope one of those web designers is working on a method to post scent as well as words and photos. Wouldn’t that be cool!?

1 09 2009
Aravind

Hi,
Could you please let me know whether Swine flu can be prevented and treated by burning incense sticks ?

Thanks,
Aravind

10 04 2014
Ninva

Can you please tell me what is the name of the first red incense called?

Leave a Reply

