Cats in the Alhambra

23 02 2008

Or: Cats for Carol.

There were cats in the Alhambra, both were photographed at the Partal Palace.

alhambra_cat_1.jpg

alhambra_cat_2.jpg

Just to make things clear: I hate cats! Lady Ishtar is being niffy because Simsalabim hit her. Simsalabim hit her because he wanted my lap for himself (men!) Kira has been puking in the hall; I’m convinced she came in on purpose to do it in the comfort of my home, instead of the cold outside. Simsalabim takes over my chair everytime I get up to get something, and Kira is sitting on my unfinished painting of ”Al Tarq in the Alhambra”, everytime I leave the room!

Just look at this: This is the yellow sofa absolutely out of bounds to pets! Left: Simsalabim, Right: Zora.

zora-en-simsalabim-op-bank.jpg

Actions

Information

18 responses

23 02 2008
Shahrzad

Haha beautiful fotos and the third foto is hilarious. Like a couple who are mad at together. 😀
Do you really hate cats? Hmm, Shahriar and i have a veryyyyyyyyyy beautiful cute cat. You can not believe how LOVELY she is.
Her name is Kitty. My mom in law used to hate cats too and would never touch them. But now she let Kitty come and sit in her lap. I have a post of her fotos *We love you, kitty!* Later have a look to that too 😛

P.S: To be honest, She is a he. But she is also very soft and girly. Thats why we call him a “She” 🙂

23 02 2008
Achelois

I hate cats too! I think cats are selfish and mean but I adore dogs.

23 02 2008
Aafke

Well, as I am currently the servant of THREE(!) cats! I’m not really serious when I say that I hate cats. After all: I also take cat pictures wherever I go!
And my cats are very companiable. They follow me and Zora around when we take our evening walk, and it is very cosy; walking with a dog and three cats.
Also they are very friendly to anybody who visits. If the visitor doesn’t like cats on their laps, they just sit next to them spinning, and showing that their visit is appreciated.

But, at times, I get very irritated with them too.

Shahrzad: I had already read your Kitty-post! 🙂
I’ve been thinking about the deafness; that often happens (but not always) in white cats with blue eyes. It is because the genes that cause the blue eyes in white cats also result in deficient hearing.

23 02 2008
Achelois

My cat was horrible. He used to bite us and was very very stubborn. One cat and I realised I am a dog person. My dog was stubborn too but loved us much more than his own ego.

23 02 2008
Aafke

I’m sure you would like my very friendly cats. And it is high time I introduce Zora! In the next post!

23 02 2008
delhi4cats

I am so touched by your post and the magnificent photos of your cats. I agree that the last photo of “let’s just ignore each other” is precious.

Some day if I have copious spare time and a color scanner, I’ll have to scan some of my cat photos. I actually have a separate photo album of “cats from around the world” whom I encountered on my various travels.

Thanks for bringing a spontaneous smile to my face!!!!!

…American Bedu

23 02 2008
Aafke

I’m very happy you liked the post American Bedu!

Just to be clear: the first two are not my cats! They are Alhambra cats. They looked very healthy.

Actually, Zora and Simsalabim don’t dislike each other: Simsalabim can spend ages licking and cleaning Zora’s ears, but he only does that when we all sit on the sofa.

I also have great pictures from the many cats in Venice, which is as much a cat city as a human city!

23 02 2008
Lofter

LOL! Great photo of the couch that is forbidden! And so typical of how much we love our pets, too! And the photos of the cats at the Alhambra are beautiful, as well… and those cats probably stay off of your couch, too… 🙂
I am currently petless here in the loft, although I often think of getting a companion of one variety or another. A loved one once told me that I “should not be the only thing breathing” in the house. LOL! Maybe so. Prior to my last divorse, I was the proud companion of three dogs, Amber, Annie and Lori (2 Australian Shepherds and 1 Border Collie) and one cat, Spooky (feral mix). Yes, I miss them.
Maybe I’ll take a trip to the animal shelter today… 😀

23 02 2008
Lofter

Oh my… my age is showing… I had four dogs, the one I excluded being Peanut, and German Shorthair. I’ve got a picture of Peanut and I on a camping trip I’ve posted on my ‘About’ page… she is much better temperament than I am! 🙂

24 02 2008
Aafke

Lofter: That looks like a very sweet dog!

Ah, yes, old age…
Mind you, I think I’ve been born senile, so you can’t really tell can you?

24 02 2008
delhi4cats

The cats of Italy have wonderful personalities! I remember going routinely to this stray cat sanctuary in the heart of Rome and seeing some of the most beautiful and friendliest cats. The cats of Greece, Cyprus and Turkey are also winsome characters too!

24 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

OMG why do these people hate cats? How can people hate cats at all? They are the cutest, snuggliest, huggableist, cuddleist, furriest creatures that there are. Masha’Allah you have a cute cat. You are correct, cats are companions.

P.S: Cat lovers of the world unite you have noting to lose but the hatred of cats. (My apologies to Marx.)

24 02 2008
Shahrzad

Iranian bread also is veryyyyyyy famous and beautiful. Interesting that cats behave differenly in different cities of Iran.
For example, Cats in Yazd, a little religious city with a closed-minded culture are very well-mannered and shy.

But Tehrani cats -capital- are very free, rude and arrogant. LOL
They come after you every where you go untill you throw some food for them. Otherwise they never stop mew mew.
Related to culture big cities:D

24 02 2008
marahm

Saudi Arabia had, and maybe still has, a large population of feral cats. The Western women in the housing compound at KFSH used to tame to the cats. When I moved into the city, my husband wouldn’t let me tame the cats, but I watched them and learned that they were territorial. When one of “our” cats got hit by a car, I felt sad. Once, a cat came into the building and gave birth to three kittens on the doorstep of an empty apartment. That was exciting. Such are the entertainments of a woman living in the Kingdom.

Aafke, I love your new theme!

24 02 2008
Achelois

Simsalabim has a lovely fur!

25 02 2008
Aafke

Thank you Achelois: Well done! You managed to say something nice about cats! 🙂

Marahm: but such things are adventures anywhere!
Ooops, changed my theme back again! I change my theme regularly, just for fun!

25 02 2008
Achelois

My cat was very beautiful too. I will send you his pictures but it took me great patience to cuddle him or appreciate his behaviour. I think I am as bad as cats so we never get along 🙂

28 02 2008
Aliyah

Those two look a bit guilty as sitting on the ‘forbidden’ couch, I think!

We had many cats in our house, when we were growing up. My father liked to take in strays, though we had our share of pedigrees as well. My favourite was a lovely Persian named, ‘Dewdrop’ who met her end under the wheel of a car; I was devastated! My least favourite was ‘Duchess’, a Himalyan-point Persian who would scratch my ankles as I walked by, as well as peeing on the floor when annoyed. As a grown up, I prefer dogs as they are less independent; though my sister has my little puppy now *sniff*

I thought about getting a cat last year, but they are too independent, my ego couldn’t stand it *smile*. And I’m worried I wouldn’t be able to toilet train it.

Leave a Reply

