No trouble

11 02 2008

I have been riding The Tarq! I’ve let my stirrups down, I keep my foot sticking out, and then I can just manage without to much pain. A friend helps me get on or off, we use steps, and The Tarq is very good standing perfectly still.

The Tarq was wearing his dressage saddle tonight, it was already dark. tarq-met-wintec1.jpg

After the usual bit of bickering, the Tarq doesn’t like riding in the arena, he decided to behave very well. He did some beautiful trotting, and used his back, very comfortable. He became so happy that he decided to take my hint to start trotting as an invitation for a nice canter.

I’m really happy to have been able to ride him again, even for only 15 minutes. The Tarq was pleased too, and celebrated it by biting trough the washer that keeps his reins together. So they are now split-reins.

I’ll have to put them together again as they are too short to use as split-reins; I make a lot of stuff for the Tarq out of remnants.

Actions

Information

13 responses

12 02 2008
marahm

What a beautiful photo! I love the saddle and blanket, espcially on a horse that wears them so well. Did you make that saddle? You are so lucky to have not only one but TWO magnificent Arabian horses. I’m glad to hear you are riding again.

How did The Tarq get his name?

12 02 2008
marahm

I just noticed you added my blog to your roll. Thanks!

12 02 2008
Achelois

What an amazingly beautiful horse and the saddle is awesome.

Hope you are feeling better and stronger. I can see how you ‘live to ride’ πŸ™‚ What a beautiful feeling!

12 02 2008
Aafke

Marahm: no, I did not make the saddle: I make westernsaddles, this is a dressage saddle. I did make the blanket though!
The saddle is made of artifical material, I like it because it is very lightweight, doesn’t pretend to be made of leather, and has a nice classic design. Dressage saddles at the moment are horribly designed in my opinion. I don’t want them. This saddle is flat, no extra cushions to force your legs in certain positions, and a beautiful balance. An english saddle is only for 1 or 2 hours use. A saddle with a westernstyle tree is more comfortable for a horse on longer rides.
I have to stick my toes out, otherwise I can’t ride. And I can only do that on the dressage saddle.

I will write a post on howThe Tarq got his name! πŸ™‚

Achelois: I’m very slowly getting better. Riding did hurt my ankle a bit, but I don’t think it was very bad.

13 02 2008
darvish

Beautiful horse, saddle and really lovely blanket πŸ™‚ My wife was a show rider in her youth, so she loves horses too πŸ™‚

Ya Haqq!

13 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

The saddle is really amazing. I can get a horse just for the saddle or may be I should consider a zebra …

13 02 2008
Aafke

Hi Darvish, welcome!
Loving horses always creates a bond of friendship. Has your wife stopped riding altogether?

Amina: getting a horse just for the saddle might be disappointing! A horse means a lot of work! It’s a lifestyle.
Better drop by and borrow the Tarq. In the arena he’s always well behaved! πŸ™‚

14 02 2008
Shahrzad

Very beautiful horse. I tried riding horse before and in was really enjoyable for me. I used to ride horse near the Caspian sea in the north of Iran, on the beautiful sandy beaches. Was great feeling. I adore horses. They are the most beautiful animals. Arent thay? πŸ˜‰

14 02 2008
Aafke

Oh, Shahrzad, that sounds sΓ³ romantic!
Yes, I think horses are just perfectly designed, everything fits, all proportions are beautiful. And so painting them is such a joy!
They are also so nobel in their character, they take so much, uncomplaining, to me they are truly God’s gift to humanity.

15 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

O ok, I believe ya. I was just kidding. O well there are always zebras …..

15 02 2008
20 02 2008
Aliyah

Beautiful horse….*sigh*, oh and lovely saddle and blanket. Glad you’re back in the saddle again.

20 02 2008
Aafke

And out of the saddle again. Sigh.
Things have not been well with my ankle; last friday I couldn’t even finish my excercises at rehabilitation. So I haven’t tried again.

Leave a Reply

