A horse in the Alhambra 3

19 02 2008

Is finished! Here you can see it half finished, the walls are almost finished. I use many layers of gouache paint, which then melt and mix, making for a very rich texture. I’m also slowly working things out here, because, yes, it’s a horse in the Alhambra, but I’m using the series also to try out difficult problems. In this case a play with light and dark.

alhambra-schets_trabag2klein.jpg

The finished painting!

alhambra_trabag_450.jpg

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 02 2008
marahm

Magnificent. Looking at your painings makes me happy. I wish I could see them in person.

My cousin Sue and I were always in competition— when we were younger— to see who could draw/paint the best horses. Her style was very much like yours. I’ll have to show her your blog. My style was different, though equally nice, if I do say so myself!

19 02 2008
Shahrzad

Waw, again amazing. I adore horses. This one is tarq?

19 02 2008
Achelois

Awesome! It looks beautiful.

Have you painted your Tarq? It’ll make a swell painting.

19 02 2008
Aafke

No, This isn’t Tarq, Tha Tarq is dark-brown. This is a mare called Trabag, I have an old photo in a book. Arab horses are not spotted: this must be a genetic anomaly, it is the only photo I have ever seen of an asil spotted arab, she didn’t give the colour to her offspring either.
The book has another very weird coloured horse, a Hungarian horse that is half black, half brown. Sometimes I use an example, sometimes it’s a real portrait sometimes I make the horses up in my mind.

Tarq is defenitely going to be roaming the Alhambra soon, and I’ll let him wear his Egyptian necklace with half-moons and coins!
My avatar is a colour lithograph of the Tarq. I’ll be posting on lithography one of these days πŸ™‚

Marahm, do you still have any of your old paintings?
I’m glad looking at the paintings make you happy, to me that is one of the prime reasons for art.

19 02 2008
~W~

It is amazing how you combine two things you are passionate about, art and horses. This is why these paintings are brilliant.

19 02 2008
Lofter

Beautiful… and that word doesn’t begin to say enough. πŸ˜€

20 02 2008
Titles of James Bond Movies Starring Darvish « Umm LOLCats

[…] replied to her tag also. And there is the usual Aafesque talent splashed on her posts. Its totally awesome. Lest I forget stinger where is my header. No, I haven’t forgotten. Back to the blogworld. […]

20 02 2008
marahm

Yes, Aafke, I still have a few of my old paintings. I’ll send you photos.

20 02 2008
Broken Mystic

Dear Aafke,

Thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind comments πŸ™‚ You have a nice blog here as well, and your paintings are incredibly beautiful. You’re very talented and I can totally see the affection you have towards horses in the way you paint them. I Love horses and always wished I had one; maybe someone day.

Please keep up the brilliant work and continue to share your talents with the world πŸ™‚

20 02 2008
Aafke

-W- and Broken Mystic: thank you for the nice comments, and welcome to my blog!

Looking forward to seeing some photographs Marahm πŸ™‚

21 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

Can I have your autograph now?

Leave a Reply

