Dutch pastries

3 04 2009

pastries7

This post is especially for Radha.
Who isn’t coming to the Netherlands.
So a special Clouddragon torture post especially for Radha…
Just to show you what you’re missing :mrgreen:

pastry-poffertjeskraam1

So there’s the ”Poffertjes”! Lovely! Especially if somebody else makes them for you.  Above you see an late eighteenth-century Poffertjes booth.

pastry-poffertjes1

Right next to the poffertjes are the Dutch pancakes. :D

pastry-pannekoeken

Have a nice cup of hot chocolate with that…..

pastry-hot-chocolate

Very traditional with the birth of a baby is the ”beschuit met muisjes” (rusk with mice) Blue for boys, pink for girls.

pastry-muisjes

The ”mice” are aniseeds covered in a smooth sugar-layer, often a small stalk peeps out. I think this makes them look like mice and therefore they are called so.

pastry-muisjes-close

Very popular while having strong Dutch coffee, the ”Gebakje” (pastry)

pastry-gebak

pastries6

Not Dutch, but very popular: the Barbie Cake!

pastries-barbie-taart

Typical Dutch though is the ”Vlaai” (no transaltion possible) There are sooo many different types of vlaaien (plural of ”vlaai”) That there are whole shops dedicated to just selling vlaaien.

pastry-vlaaien

pastryvlaai

There are many, many different kinds of waffles in the Netherlands….

pastry-waffels

The ”soesje” a very thin bubble of pasty, filled with creme, sprinkled powdered sugar.

pastry-slagroomsoesjes-klein

We could have gone to a very posh ”patisserie”. And eat a very posh cake,

pastries5

Or get some killer pastries at the market. :D
This is what I photographed today.

pastries

pastries2

pastries4

And these are my favorites! Australian chocolates! These are lovely and brilliant! They are made without conservatives, and so have to be eaten quite soon! :D  These are the only ”bon-bons” (filled chocolates) I like otherwise you do not make me happy with filled chocolates, or truffles.
But these are great!

pastries3

So, I hope you will all have enjoyed this short introduction to some of the Dutch pastries, and we’ll go on a pastry-spree whenever some blog-buddie comes and visits me :D

Actions

Information

29 responses

3 04 2009
susanne430

I think I gained ten pounds just reading this post. Yum!

And everything is SO pretty and/or cute! I need to go for a walk now and work off those pounds I gained while drooling over these goodies.

Thanks a lot, Aafke! ;-)

4 04 2009
sabiwabi

Good thing that those fabulous pastries are waaay overrrr theeeeeeere and not anywhere near me!

Just looking at them made me feel 5 pounds heavier. Now I have inspiration to go running again tonight! Thanks Aafke…enjoy those pastries for me.

4 04 2009
radha

I knew you were EVIL, but this EVIL!!!!!
I drop F off in the airport and log in hoping for some solace and i see THIS!!!!

That cake BTW looks awesome. The pastries @ the market , soesje and vlaai are ofcourse killer.. if i could get to them i won’t even mind the calories ;-)

Maybe we should have planned to celebrate in Hague instead of the touristy paris.

Well this is just the incentive to make sure F signs.

thank you for the poset , i’m honored.. and you shal pay.

4 04 2009
SusieOfArabia

Captain Kabob and I will be on the next plane out!!! Can you pick us up at the airport? And be sure to bring plenty of boxes of those goodies!

4 04 2009
Dennis the Vizsla

I’ll be on the plane behind Susie and Cap’n Kabob.

4 04 2009
Chiara

Artfully sadistic! How positively evil! :mrgreen:

Oh the memories of pannenkoeken en warme chocolademelk! :(

And did someone mention Paris and signing? Where do I sign up? :D

4 04 2009
darvish

Hehe, a deliciously devilish post :) I can’t wait to come and visit you :)

Ya Haqq!

4 04 2009
sirius

Aafke, before I sign up for my 12 step chocolate addiction rehab program could you please send me the chocolaty pudding cake thing –I promise not to overdose–(not that I ever met a chocolate junky who could keep a promise)

4 04 2009
Haleem

loving those pancakes. Now I have to reconsider my own decision not to tour Amsterdam this year!

4 04 2009
radha

Aafke – This has the potential to backfire on you, I can visualaise all your blog buddies( me including) booking tickets to your place :-)

If F contacts you point him towards these please.
or better still you could ship the beauties. :mrgreen:

4 04 2009
Tee

Haha, I’m on the next plane too! To see you begrijpelijkerwijs! No really :)
(hope I got that right!) :P

4 04 2009
sabiwabi

OKay, I got back from my run and was so hunnngry, I had to look at these again over a cup of hot cocoa! LOL. Must be PMS time!

Aafke, what is that gorgeous creation, third pic up from the bottom? I’m fantasizing about attacking it with a big fat fork!

4 04 2009
Marahm

I’ll gladly suffer the weight gain just to experience the ecstasy held in these delights!

4 04 2009
Aafke

Waw, just a little bit of torture and whooooo what happens? Didn’t know you were all chocoholics and sugaraddicts!!!!

Susanne: I gained 10 ponds only by writing this post!

So you will understand, Sabiwabi: I hardly ever eat all that killerstuff! Only sometimes, when I’m out with a friend!

Radha, :mrgreen: Thas’what you get for pulling out at the last moment…. :mrgreen:

Susie: just give me your flightnumber and I will be there! :D

Dennis, we’ll wait for you!

Chiara, sign up with Radha. who is going to Paris, but not to The Hague :x

Darvish: always welcome! I’ll translate ”Master of the Djinn” in Dutch and you can launch it in the Netherlands! :D

Sirius, as a chocoholic, combating the habit myself, I feel it to be unethical to support you in your addiction…

Haleem, you too? you also have promised to come and you have also retracted? I am never going to respond to anyone again, unless they include a photo of their ticket and flight information to their mails!!!! :( :( :(

Tee, you got that right.
And don’t worry I know my place in the order of things…. :(

Sabiwabi, you mean the lovely pink one? those beautifully decorated cakes are all the fashion right now, They had some sooo pretty ones at a shop called ”De Bijenkorf” but they wouldn’t let me take a photo. Stupid of them because I would have given the some good free advertisement on my blog. Now I promise you we will get our cakes fromm other shops!

Marahm…. that sounds almost haraam!!!! You are really into sweets! Anytime you pop over I promise I will take you to the most horribly unhealthy places! :mrgreen:

4 04 2009
Khalid

Ah, I found it; this Sat (4th April) I’m going to go to a place downtown called “the Dutch cafe / the Dutch Bakery”. I’ve been seeing this place for more than a year now each time I go downtown, but never thought to stop by it. Now it’s a must :) The online review says that this place has the best waffles on town :)

Miam Miam

The Netherlands will follow for sure :)

Miam Miam

P.S. what do you usually drink when having/eating/enjoying heavy doses of chocolate (”bon-bons as an example :) )

4 04 2009
Aafke

Khalid, cooool! please tell us how it was! And dó come to the Netherlands! (but I’ll only believe you if you show me some evidence you have actually booked) ;)

With chocolate, or (Australian) bon-bons, (no other bon-bons!!!!) I like to drink a really good Earl Grey, (no additions like milk or sugar) or a very interesting blend made of ”sweetwood” shavings and dark tea, or I have a special blend from the Court-supplier, (the queen drinks it too ;) ) which is also very nice with chocolate. Australians are quite large, so it’s fun to get a selection, and cut them in half, and discuss the taste with a friend. They have tho most interesting blends!

4 04 2009
Lat

They all look sooo yummmy and pretty!!! Now I really look forward to having my dreams tonight! :D Just have to make sure I’ve on my photograhic memory.Click!

4 04 2009
Chiara

Hmmm–the last time I headed to Paris I found myself in Amsterdam; Radha and I seem to be having reciprocal European city dementia fugilistica (yes, of course, it’s a real diagnosis! :P )

Those closer to Ottawa should try out the Cafe Wim and Gallery Restaurant, not as authentically Dutch in decor as the original Cafe Wim before Wim moved, but still reliably authentic Dutch hot chocolate and pastries–not as good as Chef Aafke of course. :D

4 04 2009
radha

chiara..real diagnosis ? :-) yep 2 more days to go. You can join us, I’ll be around some cafe’s or on the Bridge over sienne. Tue/wed.
I don’t have a blog but i’ll drop paris pics ( especially me eating) in a few mail boxes) .

Aafke – “Dutch lands are beautiful and so are the women” ( really? F can tell that after being there only 10hrs!!! sigh– might need to use your clouddragon)

4 04 2009
Achelois

Very nice!

4 04 2009
Achelois

Aafke the seductress who seduced us with pastries :D

4 04 2009
sabiwabi

Aafke, yes! I love that rounded pink cake w/ the rose on top!

I even sketched the embellishments in a notebook to use for future henna designs…pure artwork!

4 04 2009
Chiara

Radha–it’s a subtype of “reciprocal dementia fugilistica”. Ask your hubby, he might have had a challenging patient with it (can mimic any number of neurological signs and symptoms), but of course declined to do surgery, and referred instead to a neuropsychiatrist.
I’m amazed at myself, here I am addressing you and you’re going to be in Paris without me–a tribute to your generous invitation, which I must unfortunately decline. :D

Aafke–trusting you will share your pics of Radha in Paris–the unflattering ones of course, to prove to her once and for all “she should have gone to Amsterdam” (a song we sang in day camp) :mrgreen:

4 04 2009
wildstorm

Oh my. This post needs a warning label!!

5 04 2009
Khalid

Ouch, I got up late, and I found out that the place closes very early. I have to do it next weekend. I sent the URL with all these pics to 3 of my friends :) They said that I’m crewel :) I’m not :) I didn’t take these pics :) Back to the Dutch pannekoek,

We have genuine Dutch pannekoek that according to the brochure, it tastes similar to the traditional North American pancake. The pancake is slightly thicker than a crêpe. It has a circumference of 37 inches, and a diameter of 12 inches. If you cut it into square inch pieces, you’ll enjoy 115 bites. It’s delightful in any way you like; the customary way is to roll it up and cut off bite-size pieces.
Is this true? Does each single Dutch pancake takes more than a 100 byte to finish it? If a person finishes it in less than a 100, what kind of pancake that would be ? :)

Oh, Early Grey! You reminded me with my dad. He has something very spiritual, and no one does it at home except him :). I don’t know why, but my dad never drink Early Grey except during Ramadan and after breaking his fast. Any idea why ? :) The best Earl Grey tea I can find here is from a brand called “Mighty Leaf Tea” I like some of their tea. Cool, so you have a good taste for tea :) For me, anyone who doesn’t put sugar in his/her tea knows how to drink tea :) I’d like to try that one the queen drinks please :)

5 04 2009
sf

“Sinful” .Am just drooling here. I think I gained some weight too! :D

6 04 2009
Haleem

Yes, the timing is not just doing it. I will email you later.

7 04 2009
His Sweetheart

I am literally killed awwwwwwwwwww!

P.S. I missed you!

26 02 2012
Lisa Zoet

Delicious! Ik wil soesjes hebben! I do not think those are “Australian” chocolates – I have never seen any like that here. Australians have no traditional pastry or chocolate yumminess of their own, (nor do Americans really) but many people who come to live here bring fabulous traditions and recipes. Germany, Austria, Italy, France, Spain – the places our ancestors learned to cook.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

