Rose flavoured Ice-cream!

21 01 2008

How to make the most delicious rose flavoured ice-cream! (for Aliyah)

UPDATED! 

Plant rosebushes: you’ll need them!
rose-austin.jpg

This recipe uses real roses, and while you can use roses from a shop, you won’t know if they haven’t been sprayed with something nasty. They have to be fragrant! Many modern roses don’t really smell. If you use roses in cooking they will taste as they smell! These are David Austen roses; very fragrant!

Recipe for the rose-petal syrup you’ll need:

  • 100 gram rose petals
  • 1/2 lemon
  • a few pieces of orange-peel, or lemon-peel
  • 150 gram sugar
  • a dash of rosewater, or essential rose oil
  • 1,5 liter water

Any good smelling roses can be used, the darker red the colour of the rose, the more colour the syrup will give. You might need about 50 (!) roses, many more if they are single roses. It should come up to about 100 gram of rose petals. Boil them just for a very short time, in 1,5 liters of water, the juice of 1/2 of a lemon, a few pieces of orange/lemon-peel, and 150 grams of sugar. You can strengthen the aroma by adding a dash of rosewater, or a few drops of essential rose-oil. Now put the syrup in an jam-jar, with a tight lid. Keep it in the fridge. If you want to keep it for a long period of time, freeze it. In that case the jar shouldn’t be filled completely.

(I never did this with so many rose petals: I just took what I had, and added a lot of rosewater and essential oil. Besides: you need only three tablespoons for the ice-cream, so you don’t need a whole jam-pot full of the stuff anyway)

rose_icecream.jpg

Now for the Rose-flavoured Ice-cream!

Update: My book didn’t mention cream, but I do make it with cream to make a real ice-cream. Suit yourselves, if cream is desired: just add 0,2/ 0,25 liters of cream to the mixture!

  • 0,2 liters of water
  • 200 gram sugar
  • juice of 3 lemons
  • 3 tablespoons of rose-petal syrup
  • 2 egg-whites
  • 0.2 liters cream

Make a syrup by boiling 0,2 liters of water and 200 grams of sugar. Mix this with the juice of three lemons, and three tablespoons of the Rose-petal syrup.

  • Ice-maker: put it in the ice machine for 10 minutes, add two egg-whites, half beaten stiff, and let it do whatever it does, for another 10 minutes.
  • Freezer: make sure the egg-whites are beaten as stiff as possible mix it carefully through the mixture, and let it freeze. The more air you get into the mixture the better. The more often you take it out and stir, the finer the texture will become.

This is a very delicately flavoured ice-cream. Serve with a sugared rose on top!

Actions

Information

9 responses

23 01 2008
Aliyah

Thank you Aafke! It sounds so elegant. I can imagine myself eating this dressed in all white while reclining against colourful satin pillows *shrug* don’t ask me why, lol. Thanks for your time in researching.

I think it is sorbet? I wonder if I can substitute some of the rose petals with the rose flavouring as 50 fresh roses with fragrance will be hard to come by! I have a friend who has roses. I might be able to get 15 or so but not 50. What do you think?

Off topic but how’s your ankle? I hope it is better, at least somewhat. While you are still recovering, I thought you might enjoy this link:

http://www.brasscrescent.org/

It shows may muslim blogs. Just click on the name and it will go to the link. I think you will particularly enjoy this one:

http://achelois.wordpress.com/

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this recipe for me *smile* Much appreciated.

24 01 2008
Aafke

Yes, you are right, this is actually a sherbet! They really called it icecream in the book. I’m going to check if the recipe is complete! I do think the cream is lacking.

You can make the syrup with fewer roses, This is what I always do: just weigh what you have and adjust the other ingredients accordingly. This is something I might do only once a summer, so why make whole jam jars full!

25 01 2008
Aliyah

Oh goodie, I just can’t get 50 roses. If I could I would probably put the petals in the bath and jump in!

I looooove rose-petal jam! I knew a lady who would make it, but I haven’t had it in years….

27 01 2008
Amina Ae Sook

O this is so cool. I wish I was that good in making this stuff. :\

27 01 2008
Aafke

Just one more time: 🙂 I just collect a bunch of roses, take the petals, weigh them, and adjust the recipe accordingly. And I’m never very precise with recipes anyway.
You need only three spoonfulls of rose-petal-syrup!
Flowers are really cheap here, but as it is best to use the flowers from your garden, I never have that many. Besides, I want to keep some to look at. I know nobody who has such a mega-garden that they can get the enormous amount mentioned in the recipe.

Some people claim that if you use rosepetals in food you should always cut the white base of the petal out of it. That might give a slightly bitter taste to the food.
I am too lazy for that.

I haven’t gotten round to seeing if there is cream missing, will update.
I have a lot more romantic flower recipes if you’re interested: I have been collecting for quite a few years 🙂

28 01 2008
Aliyah

Yes, please. Even if I don’t make, it will be a pleasure to read…

28 01 2008
Aafke

Keep tuned!
Can you get day-lillies in Australia? lat: Hemerocallis I know a nice simple appetiser using those.

4 02 2008
jonolan

The same rose syrup is also good for making Turkish Delight. 😀

4 02 2008
Aafke

Hee, Jonolan! Yes, you can do numerous things with the syrup, I can post a list of things if anybody’s interested. It’s just that you need to get so many roses! My small garden won’t provide them!

I’ve checked the book; it doesn’t mention cream. But I always make it adding 0,2 liter of cream. or 0,25 liter. I’m always rather vague with recipes.

Leave a Reply

