American Bald Eagle

16 02 2008

I’m posting this because I think Lofter will like it.. .americanbaldeaglebok.jpg

Last year Colorado Saddlery in Denver moved premises, and every now and then they found something in the rafters and send it to us, thinking we might like it.

There was this saddle-tree without a horn, and very old-fashioned bars: no modern horse has such a back. As I am still really an apprentice I thought I’d use it to try my skills on. And, I’d make something really over the top. Something very ”American”. I was thinking of those great American Carousels (mostly made by immigrants) and came up with The American Bald Eagle! The head by the way, is carved out of a piece of willow-wood-for-wooden-clogs! So there is a dutch connection!bald-eagle-kop.jpg

This is an American carousel horse: . carrousel_denzel_horse.jpg

It is, notwithstanding the insane design, an old-school saddle. Separate front-jockey, hard-seat, double-D rigging, and an eight-string construction. Enjoy!


baldeagle1.jpg

bald-eagle-kop-schv.jpg

Just adding another carousel horse: carouseleagleprance.jpg

And a Stein&Goldstein head: Cool! : carrousel_steingoldstein.jpg

Actions

Information

16 responses

16 02 2008
Lofter

You were most certainly correct, my multi-talented friend! Very nice work! What has become of this saddle… are you keeping it? It’s uniqueness would make it quite valuable in the collectors market, I’m sure.
And not all of the carousel horses were carved by immigrants! I had a very good friend named Don Polansky who used to carve full sized carousel horses in his garage as a hobby. His work was breath-taking, as he (like you) really put his heart and passion into it. Don was killed in a motorcycle accident (hit by a drunk driver) a few years ago. I’ve never met anyone (and I come from a family of carpenters) who could work wood as magically as Don could. Only my younger brother comes close, and he’s magic is his own right!
Thanks for sharing your beautiful saddle! You truly do never cease to amaze me! πŸ˜€

16 02 2008
Lofter

Van over de oceaan, wordt een vriend gevonden!

16 02 2008
Shahrzad

You’re amazingly an artist. Waw.. Some other countries have eagle as their symbol. Like Egypr, Jorden, and some Gulf countries. πŸ™‚

16 02 2008
Achelois

Beautiful! This is amazing!

16 02 2008
Aafke

Austria has an eagle too, it’s just a very royal bird! if you have half an eagle in your coat of arms in the Netherlands it means that your family owned so much land.

Lofter! You speak Dutch!
What a very sad story, about your friend Don. I really think that alcohol is evil.
Let’s put it: many of the carvers from around 1900 were immigrants from Europe. And made the most patriotic american flag-horses.
I’ve still got it: it’s gathering dust in my garage. Perheaps I’ll put it on E-bay! πŸ™‚ $$$$$$ πŸ™‚

Don’t tell the americans, but the Bald American Eagle is actually a bit of a spoof on all those flags and eagles Americans always wave around. πŸ™‚

16 02 2008
~W~

A very unique saddle. Beautifully made. Shouldn’t be gathering dust in the garage. Would love to see some of your other creations πŸ™‚

16 02 2008
Lofter

You know Benjamin Franklin didn’t like the bald eagle… he suggested the country adopt a turkey instead. Somehow, it today’s societal climate, I think maybe his idea would’ve been more accurate… but that’s just me! πŸ˜€
And no, my dear friend, I can’t really speak Dutch. But I’m a whiz at using Babelfish!

16 02 2008
Lofter

Nice new layout… very conservative and clean. πŸ™‚

16 02 2008
Reciprocity « Life at the Foot of the Stairs

[…] a rainy Saturday morning here in the loft and I’ve just finished looking again at the beautiful saddle work of my friend Aafke. As she posted a sample of her awesomely talented craft for me to enjoy, I […]

16 02 2008
Aafke

The new look is only until I get a new (secondhand) screen. The screen of my laptop is gone and I’m now using a really old big thing that takes up half my desk, and hasn’t nearly the sharp image as the laptopscreen had: I have trouble reading my own blog on this thing!
I like it too: very slick, but I miss the little avatars of who’s been posting on my blog!


Update: and I noticed I couldn’t edit the typingerrors I always notice after I placed a comment, so everything’s back to normal πŸ™‚

17 02 2008
marahm

Your American Eagle saddle is a true gem, a work of art, simply beautiful!

17 02 2008
darvish

A really lovely work of art πŸ™‚ There is actually a bald eagle that nests around here. We have seen it fly over many times, sometimes with dinner in its talons. Majestic.

17 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

Ok you are really talented. I wonder what is next? Aafke is working on a full scale replica of the Trojan Horse which combines two of her favorite interests – conspiracy theories and horses. πŸ™‚

17 02 2008
Aafke

Darvish! Lucky you! I had to get pictures on Google. The most I can expect to see here is a pheasant.
Actually, that is not true: this week I saw a falcon catch something! I was driving so just I got a glimps, but those glimpses have a way of burning themselves into your retina.

Amina: A trojan horse built by me would be stuffed with chocolate πŸ™‚

21 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

Mmmmm chocolates. If I was the mayor of Troy then you would easily be able to capture the city with chocolates.

21 02 2008
Aafke

Yes, it would be: I send in a chocolate trojan horse, ya’all go ”Yippeeee!!!” start eating the chocolate, get sick, and I’ll conquer the city!

Leave a Reply

