first post

2 01 2008

Does one need an interesting life to start a blog? I suppose so. And lots of time. At the moment I have lots of time and a boring life. Except new year’s night. That was quite interesting.

Actually very scary.

So here goes:

I spend the evening with a friend in Germany, we wished each other a happy new year, went to have a look at her horses, and at 02.00 am I decided to head back home. Now it was a bit foggy as I arrived, but that was nothing to what I was now driving through. I missed a turn, and was immediately and completely lost!

After some driving around on some really weird roads, I managed to find the Dutch border, after which the roads are a bit neater, and have white stripes at the side. I needed those as the fog grew perceptibly worse.

As I was just slowing down to ”crawling-speed” the radio announced: ” Very bad fog in the north. People are advised not to go out of doors, as the view can be less than one meter. Police, Fire-brigade and other help-services, will not be venturing out except in extreme emergencies”

Great. Just as I was in the middle of Limbo. A car kept following me. Very close. I realised that ìf some idiot would crash into the back of us, they would get hit first. Excellent.

At some spots the fog lightened so much that one could actually see about three metres ahead. At those stretches I made a bit more speed, say 20 km per hour. Definitely irresponsible. With great trouble I managed to get on the highway. I was worried about that, but it was actually a bit better. Not because of less fog, but very good lines to follow. You must imagine that you can’t see the tarmac: everything in front of you is a white haze. So you can’t see the edge of the road, you can’t see the tarmac, but you can see a slightly whiter stripe, as it emerges aside from the beam of your headlights, and just before it disappears behind the side of your car. If you lose sight of it you don’t know what is left or right, up or under!

After some going, the fog lightened a bit and I sometimes went at the mindbogglingly speed of 60 km!

When I reached my hometown the fog got even denser: up to a milky substance. Had to go very slowly again, I had been followed by two cars for a while now, one of them overtook me and completely disappeared. The fog reacted almost as some kind of liquid as it passed me; it swirled as if it was milk poured into water. The only moment I had seen the actual road! The other car behind me disappeared too, I have no idea where. The traffic-lights could only be seen when you moved right underneath. When I write ”see”, I mean there was either a red, or a green glow, up in the white darkness! Two more sets of traffic-lights, and I took a turn to the left to change to the ring-road (luckily I know this place well) I lost sight of the white lines, and had to go very slowly to find something vaguely white again. These are interrupted too, which make it much more difficult to follow them.

As I crawled up the ring-road I was overtaken by a large dark car. I thought: ”What ìs it, that this bozo can see that I can’t?” Seconds later I came upon him, parked squarely on the four-lane ring-road, When I drove past he turned his car in the right direction and followed me. That’s right dude, follow the intelligent female. He kept following me when I drove down the ring-road to my exit, changed his mind, and disappeared. I hope all these disappearing people arrived at their destinations safely.

I managed to put the car somewhere safe, and found my house. On foot you couldn’t see much either. It was around 6 in the morning. Was I glad to be safely back!!!!

Next day some people asked me: did you remember that movie? ”The Fog” ?

No, thank heaven; I didn’t.

Actions

Information

6 responses

21 02 2008
Amina Ae Sook

I just noticed that no one commented on the first blog. I wish I could go back in time and be the first one to comment on your blog. 🙂 That would be an honor. :p

5 03 2008
Aafke

But you still have the honour of being the first one to comment on the first post!

Lets not forget that nobody knew about this blog! It is not on the search-engines. So you are probably the first person to read it too!

Way to go Amina!!!

2 01 2009
Blog anniversary « Clouddragon

[…] last night of the year, one year ago, was one of the most frightening ones of my life! I thought I would have at least one interesting story to tell! I also thought I […]

2 01 2009
Specs

Okay, this IS seriously goosebumpy stuff! (I know that’s not a word but I think you get what I mean!)

2 01 2009
susanne430

Weird! I thought it was going to be about some guardian angels who lead you safely home, but maybe YOU were the guardian angel who helped others. 😀

I hate I didn’t know you way back then. I have only been on WordPress since September, but immediately I noticed your comments which lead me to find your blog. It’s been enjoyable reading what you have to say.

3 01 2009
Aafke

Specs, This was not to be repeated! I was really scared! People who were n ot alone, had the other get out of the car and walk by the side of the road so they knew where the ”side of the road” actually was, and follow!!!

In the city, people who crossed the street got lost and couldn’t find the other side of the street! I was like walking in milk!

Susanne, This was the start of my blog! Nobody knew me back then 😉 Except for me blabbing on other people’s blogs! 😀

Leave a Reply

