A favorite song

4 03 2008

Freedom! .traq-op-strand.jpg

A song and lyrics I would like to share. But I expect ya’all know this one. Well, now you know I really like this one! 🙂

And I see some of you as my traveling eagle companions.

They came flyin’ from far away, now I’m under their spell
I love hearing the stories that they tell
They’ve seen places beyond my land and they’ve found new horizons
They speak strangely but I understand

And I dream I’m an eagle
And I dream I can spread my wings
Flyin’ high, high, I’m a bird in the sky
I’m an eagle that rides on the breeze
High, high, what a feeling to fly
Over mountains and forests and seas
And to go anywhere that I please

As all good friends we talk all night, and we fly wing to wing
I have questions and they know everything
There’s no limit to what I feel, we climb higher and higher
Am I dreamin’ or is it all real

Is it true I’m an eagle
Is it true I can spread my wings
Flying high, high, I’m a bird in the sky
I’m an eagle that rides on the breeze
High, high, what a feeling to fly
Over mountains and forests and seas
And to go anywhere that I please

Actions

Information

9 responses

4 03 2008
Shahrzad

“Over mountains and forests and seas, And to go anywhere that I please”

An Iranian with Iranian Passport can not take visa to go where he/she pleases.. That just stays a dream.. 😦

4 03 2008
Aafke

As to visiting Iran, neither can a Dutch person.
Unless we grow wings.
But we can take it in the virtual sense: we spread our wings and ride the internet, and then càn go where we please, flying wing by wing…

6 03 2008
Lofter

Wow… hadn’t seen Abba in years. Good song, indeed. And you’re correct… we may not be able to travel physically wherever we please, but if we just close our eyes we can truly go anywhere our mind can take us.
Flying wing by wing… what a terrific sentiment. 🙂

6 03 2008
Aafke

You know, I really like Abba, I find it irritating that it’s out of fashion to say so: but such is my opinion. It’s good music, and two good singers, but when they are put together something very special happens: some new, a bit metallic sound.

Anyway I’ve always loved this lyric, and it got a new meaning now I’m flying into new territories.

7 03 2008
Lofter

Hey, nothing wrong with that! Most of the music I like isn’t “in fashion”… but it’s good to me, and that’s what matters when I’m listening.
Here’s to new territories… life is supposed to be an adventure, right? 😀

7 03 2008
~W~

I love all ABBA songs, especially this one.

And I dream I’m an eagle
And I dream I can spread my wings

7 03 2008
Aafke

As all good friends, we talk all night
And we fly wing by wing…

Over mountains and forests and seas
And to go anywhere that we please

8 03 2008
Marahm

As my father lies dying, I spread my wings and fly up over the agony, the finality, and the presence of death as it creeps into my dear father’s body. I soar beyond it for a while, via my writing, my reading, and the love of my dear father, the love binding us since before I was born. I know I must return to earth until the day I am called to soar beyond the boundary between sky and infinity, to the place where my father awaits me, awaits me by the grace of Allah.

14 03 2008
Achelois

I love ABBA! I like it.

Leave a Reply

